We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz
Ranked #15 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Northern California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice and clean”
Reviewed 5 January 2012

I used this hotel after researching info from trip advisor and other sites. The hotel is clean and the staff were very helpful. My room was large with a king bed, chair and ottoman, and desk. Wi fi was great. The BEST feature of all was the breakfast. Pancakes, eggs, bacon, biscuit and gravy, fruit, yogurt, cereal, hard boiled eggs, muffins, bagels and I'm sure I left out something. This hotel was a little more than some of the other hotels but worth it because of the breakfast.

The only negitive I found was the car noise. I am a very light sleeper and even with ear plugs I still had a problem with the noise. I did ask for a room away from the freeway but still heard the cars. I would stay again but ask for a room facing the pool (interior room)

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susyq09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIE_Santa_Cruz, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz, responded to this review, 13 January 2012
Dear susyq69,

Thank you for staying with us and for letting us know of your great stay. We are so happy you enjoyed our breakfast! Its hard to stay away from the pancakes machine. We all love the pancakes!

We regret that you heard the cars on the street. Please make sure to call me or my team directly when you are booking your next stay so that we can provide you with a room arrangement that exceeds your needs. Thank you. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon!

Regards,
Angélica Rivera
General Manager
831.295.6001
arivera@hiesantacruz.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    195
    52
    26
    23
See reviews for
221
135
19
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We stayed here for 1 night on way from LA to San Francisco. Just wanted clean and comfortable bed for the night and this hotel delivered + free buffet breakfast the next morning. Beds were very comfortable and bathroom clean. Also had free wifi which was great. My son used the free fitness facilities and said they were good. The staff member that checked in was friendly and helpful and acknowledged my priority club membership. Breakfast was simple and only paper plates/plastic cups but still ok. We had to drive to the shopping mall as too far to walk and same would be for beach.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 65Sharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIE_Santa_Cruz, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz, responded to this review, 13 January 2012
Dear 65Sharon,

Thank you for choosing our Holiday Inn Express & Suites while in route to San Francisco from Los Angeles. We appreciate it! I am glad that we delivered and exceeded your expectations with a great hotel. We hope to see you next time you are in town.

Best Regards,
Angélica Rivera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waltham, Massachusetts, USA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2011

It's my first time visiting Santa Cruz with my family. I should say, I've been staying in several H.I.E.'s and I am very impressed with this one. This one is one of the cleanliness and updated hotels I've stayed at. I agree with one of the reviewers. Although the hotel was close to the freeway, the rooms were quiet. I would definitely comeback and would stay again.

Room Tip: The underground parking driveway is kind'a steep and could cause your car to bottom out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AACC777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIE_Santa_Cruz, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz, responded to this review, 22 December 2011
Dear AACC777,

Thank you for choosing our Holiday Inn Express & Suites Santa Cruz as your hotel during your visit to Santa Cruz. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to having you stay with us again! Happy Holidays!

Best Regards,
Angélica Rivera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karratha, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

From what we could see of some of the hotels in Santa Cruz, this one was the best of them all. We stayed for 3 nights in this hotel. Even though the hotel is right off the freeway we didn't hear any noise with our freeway facing room. The hotel is very clean with a very nice and ample breakfast to get you started. The phone didn't work when we got into our room, but it was fixed ASAP. The rooms were always cleaned well by housekeeping. There are, however, a few negative points. With our room facing the freeway, we were also overlooking some awful looking backyards, but then, you can't pick your neighbours. No mini fridge in the room, which would have been nice to keep sodas and nibbles cold. The bed was hard for us. Underground parking can be hazardous to your car if you're not careful. Before going into the underground carpark, drive in at an angle and go slow. If you go in straight, you'll end up scrapping the heck out of the undercarriage. This is also the case when you drive out of the hotel onto the main road, go at an angle. The curb is too high for the road. Overall a nice hotel for a few nights sleep.

Room Tip: Away from the freeway side. Not because of noise, but because of the view into some ugly looking bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pilbarette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIE_Santa_Cruz, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz, responded to this review, 22 December 2011
Dear Pilbarette,

Thank you for naming us one of the Best Hotels in Santa Cruz. We are truly honored! Thank you also for your helpful tips. We hope that you got to enjoy our beautiful city during your stay and look forward to having you again soon. If there is anything we can help you with, please reach out to us at 831.466.9100.

Regards,
Angélica Rivera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

I wasn't nervous because my previous experience at a holiday inn express was awful. This hotel, however, was really really lovely. It is either new or remodelled as the furniture all looked new. Everything was spotless. THe rooms were very nice- not huge but not small either. The breakfast was nothing fancy but had everything you could want for a continental style breakfast.
You cannot think of this as a Sheraton type of hotel but if we just compared rooms, it comes close.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tali71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

This was a new Holiday Inn Express, quite a change from the old Holiday Inns as we remember them. You have to put your key in a slot right inside your room. This key operates everything electrical in your room. This prevents people from leaving lights on, cranking the a/c and overall just wasting electricity. The desk was very helpful in providing areas to eat, shop, hailing a cab if need be, etc.It was not on the ocean, but was a nice, clean and comfortable hotel. Rooms are equiped with Micro, frig, coffee maker, everything you need for your stay. PLUS free breakfast to start your day. Great bargain especially if you have a family.
Restful, Clean, Totally Energy Efficient

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

My husband and I came to Santa Cruz for the weekend to get away and relax. We chose to stay at the Holiday Inn Express because we have stayed in other locations and have always had a good experience. We were extremely dissapointed with our stay. We somehow ended up with the handicap room, the beds were SO hard, the light switches were very complicated (which was really annoying) the phone wasn't working properly. We got into bed about 10:00 pm on Sunday night after having a long day of sight seeing. About 45 minutes later, we were woken up by very loud people across the hall from us. They were in the hall yelling, screaming, slamming doors, using the ice machine every five minutes, going in and out of the room every few minutes. After about 30 minutes of this, I called down to the front desk. They said they would send someone up to handle it. I dont know if they ever sent anyone up to deal with it, because it didnt get much better over the next 2 hours. My husband would not let me go downstairs to confront management the next morning, but I am furious that we paid $140 to stay there. We could have stayed at my sisters house, who lived 5 minutes away and we would have been more comfortable on an air mattress. I have always enjoyed staying at Holiday Inn Express hotels, but I will NOT return to this hotel, and I am very dissapointed. I hope that somebody will value our business enough to resolve this issue and make it right.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MLD103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
1.6 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,444 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 54 in Santa Cruz
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
0.5 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz

Property: Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz
Address: 1410 Ocean St, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can relish the comforts of home when you choose to stay at our Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Santa Cruz. Our hotel's location offers easy access to the Boardwalk, picturesque beaches, towering redwoods and terrific shopping. Our new Santa Cruz, CA hotel is the perfect starting point for a trip to Northern California.Corporate guests appreciate our business amenities and the location of our hotel in Santa Cruz, CA. We are located near local businesses such as Plantronics, Santa Cruz County Offices and UC Santa Cruz. We offer free high-speed, wireless Internet access and a 24-hour business center, so you can stay productive while you travel. You can enjoy a barefoot stroll along the beach, thrill rides at the historic Santa Cruz Boardwalk or a visit to the Surfing Museum because our Santa Cruz hotel's location is perfect for a California vacation. The family might love a ride on the Roaring Camp Railroad through the Redwood forest. It's easy to take a vineyard tour, indulge in shopping at the Capitola Village or take a stroll along the Santa Cruz wharf.Our hotel in Santa Cruz, CA has outstanding amenities like a well-equipped Fitness Center, a Sauna and a sparkling, outdoor pool and guest patio. Our contemporary rooms pamper you with HDTV and iPod docking stations. There's even a free, hot breakfast. Discover why we're the best choice among hotels in Santa Cruz, CA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotel.de, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz Hotel Santa Cruz
Holiday Inn Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing