We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Leave the window open at night!”
Review of Sea & Sand Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sea & Sand Inn
Ranked #1 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 March 2011

Flew in from San Francisco and stayed here our first night. The staff was friendly although not very good at directions, took us about five minutes to figure out how to get to our room. Our room was on the bottom floor and had a small patio right ouside the door with chairs and a table. The room had a small corner fireplace which really heated up the room. The room was quite spacious as well. Looks like some remodeling has been done recently, the bathtub was a brand new Kohler tub I would like in my own home. The bed was super comfy and I slept like a rock! We left the window open during the night to listen to the waves crashing and in the morning we heard seals in the bay. Breakfast was good and had scones, boiled eggs, pastries, coffee. Overall loved this hotel. Only downside is that there was no beach access.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindseyRn5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (544)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

453 - 459 of 545 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2011

The Sea and Sand Inn was absolutely an amazing get away. The staff was great and the rooms were perfect! The view from our room was beyond what I would have imagined. I fully recommend to anyone looking for a relaxing / romantic getaway!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jkrangel9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2011

My husband and I spent one night there, on our way back from San Francisco to LA. We decided to pamper ourself with a hotel close to the beach, we couldn't dream better.
We booked the cheapest room (the standard queen) and when we arrived, we were upgrated to a Deluxe King, with a fire place, our own private terrace, a huge flat screen and a tub instead of a shower.
The view on the ocean was amazing, there was a storm that night so we listened to the waves and that was just so perfect.
The staff was super friendly, we were told when we arrived that there was a wine and cheese tasting from 5pm to 7pm. That was nice.
The bed was extremely comfortable, the bedsheets soft, we enjoyed the fireplace a lot!
The breadfast was good.
I will definitely come back and tell my family to go there.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank petitemiette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2010

We were on a trip up the coast, we live near San Diego, and we spend one night in various 4 star hotels along the way. I love the winter season and enjoy new places. We found this quaint lil hotel on the edge of the beach. We love the size and the way it was set up. It was perfect with the best of views and the sounds of the waves was soothing, we slept with the doors open and left the wonderful fire light the night... It was complete with everything needed for a romantic dinner and the spa a relaxing bubbly end to our night in Santa Cruz.
We loved everything about our stay with the exception of the parking.
We have stayed in 5 star hotels from Washington D.C. to Lake Tahoe and this charming place was as good, if not better. We will return soon, next time in the summer to see all that Santa Cruz offers...

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsVasquez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2010

So my new spouse and I just stayed a total of three nights here over the weekend of our wedding. When we checked in on Friday, we were engaged, and when we upgraded our relationship to married, we also upgraded our room to a Deluxe King Spa room. It was beyond perfect - the staff was great, there were snacks throughout the day and wine and cheese at night, the room was well-equipped with a fire place, hot tub, and items for food and drink, and the rooms and the courtyard were so relaxing that we were hesitant to leave the hotel for anything! The breakfast was healthy, and waking to the sounds of crashing surf and barking sea lions was lovely. We will be back again and again and again, and my new wife and I have decided that this is "our place" whenever we want a special getaway.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whitebear1883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed here in May. We can't wait to go back. We stayed in one of the King Spa rooms. It had a very comfy king bed, a 42" flat screen TV, DVD player, activity table with two chairs, mini fridge, microwave, gas fireplace, and a jacuzzi in the room. This hotel is just steps from the beach. We sat out on the patio and sipped our beer and watched the surfers in the water and other people on the beach. It was definitely one of the nicest rooms I've ever stayed in. The breakfast was good, there were evening snacks in the lobby, and the staff was very courteous and helpful. The overall setting was very serene.

(Don't forget to hit up the Mystery Spot while you're in town!)

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jittterbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2010

Every room has an ocean view - this hotel's main selling point. It is fantastic, your room opens out to a little courtyard and the views are excellent. The location for the sea, boardwalk, and town is good. However the rooms are quite basic, and there is no air conditioning. For similar money we have stayed in more luxurious places. I guess you are paying for the view. We liked it- but would probably not return.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank favourite_star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.1 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,893 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
5.2 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
0.1 mi away
West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 54 in Santa Cruz
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea & Sand Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea & Sand Inn

Address: 201 W Cliff Dr, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-6144
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range: £120 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea & Sand Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ocean-front Sea & Sand Inn has always been popular with savvy out-of-towners, but a major renovation in 2009 has added a whole new “wow” factor. Three new luxury king spa rooms with ocean view balconies were added; two spacious family cottages with private hot tubs and three other spa rooms were also upgraded. All 22 rooms have a fantastic ocean front view of sparkling Monterey Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Sea & Sand Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea And Sand Hotel Santa Cruz
Hotel Sea And Sand
Sea And Sand Inn Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing