We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz
Ranked #16 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Sonoma, CA
Level Contributor
142 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
“A wonderful surprise”
Reviewed 5 April 2010

We booked this stay last minute. What a great choice. It is a few miles to the beach and has no views. Room was very comfortable. Beds were great. Nice large bathroom. Breakfast had the normal offerings plus awesome cinnamon rolls. I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovingsonoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    193
    52
    26
    23
See reviews for
219
135
19
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Folsom
1 review
Reviewed 1 April 2010

Being a newer hotel, everything was very clean and modern. Service was great, breakfast was adequate, but area way too small as every morning it was overflowing with people, and the room was fine. Only complaint is that we stayed in a suite (really just an over-sized room with a small fridge and microwave) and found out that all suites face Ocean Blvd which if you've been to Santa Cruz is very busy and loud with traffic. I'm sure if we had stayed in a standard room towards the back, it would be much quieter and be rated 5-stars as everything else was nice. Beware parking can be cumbersome if the hotel is full as the garage has tight spaces. Easy access to Hwy 1 and easy drive to the boardwalk. Got a great AAA rate too.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank likenbiken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Dimas
1 review
Reviewed 30 March 2010

Normally we do not stay at the Holiday Inn. We found it in the internet and saw reviews from others and decided to stay there. The hotel is clean, included full breakfast, not like others with only continental. We tried to make another reservation for our son's UCSC graduation in July but were sold out and understand why. We would stay there again in any future trips to the area.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guantanamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
modesto,ca
1 review
Reviewed 18 March 2010

My family stayed at this hotel last year. We loved it. The rooms were clean, contemporary, and the customer service was great!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michellect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2010

The staff was so helpful and accommodating and we really put them to the test! We asked for extra pillow, hair dryers, and more towels. Super friendly staff! They provided us with directions and maps. Even the breakfast staff asked us if we were finished even though it was past serving time!!! Convenient location to highway and to travel to Capitola Beach and beaches near by. The hotel was just completed 7-8 months ago so very modern and clean, nice lobby and rooms. Small pool outdoors and sauna. The price was a good value for the property!!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank migratingbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benicia, Ca
Level Contributor
115 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2010

I concur with the recent positive reviews on Trip Advisor. I like the beds, pillows & shower heads at Holiday Inn Express hotels & being in such a nice, new hotel made our stay even better. It did feel somewhat like a botique hotel rather than a Holiday Inn Express. The bathroom had a pedestal sink. The location, right at the foot of Highway 17, was great for our overnight stay as we were heading to San Jose early in the morning. If I was staying in Santa Cruz to spend time at the beach during a busier time of the year, I would choose a hotel closer to the beach. The hotel calls itself a "green hotel" because you have to put your room key in a slot by the door to get the lights and AC/heater to work - but there are no recycling bins for newspapers/cans/bottles or cards that give you the option to reuse your towels or have housekeeping make your bed without changing the sheets.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TZK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LA, CA
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2010

Loved this place. The staff was friendly and helpful. Free internet and wi-fi. Quiet rooms, large comfy beds, nice bathrooms. If you forgot toothpaste, they have it for you, complimentary. Good parking, and convenient to all, including UCSC. We did not have breakfast (free) but it looked decent. Coffeemaker in the room, just a nice experience.

We've always stayed at the Dream Inn, which is a class act, but about 2x as expensive. When all you are doing is sleeping there, save some money and stay at the HIE! Loved it!

Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank canyonlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
0.5 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
3.6 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
2.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Cruz
1.6 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz

Property: Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz
Address: 1410 Ocean St, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can relish the comforts of home when you choose to stay at our Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Santa Cruz. Our hotel's location offers easy access to the Boardwalk, picturesque beaches, towering redwoods and terrific shopping. Our new Santa Cruz, CA hotel is the perfect starting point for a trip to Northern California.Corporate guests appreciate our business amenities and the location of our hotel in Santa Cruz, CA. We are located near local businesses such as Plantronics, Santa Cruz County Offices and UC Santa Cruz. We offer free high-speed, wireless Internet access and a 24-hour business center, so you can stay productive while you travel. You can enjoy a barefoot stroll along the beach, thrill rides at the historic Santa Cruz Boardwalk or a visit to the Surfing Museum because our Santa Cruz hotel's location is perfect for a California vacation. The family might love a ride on the Roaring Camp Railroad through the Redwood forest. It's easy to take a vineyard tour, indulge in shopping at the Capitola Village or take a stroll along the Santa Cruz wharf.Our hotel in Santa Cruz, CA has outstanding amenities like a well-equipped Fitness Center, a Sauna and a sparkling, outdoor pool and guest patio. Our contemporary rooms pamper you with HDTV and iPod docking stations. There's even a free, hot breakfast. Discover why we're the best choice among hotels in Santa Cruz, CA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Odigeo, IHG, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz Hotel Santa Cruz
Holiday Inn Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing