We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything but the pool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz
Ranked #16 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Everything but the pool”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed for 3 nights with our 11 year old granddaughter. Had a queen suite with a small second room with a sofa bed. The 11 year old loved having her own room and TV. Room was large, clean and well appointed. Breakfast was a bit better than most chains and we appreciated that they made it easy to take food up to the room. The one big disappointment was the pool. It was simply too cool to stay in. We love swimming and playing in the pool, but in this case we never went back after the first time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonny747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz, responded to this review, 27 February 2015
Dear Sonny747,

Thank you for your review of out hotel, I appreciate the time you took to tell us about your stay! I was pleased to hear you enjoyed your room and that it was clean and well appointed. I do however apologize the temperature of the poll was a bit to cold for you, that is something that we don't really expect to hear in July. I have instructed the Engineer to monitor the temperature of the pool and we will stay on top of that to ensure you that on your next trip back it will be warmer for you to enjoy.

Until then, all the best to you,

Sincerely,
Joel K.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    193
    52
    26
    23
See reviews for
219
135
19
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bishop, California
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

While the manager tried hard to fix things it just kept getting worse. WAY OVERPRICED! Over 300 bucks a night for a very basic Motel 6 style room. Front desk staff at check in had NO knowledge of the area or even what resources they had to give travelers.

Walls and ceiling was paper thin, we could hear everything word for word from the neighbors. Noise level in this hotel was very loud.

Lights and fan in bathroom had mind of its own, kept coming on all night long. They tried to fix it to no avail. The other room in our party had to have the lights on in doorway to make the air conditioner work (Manager says this is unconfirmed.)

Buffet was ok but soooooo crowded it was hard to get anything. Not set up well for when there is a full house. I had to request discount due to light troubles despite manager acknowledging the problem and confirming (at least in my room). It was not offered.

Then I get home and find they did not transfer the charges to the right credit card. Pool area ok, water was a tad murky. In all I will not stay here again.

I have never felt so compelled to write a review before but this one was hard to not inform others.

Room Tip: Get room at the end of hall if noise matters.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RealBeachGirl76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear RealBeachGirl76,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for writing a review about your experience. I am sorry to hear about the issues you may have experienced with your room accommodations. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. I have sent you a private message in an effort to obtain more information about your experience.

We hope to hear from you very soon and be of further assistance.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Got a great deal on Priceline for this hotel. We often stay at HIE properties due to good breakfast and free parking. One thing that was missing from my usual HIE experience, the room did not have a mini-fridge, hence only 4 stars. But the staff was beyond friendly and one of them was going table-to-table every morning greeting everyone. Location is good, 10-15 minute drive to boardwalk. Gas station across the street was convenient. Reading some of the complaints about the parking, yes the spaces are a bit narrow and many pillars occupy the space but we got our SUV in there without much issue. You just have to be careful. Housekeeping was a bit spotty; we were missing the tissue box and did not have spare tp at first; but a call to the front desk solved that. Also, breakfast tended to be a bit busy and when we showed up late there was no longer any rolls nor breakfast meat. Get there early. Also our room ran out of hot water on one morning. But overall I would stay there again if the price is right.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz, responded to this review, 26 February 2015
Thank you for your review of our hotel, I was happy to hear that we met your needs! Please come back the next time you are in the area!

Sincerely,
Joel K.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shifnal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Nice staff, the manager Raul was very helpful as was the charming Katarina! Rooms were good, clean and spacious and breakfast was very good;not in the most salubrious location but still safe enough to walk downtown even at night

Room Tip: Ask for a poolside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woodcol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz, responded to this review, 26 February 2015
Dear Woolcol,

Thank you for your review! I was glad to hear that our team met your needs! Please stop in the next time you are in the area as we would love to have you back!

Sincerely,
Joel K.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

The room was spacious and clean. It was very quiet and the breakfast supplied was enormous.The buffet was the best we had on our trip. I would recommend this hotel for staying at. The only complaint is that I thought the hotel was closer to the beach. It is if you have a car. We did walk to the main street of the town and it took us approx 45min walking slowly. A further 30min walk to the beach.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christineworden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz, responded to this review, 26 February 2015
Dear kookaburras,

Thank you for your review of out hotel. I m glad to hear you found our facility to be clean and spacious. I am sorry that we were not as close to the beach as you thought, I wish we were closer to that everyday!!!

Enjoy!

Joel K.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
120 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel close to the boardwalk, pier, and downtown. Safe, adequate parking, and they even have cork screws in your room. Talk about meeting travelers needs. Nicely decorated, comfortable, quiet and free breakfast. Everything a business traveler needs.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz, responded to this review, 26 February 2015
Dear Carol Sue G,

Thank you for the review of our hotel, the Holiday Inn Express in Santa Cruz!

We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in the area.

Enjoy!

Joel K.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

I find it VERY important for a hotel to make a great first impression, and for me, that occurs by how I am greeted by the front desk staff. On this short "getaway" trip, my Husband and I were greeted with warmth and a big smile-hello from a charming young man, Hansen Steiger. For someone of "younger" years to act so professionally and friendly was a welcome start to a great trip. The room was surprisingly cozy, and the continental breakfast was much more substantial than the usual spread you find in hotels.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Hillary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz, responded to this review, 26 February 2015
Dear HillaryP,

Thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Express in Santa Cruz, and especially THANK YOU for the kind works regarding Hansen he is a true gem of our hotel and we are happy to have him here. Rest assured that I will pass on your thoughts to him.

Please stop in and see us again on your next visit!

Sincerely,
Joel K.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS All Suites Inn
0.5 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
3.6 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
2.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Cruz
1.6 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#4 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz

Property: Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz
Address: 1410 Ocean St, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can relish the comforts of home when you choose to stay at our Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Santa Cruz. Our hotel's location offers easy access to the Boardwalk, picturesque beaches, towering redwoods and terrific shopping. Our new Santa Cruz, CA hotel is the perfect starting point for a trip to Northern California.Corporate guests appreciate our business amenities and the location of our hotel in Santa Cruz, CA. We are located near local businesses such as Plantronics, Santa Cruz County Offices and UC Santa Cruz. We offer free high-speed, wireless Internet access and a 24-hour business center, so you can stay productive while you travel. You can enjoy a barefoot stroll along the beach, thrill rides at the historic Santa Cruz Boardwalk or a visit to the Surfing Museum because our Santa Cruz hotel's location is perfect for a California vacation. The family might love a ride on the Roaring Camp Railroad through the Redwood forest. It's easy to take a vineyard tour, indulge in shopping at the Capitola Village or take a stroll along the Santa Cruz wharf.Our hotel in Santa Cruz, CA has outstanding amenities like a well-equipped Fitness Center, a Sauna and a sparkling, outdoor pool and guest patio. Our contemporary rooms pamper you with HDTV and iPod docking stations. There's even a free, hot breakfast. Discover why we're the best choice among hotels in Santa Cruz, CA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Odigeo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz Hotel Santa Cruz
Holiday Inn Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing