We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Pacific Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ocean Pacific Lodge
Ranked #22 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Tulare, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend & I stayed two days, Saturday & Sunday, stayed in room 220 overlooking spa & pool area on second floor, ice machine and vending machines not far from room location,our room was very clean with large shower including double shower heads, water pressure could have been a little more powerful, but was okay, breakfast room had a great variety of breakfast foods including a waffle maker to make your own waffles, in which we did, they were delish, the location seemed to be pretty quite during our stay with the exception of early morning, realized we stayed next to a room where they kept supplies,;there was a lot of banging going on, literally sounded like furniture was being thrown against the wall, but only lasted for a little bit. I believe we would stay there again in the future, the staff was nice, friendly and helpful.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    146
    78
    37
    19
See reviews for
98
143
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

You wouldn't necessarily expect from the outside that the rooms would be quite so nice and new on the inside, but our room was wonderful and clean. We were surprised this only had a 2-star rating, as I've stayed in 3-stars with less amenities! The bed was comfortable, the room came with a microwave, fridge, and coffeemaker, the shower was big and double-sided, breakfast was very adequate (cereal, toast, waffles, fruit, etc.), and the hotel was conveniently located to the beach and boardwalk area.

The one drawback is that the parking spaces in the lot are quantity over quality, so most are a tight squeeze, and if arriving late at night, it may be a problem to find a spot. We arrived around 10:30pm, and there was one spot left that we could fit in (lots of people parked badly, eliminating spaces). Had our car been any wider, we wouldn't have been able to park in the lot.

Another tip if arriving at night - we mistakenly went to the hotel next door to check in (it was dark, we couldn't see the address). If driving down Pacific from the downtown area, be sure to go all the way to the traffic circle. That's where this hotel is located. There is another next door called the Bay Shore or something similar - totally different place.

Otherwise, all was great! We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The building that the receptionist called the "third building" was where we stayed, the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MegMcRam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
153 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

I was pleasantly surprised when I entered my room simply because the night before my room in the Monterey area was mediocre. This room was great! It was located in the heart of everything including walking distance to the beach. It was very spacious and felt like home. It was recommended by several reviewers for TripAdvisor. One reviewer noted noise from nearby traffic. The hotel was on top of their game and left earplugs on the nightstand. I didn't have to use them. I will definitely return to this hotel when I am in the area again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groveland, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Our stay was ok. The housekeeping staff didn't do a very good job. We found someones nebulizer in the nightstand drawer with a dirty wine glass. The room was pretty clean other than that and spacious except for a really stained up fabric chair in the corner that i would never sit on. Could use some updated furniture and art on the wall (looks like its from the 80's) We spent all day at the boardwalk and couldn't wait to get back and sit in our private jacuzzi. We were totally disappointed to hear that we couldn't sit in it after 10 p.m. because it's too loud and disturbs the other guests. Who sits in one before then?? So the money we forked out really wasn't worth it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Nothing special here except the price and location. The room was of average size, could really use some updating. The water was hot for the morning shower, the bed was hard, the hotel in general seemed a bit run down. Walking distance to pier and many restaurants, location was the reason we stayed here.

Room Tip: Second floor was relatively quiet given the noisy area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Woodsman331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

We spent 3 days here and were pleasantly surprised at how nice this hotel was. I was a bit hesitant, based on some of the reviews I had read. Beds were good with decent bedding. Breakfast was good and the pool area was really nice, esp. For a 2 star hotel.
The best thing about it is the fact you are located within walking distance between the boardwalk and downtown. Parking can be expensive and difficult to find in SC, which makes waking a great choice.
Price was definitely right at $75 a night. SC in the fall is great... Fewer people, decent weather and great priced hotels.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luv2travel1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

I was pleasantly suprised by this hotel. The picture with the bright blue really looks pretty cheesey and cheap, and does not do it justice, it looks much better in person. It was very close to wharf/boardwalk and overall a very good choice. Room was clean and everything worked. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlene_Strong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
0.2 mi away
Seaway Inn
Seaway Inn
#12 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coastview Inn
Coastview Inn
#21 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS All Suites Inn
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.7 mi away
Continental Inn
Continental Inn
#28 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Pacific Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Pacific Lodge

Property: Ocean Pacific Lodge
Address: 301 Pacific Avenue, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-4922
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Pacific Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Ocean Pacific Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Pacific Hotel Santa Cruz
Ocean Pacific Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing