We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sea & Sand Inn
Ranked #1 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2014

With a daughter at UCSC we visit Santa Cruz often. I wish we found the Sea and Sand on day 1. This place is fantastic!
Park the car and walk everywhere. Falling asleep to the sound of the waves, amazing home made scones hot out of the oven for breakfast, very friendly staff, easy parking/ access.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank loganwc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (519)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

313 - 319 of 519 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2014

My husband, our 2 year old daughter, and I stayed at the Sea and Sand Inn in early June. We considered this place and the Dream Inn. We are happy with our choice. Don't get me wrong we paid a very absurd amount of money for this room (we stayed in room 205 the Executive King), but the experience was almost worth the money. I did lots of research before we went and the Dream Inn actually cost more money and offered less amenities and you have to pay for parking (parking at the Sea and Sand Inn is complimentary).

The Sea and Sand Inn is all about LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION. The Sea and Sand Inn is conveniently located a 5 minute walk from the beach and wharf and about 10 minutes from the Boardwalk. With a 2 year old it was a perfect place to stay for us to easily go back and forth between the beach and our room.

In addition to location this Inn has the most amenities I think I have ever received at a hotel. They offer breakfast from 7-10am; there was muffins, bread, bagels, fruit, scones, yogurt, eggs, coffee, and juice. Then they offer cookies and popcorn from 3-5 and wine, cheese, and crackers from 6-7pm. We usually grabbed a little bite to eat brought it back to the Inn and ate it outside on one of their many table and chairs outside and enjoyed the beautiful ocean. The grounds and view from the Inn are awesome. The outside area and actual buildings are very well kept and it sits on a cliff right above the beach, so you can sit and enjoy the view with you eat or just hang out and watch the ocean and people on the beach. It is a very relaxing location.

The last thing I loved about the Sea and Sand Inn was our room-it was HUGE. Now granted we did pay a pretty penny for this room, but that's also based on the time of year we visited. The room had a king bed, 2 large chairs, a table and chair set, a large 2 person jetted tub, and a dresser with mini-fridge and flat screen tv. The jetted tub was a favorite part; our 2 year old daughter loved it! The bathroom was on the small side, but the shower had amazing water pressure.
Each staff member we interacted with was amazing, super friendly and helpful! They had free internet that worked great. We will definitely be staying at the Sea and Sand Inn the next time we are in the Santa Cruz area.

Room Tip: The standard rooms seem small, so if you have a little one with a portable crib I would recommend th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank atlas993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Really enjoyed the Sea and Sand Inn. Fantastic view of the beach, wharf and Boardwalk from the decks facing the rooms and from the lounge where breakfast is served. Lovely little gardens as well. You have to walk down the street to get to the beach since the hotel is on a bluff, but it's truly well located for the price. The rooms are fine, but as others have mentioned, the walls are very thin and we had a very "active" couple next door. Staff was great, breakfast was just continental but fine. They had a nice wine and cheese service in the early evening which was enjoyable and allowed guests to chat with one another. Overall, really liked this property and would return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cali-mom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Inn for our anniversary. It was so romantic. Full moon. Sound of surf and sea loins. Heat wave we couldn't really enjoy the fireplace but we did enjoy the two person spa tub and balcony. Nice continental breakfast and parking included. Walk to the wharf or boardwalk.
Will definitely return again

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Yosemitek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This place is a great find. The view is amazing. Gardens facing the ocean with chairs and tables for coffee and a light breakfast in the morning, and wine and cheese in the evening. All this comes with the room. Walking down the coast with the fresh air and wonderful views never get boring.
The rooms are small and clean, the staff is helpful. I have returned to this spot for several quick get away vacations and I am never disappointed. Please don't change. This is perfect.

Room Tip: Close to a main road. Bring earplugs if you are super noise sensitive
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leftcoastgirl53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

What a wonderful surprise! This is a small, quiet inn in a fantastic location. The pier is right out the door as the inn sits right on the water. The rooms are great, many with a fireplace. We had the handicapped room since I have MS, and the parking spot is right there, minimizing walking. Can't wait to return next year.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BarbA24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We've been coming to Santa Cruz for many years and have always tried to book this hotel. It has always been full. This time we managed to get one day of our four stay in Santa Cruz here. On arrival we were told about the wine and cheese in the lounge, a great way to unwind after a busy day. The rooms are not huge but how can you complain when you take the location and view into consideration. As others have said this is the best location in Santa Cruz. It is a friendly place, yet the service is efficient and professional. A very good hotel which I fear needs booking well in advance.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.1 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,875 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
5.2 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 54 in Santa Cruz
513 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beach Street Inn and Suites
Beach Street Inn and Suites
#3 of 54 in Santa Cruz
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea & Sand Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea & Sand Inn

Address: 201 W Cliff Dr, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-6144
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range: £124 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea & Sand Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ocean-front Sea & Sand Inn has always been popular with savvy out-of-towners, but a major renovation in 2009 has added a whole new “wow” factor. Three new luxury king spa rooms with ocean view balconies were added; two spacious family cottages with private hot tubs and three other spa rooms were also upgraded. All 22 rooms have a fantastic ocean front view of sparkling Monterey Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Sea & Sand Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea And Sand Hotel Santa Cruz
Hotel Sea And Sand
Sea And Sand Inn Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing