We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The 2nd Largest UC Campus”

University of California at Santa Cruz
Ranked #9 of 82 things to do in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Santa Cruz campus offers an attractive blend of notable architecture and panoramic views.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“The 2nd Largest UC Campus”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

UC Santa Cruz is a great destination for explorers! If your passion lies within academics or nature, you will be sure to find it in the Santa Cruz foothills.

I recommend devoting the whole day to see what the campus and it's surroundings have to offer. The campus is friendly to visitors by day, but campus security officers make their rounds during the night.

Most SC Metro busses will get you to UCSC for a cash-fee, or catch a campus bus (fee-free) that run within and around the perimeter of the campus.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank AsianGlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    45
    11
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
354 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“More Signs Would Be Nice”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

This rating is strictly for UCSC as an "attraction." If you've never been there and decide to visit on a whim like we did, make sure you have a map. We thought there would be more signs or campus maps. Somehow we ended up lost in the forest, mostly without cellphone reception. After an hour and a half of winding roads and lots of beautiful scenery, we found ourselves in Los Gatos... I later learned my sister and her daughter got lost in the forest on campus when they visited, too.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank pagesixtyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendora, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful Campus in the Forest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

Our top priority in coming to Santa Cruz was to visit the UC campus for my daughter. I arrived early and decided to drive through the campus, but I thought I made a wrong turn when I entered the forest. After driving a short distance, we drove through some of the many colleges comprising the university. It is a beautiful campus surrounded by towering redwood trees. We drove back to the admissions office to sign in for a tour. The tours were all booked for the day, but they were able to accommodate us. The tour started with a discussion in the admissions building. Afterwards, we boarded a bus for a drive though all the colleges, stopping occasionally to see a dorm room, library, and other university buildings. If you have never been to UCSC, it is highly recommended to take the tour.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank NuclearGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice drive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

Scenic. If the book store is open there is parking and food. The campus is located within the trees has paths connecting the colleges.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank syrahsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malibu, California, United States
Level Contributor
618 reviews
282 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Lovely campus, nestled in the redwoods.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

Good for a few hour's visit, plus you may be able to catch a live performance, watch a sporting event or visit the arboretum. We enjoyed our time on campus and I'll bet you will as well.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed University of California at Santa Cruz also viewed

 

Been to University of California at Santa Cruz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing