We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Endless Views”
Review of Sea & Sand Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sea & Sand Inn
Ranked #1 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We love falling asleep to the sound of the ocean! Clean and comfortable rooms. Check in was smooth and fast. We love that they let us check in a little early with NO hassles! Really nice staff. Wine and cheese in the afternoon with endless ocean views! The breakfast is nice with hot fresh coffee. We love to stay here when we visit our daughter attending UCSC. Thank you Sea and Sand Inn your awesome!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slorocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (544)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

348 - 354 of 544 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2014

My husband and I stayed here for one night a year ago. Just now catching up on my reviews. Staff was very nice and the place was very cute and clean. Pretty small of a place, but that was fine by us. The contenential breakfast was good and enjoyed by the fireplace. Views were stunning at sunrise. It's a somewhat short and somewhat long walk to the resturants on the pier. Not long enough to need a cab though. For a good location, nice ocean view, good accomodations and friendly staff this place gets a 5 star.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cody B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the cottage which had a private patio, outdoor hot tub, views of the pier, ocean and Boardwalk. It is an easy walk to the water and Boardwalk. The room is spacious, however a bit dated in regards to furniture and art work. We enjoyed the wine & cheese and complimentary breakfast. We will stay again

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SRL_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

The location of this small inn atop small bluffs overlooking the Santa Cruz Wharf, beach and Monterey Bay, is fantastic! It is right next door to the Dream Inn hotel, the Aquarius restaurant (also a good choice) and the Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk. Although this is not a high end hotel by any means, it is clean and relatively comfortable. The bathroom in our room (109) was well appointed and had been recently updated, however, the walls had some dings in them and the bedspread on the king size bed was old and the carpet looked dated. The other big attraction other than the location is the room rate, which on the night we were there was $100 less expensive per night than a similar room at the Dream Inn.

The Inn also offers free continental breakfast and afternoon wine and cheese. There appears to be one car space on-site parking for each room. The service is average, and the checkout time is 11:00 a.m. Late checkout is sometimes available promptly at 11:30 a.m.

Overall, this is a very good value, but beware you usually have to book far ahead of your schedule to get a reservation during the spring, summer and early fall.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dcschorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Overall, would recommend this hotel! Booked a Junior Suite with a Jacuzzi on a private patio. Worth it waking up to an amazing view and also being so close to the Boardwalk.

PROS:
- Private Jacuzzi
- Fireplace in suite
- Location
- Views
- You can rent DVDs from the office for $2
- Everything is nearby
- Parking

CONS:
- The suite is a little dated but it is not a big deal

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Absolutely stunning view of the Santa Cruz pier, beach and bay! Easy 10 minute walk to the end of the pier to see the sea lions. We had a deluxe king spa room. The room is nice but not super fancy-the carpet is more like indoor/outdoor carpet. Enjoyed the jacuzzi and the table & chairs outside the room (wish they were not in a shared common area with other rooms). Loved the proximity to the water, however, the sea lions bark incessantly all day and night. Unfortunately, you cannot leave your window open at night if you expect to get any sleep! When shut, the windows do give the necessary peace and quiet. A nice stay with a great view!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 49Happytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This place is solid. We stayed in a deluxe king with fireplace and soaking tub. We've also stayed next door at the Dream Inn, and while the Sea and Sand does not have the hipster cred of the Dream Inn, there was more outdoor space to sit, read, sip wine, and admire Monterey Bay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melinda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.1 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,893 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
5.2 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
0.1 mi away
West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 54 in Santa Cruz
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea & Sand Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea & Sand Inn

Address: 201 W Cliff Dr, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-6144
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range: £120 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea & Sand Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ocean-front Sea & Sand Inn has always been popular with savvy out-of-towners, but a major renovation in 2009 has added a whole new “wow” factor. Three new luxury king spa rooms with ocean view balconies were added; two spacious family cottages with private hot tubs and three other spa rooms were also upgraded. All 22 rooms have a fantastic ocean front view of sparkling Monterey Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Sea & Sand Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea And Sand Hotel Santa Cruz
Hotel Sea And Sand
Sea And Sand Inn Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing