We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Santa Cruz”
Review of Dream Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dream Inn
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 April 2010

The Dream Inn is the only nice place to stay near the Boardwalk in Santa Cruz. Our room was nice, our bed was comfortable, the pool was warm and family friendly, and the ocean views were top notch. Easy beach access and walking distance to the pier and Boardwalk. Free parking. The only down side is the rooms do not have a microwave.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bignastysr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,875)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,711 - 1,717 of 1,875 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2010

The location is fantastic with all rooms having a view of the beach and pier. The rooms are clean, spacious, and nicely decorated. The two times we have stayed have been in the tower and the view is great. There is a lower part of the hotel near the pool which could be noisier. The pool is nicely heated because in Santa Cruz it can be sunny but still cool.
At night you can hear the ocean waves which is nice. The staff is friendly and helpful. Room service for breakfast is reasonably priced. There is free valet parking, free wi-fi, and it's an easy 10 minute walk to the downtown shopping area or out to Steamer Lane. They have free storage for surfboards by the front desk so you don't have to bring that kind of stuff to your room.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SFTrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2010

We went during the off season so normally we wouldn't be able to stay at such a nice hotel. This hotel was one of the best i have ever stayed at, all the rooms have balconies overlooking the water and you fall asleep and wake up to the sound of the waves crashing on the beach. The rooms were really clean and modern, we got room service from the restaurant in the hotel and the food was over the top amazing. Right outside of the hotel is the boarwalk that had a few great little restaurants and it was just really pretty to walk out there. In walking distance there was a great little shopping area with nice little stores. I would definitely recommend this hotel and the joie de vivre hotel chain.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucywilla32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2010

Front desk clerk was rude towards me when I asked if my room was ready.
The room was HORRIBLE. A tower room isnt high up. My room (429) was at street level right by a busy intersection, the stairway, and the trashcans. It was dirty and run down. The decor is horrible. The sheets were not even soft and the blankets were stiff. Down below on the beach there were people going in and out of this tarp that was set up in the trees right next to the hotel...a guy came out acting stoned. And on the steps going to the beach a group of shirtless old men layed there smoking and talking all day.
I would not pay ANY rate to stay here and you couldnt pay ME to stay here. Never again!!!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank middenjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2010

This was my family's first stay at The Dream Inn since the rennovation. We had stayed at the Coast Hotel for many years leading up to the transition. We anxiously awaited our trip thinking that if they made it better as the Dream Inn it must be something else!!. All was well until check out. We tend to check out and leave our bags in baggage storage for the day and go explore the surroundings until we are ready to leave. We had done this many times before and had no problem at the Coast Hotel. This time the bell boy did not take our bags to the storage room but loaded them in our car or what he thought was our car. We assumed all was well still on a high fromt he fun we had had on the trip, did not check the trunk for the bags until we got home and they were not there! Come to find out the bellboy put our bags in another car which was similar to ours! Thankfully that guest was still there at the hotel and our bags were retrieved late that same night. The manager of the hotel ended up driving our bags to my home ~2hrs away. This has really taught us a lesson to make sure you check for you bags before youleave the hotel!!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank funmamabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2010

Loved the Dream Inn! We stopped for one night and I could have stayed a few more days. Valet was easy, check in a breeze all with very friendly staff. Our room was on the 10th floor and offered amazing views of the ocean, Boardwalk and Pier. We left our sliding door partially open during the night and all we could hear were the waves crashing, it was so relaxing. We loved the retro furnishings and the shower was awesome! Great water pressure and great shower head. The entire property was immaculately clean and fresh. My only disappointment was there is no workout room on the property, so my husband and I went and walked the boardwalk and pier. The pier is fun, lined with shops and restaurants, we stopped in to one of the cafe's and had coffee and tea watching the ocean.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beetrvln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2010

We stayed one night in The Dream Inn. The rooms were clean and comfortable. We didn't get a chance to use the pool area, but we were just above it and it looked beautiful. The view of the wharf and boardwalk were great.

Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
Thank odcsalinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
Sea & Sand Inn
Sea & Sand Inn
#1 of 54 in Santa Cruz
519 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 54 in Santa Cruz
513 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beach Street Inn and Suites
Beach Street Inn and Suites
#3 of 54 in Santa Cruz
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Inn

Address: 175 W. Cliff Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5438 (Formerly Coast Santa Cruz Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range: £166 - £340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dream Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fun culmination between the beach and the slightly offbeat town of Santa Cruz, the Dream Inn is the ideal destination for a weekend escape, corporate event, family vacation or a romantic getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dream Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Inn, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel Santa Cruz
Dream Hotel Santa Cruz
Coast Santa Cruz Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing