We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close, comfortable, clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ocean Pacific Lodge
Ranked #25 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel for two nights. The beds were comfortable and the room, although "worn," was clean. We had a room overlooking the street and it did get a little noisy with people passing by. You could not hear anything from adjoining rooms because this hotel is made out of cement. It is within walking distance of the pier (restaurants) and boardwalk (amusement area.) There is a small pool. They serve an adequate typical motel continental breakfast in a clean large room. Overall a positive experience for my husband and I.

Room Tip: Choose an inside room - however you could close your window in the outside room and not hear a thing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank RITA E B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (382)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 382 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

We drove down from Washington with our two dogs and wanted a hotel close to the beach that didn't break our wallets. We took a chance on this hotel and were pleasantly surprised.

The room was HUGE, the bed was comfortable (King), the shower was also HUGE, and the ambiance was nice. There were only two downsides. The room was literally right across from the pool entrance and there was $30 per dog, per night fee! We take our dogs everywhere with us so I'm used to paying a pet fee..... but that is TOO much. My dogs create less mess than most kids.

We decided to stay in Santa Cruz two more days before heading back home and found another hotel (Seaway Inn) that worked much better for us.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Melissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

A great place to get a night's sleep. Staff very nice, rooms clean, yes, even the bathroom. The bathroom and carpet has been recently updated so felt good walking barefoot. A short walk to the beach and a short drive to downtown. I'd stay agin for sure

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Drbrandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Quite costly for what is on offer and had to pay extra for bike hire at the Lodge, when at previous Hotels bikes are free to use. Noisy fridge, although staff provided ear plugs. Breakfast was ok, some fruit as an option would have been nice. Room was clean. Staff seemed quite strict.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Selly_j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Ocean Pacific was our first stop after a long airplane drive. Stephanie kindly checked us in and started our vacation off on the right food. She sent us off on the West Cliff Walk/Drive (we walked) which gave us a view of the ocean and allowed us to stretch our legs. Beautiful in the evening and in the morning. She recommended "515" as a place to go and it fit in with the old Hollywood/Beachy theme, like the hotel. An easy walk along the Cliff, and a quick walk to the Boardwalk where things were happening! We're more the quiet Cliff type people, but the perfect location of the Ocean Pacific Lodge made everything you'd want to do in Santa Cruz a short walk away. Also, a Trader Joe's is very nearby in case you need to stock up on some groceries, which we needed to do before our trip to Yosemite.

The rooms were clean and again, beachy. Simple, fresh, and ready, even early.

We went to the Seabright Cafe for breakfast before we left the next morning. A great place, open early, but remember it doesn't take credit cards.

The staff was friendly, offering great meal suggestions for a quick but scenic overnight stay in Santa Cruz!

Room Tip: If you have trouble with steps or have lots of luggage, request a first floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MadEater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Found this on a travel website and wasn't sure what to expect. But wow! This is more than a hotel, its more of a boutique type hotel inside the rooms. The rooms were beautiful and clean! The beds were incredibly comfy with super soft sheets! We walked a few blocks to the pier. We loved this place! I wanted to return this summer but the rates were pretty high. So we'll keep looking for another great rate since we would love to return.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Alicia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The date to this review is wrong. We haven't stayed here in awhile but anytime my husband and I visit SC we always stay here. We found this hotel while we were dating and it's been a memory to us lol. We love the jetted tub in the room, the rooms clean, it's not far from downtown and the boardwalk. Also the people who work there are very nice.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zsurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.7 mi away
Continental Inn
Continental Inn
#20 of 54 in Santa Cruz
212 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#11 of 54 in Santa Cruz
518 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
0.2 mi away
Seaway Inn
Seaway Inn
#12 of 54 in Santa Cruz
320 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Pacific Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Pacific Lodge

Address: 301 Pacific Avenue, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-4922
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range: £69 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Pacific Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ocean Pacific Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Pacific Hotel Santa Cruz
Ocean Pacific Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing