We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Santa Cruz”
Review of Dream Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dream Inn
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 February 2009

We just got back from a weekend at the Dream Inn. It is a great location, the hotel is clean, and the furnishings and beds like new. Bathrooms updated. The views are fantastic; we woke up to sunrise over the bay. It has a great location next to the pier, which has restaurants and other fun stuff to do. Free valet parking was appreciated as well. Pool looked really good. Restaurant is being renovated and due to open soon. Santa Cruz is, by its very nature, a little funky, and not you plastic coated Disney type of experience. We love it!

Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Barleyman-SD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,893)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,804 - 1,810 of 1,893 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2009

This was our second stay. We had a suite (separate sitting area, with fold out sofa), great ocean, pier and beach views. You can hear the seals when you open the patio doors, but not when they are closed. Comfy bed, robes, just a terrific place.

Right now, their restaurant is closed, but we found some good restaurants in town. The only thing that we needed that we did not get is a blanket with the sofa bed. Our son was a bit cold that night as he slept on the sofa. They have promised to include blankets in those rooms now.

Enjoy.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank canyonlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2009

This is a 'boutique' hotel - i.e. the rooms are large, quirky and modern. We found it clean and comfortable but slightly over priced for the area which is on the beach at the end of a run-down funfair. I certainly wouldn't feel safe walking around the area at night. The people at the desk described it as romantic which is really the last word I would use. If you must stay in Santa Cruz then you may as well stay here, but I wouldn't make a special trip.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank rew01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2009

The Dream Inn is a perfect place to unwind. Their private oceanfront balconies provide a perfect tranquil and romantic setting. The Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk and the Santa Cruz Wharf, with its many shops and restaurants, are just outside your door. No need to get in the car, everything is within walking distance. There is no better place to stay for the proximity of the beach/boardwalk and all of the nearby attractions than the Dream Inn. Their staff is very polite and treat you like a VIP. This is the old West Coast Santa Cruz hotel. The rooms have been newly renovated and the beds are extremely comfortable. Kick back and enjoy all the oceanside hotel has to offer--you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank CAHappy2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2009

We have stayed at many 4 star hotels throughout California and Oregon and this is by far the cleanest, nicest hotel we have stayed in. Service was spectacular. We asked for a refrigerator and it was running in our room within 5 minutes. The weather was uncharacteristically warm for January, so we were able to keep the patio door open to hear the waves crashing during the night. The room had a fabulous view, we were on the fifth floor. We could watch the surfers to the right, families playing in the surf below us, and see the boardwalk to the left. Be sure to bring binoculars, the birdwatching was great too. The room was extremely quiet, we never heard another guest. Very comfortable beds and pillows too. We are looking forward to our next stay again soon. Next time we will stay for more than just one night.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bearhug76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2009

This is a great hotel to stay for business or pleasure. Every room has an ocean view and balcony. The beds are great. The hot tub is one of the best I've used. It's easy to go out the back of the hotel to go surfing. The staff is, for the most part, very friendly and helpful.
3 little bugs-- the restaurant is taking forever to remodel, there is no exercise/workout room, and the room heaters are noisy(if you need to use them, like in January) so you cant hear the waves breaking on the shore as you fall asleep.
There is no better place to stay in Santa Cruz I know of.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Tearunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2009

We went to celebrate our anniversary and enjoyed every moment! The location was spectacular - all of the main attractions of Santa Cruz are within easy walking distance. Our room was comfortable and spacious and the staff was friendly and helpful. Even though there were several families staying at the Dream Inn while we were there, it was quiet in our room.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SacMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
Sea & Sand Inn
Sea & Sand Inn
#1 of 54 in Santa Cruz
543 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Santa Cruz
Hyatt Place Santa Cruz
#5 of 54 in Santa Cruz
98 reviews
1 mi away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Inn

Address: 175 W. Cliff Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5438 (Formerly Coast Santa Cruz Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range: £141 - £349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dream Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fun culmination between the beach and the slightly offbeat town of Santa Cruz, the Dream Inn is the ideal destination for a weekend escape, corporate event, family vacation or a romantic getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Dream Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Inn, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel Santa Cruz
Dream Hotel Santa Cruz
Coast Santa Cruz Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing