We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz
Ranked #18 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Reviewed 10 April 2010

We just wanted to get away for a few days during spring break with our children (9yrs and 12 yrs). The Holiday Inn Express was a great place to spend the night in Santa Cruz. The staff was very friendly and professional. Even made an extra effort to get us checked into our room early. The rooms were well furnished and extremely comfortable. The breakfast was more than the typical Continental Breakfast served at other similar hotels. We enjoyed our visit, brief as it was.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveldad43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (524)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

466 - 472 of 524 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2010

Friendly check - in. Big breakfast area. Two internet computers in the lobby - usually occupied but with a printer. Free wi-fi in room appreciated. No fridge or microwave. We asked for a roll-away but we were told they were both checked out - two for the entire hotel? The place looks new, comfy queen beds. Nice bathrooms. Annoying "green" feature - have to put your keycard into the slot to get the lights to work. Overall a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Navytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2010

New hotel (2010) with up to date decor, friendly staff and quiet rooms. All rooms are "green," requiring your room card key to activate lights and heating/cooling. Nearly all rooms face away from the somewhat busy Ocean Blvd and as such tend to be quiet. If there is a negative about the hotel, it would be the small, tight underground parking garage but this is a minor issue.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley25NorCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2010

it was a nice hotel, close to the freeway. It was several miles close to the beach and restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lala5149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2010

We booked this stay last minute. What a great choice. It is a few miles to the beach and has no views. Room was very comfortable. Beds were great. Nice large bathroom. Breakfast had the normal offerings plus awesome cinnamon rolls. I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lovingsonoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2010

Being a newer hotel, everything was very clean and modern. Service was great, breakfast was adequate, but area way too small as every morning it was overflowing with people, and the room was fine. Only complaint is that we stayed in a suite (really just an over-sized room with a small fridge and microwave) and found out that all suites face Ocean Blvd which if you've been to Santa Cruz is very busy and loud with traffic. I'm sure if we had stayed in a standard room towards the back, it would be much quieter and be rated 5-stars as everything else was nice. Beware parking can be cumbersome if the hotel is full as the garage has tight spaces. Easy access to Hwy 1 and easy drive to the boardwalk. Got a great AAA rate too.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank likenbiken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2010

Normally we do not stay at the Holiday Inn. We found it in the internet and saw reviews from others and decided to stay there. The hotel is clean, included full breakfast, not like others with only continental. We tried to make another reservation for our son's UCSC graduation in July but were sold out and understand why. We would stay there again in any future trips to the area.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guantanamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 54 in Santa Cruz
505 reviews
1.6 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
0.5 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz

Address: 1410 Ocean St., Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range: £99 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can relish the comforts of home when you choose to stay at our Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Santa Cruz. Our hotel's location offers easy access to the Boardwalk, picturesque beaches, towering redwoods and terrific shopping. Our new Santa Cruz, CA hotel is the perfect starting point for a trip to Northern California.Corporate guests appreciate our business amenities and the location of our hotel in Santa Cruz, CA. We are located near local businesses such as Plantronics, Santa Cruz County Offices and UC Santa Cruz. We offer free high-speed, wireless Internet access and a 24-hour business center, so you can stay productive while you travel. You can enjoy a barefoot stroll along the beach, thrill rides at the historic Santa Cruz Boardwalk or a visit to the Surfing Museum because our Santa Cruz hotel's location is perfect for a California vacation. The family might love a ride on the Roaring Camp Railroad through the Redwood forest. It's easy to take a vineyard tour, indulge in shopping at the Capitola Village or take a stroll along the Santa Cruz wharf.Our hotel in Santa Cruz, CA has outstanding amenities like a well-equipped Fitness Center, a Sauna and a sparkling, outdoor pool and guest patio. Our contemporary rooms pamper you with HDTV and iPod docking stations. There's even a free, hot breakfast. Discover why we're the best choice among hotels in Santa Cruz, CA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz Hotel Santa Cruz
Holiday Inn Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing