We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You are locked out of your room over half the day - otherwise, it's fine.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Cruz
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Santa Cruz Youth Hostel Carmelita Cottages
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“You are locked out of your room over half the day - otherwise, it's fine.”
Reviewed 25 January 2011

I read the reviews and I thought it would be alright; but it wasn't. Basically, you wake up in the morning, you hastily grab breakfast, and then you are (sometimes rudely) chased out of your room, the door is locked, and you are stuck with no where to go for 6 hours. After they lock the door, you can't go to the bathroom here - the staff will coldly point you to public restrooms 5 blocks away - and then you are allowed back in at (not a moment before) 5pm. Just at dark.

The hostel would rank with one of the best in the world, in my opinion. Good kitchen, good mattresses, quaint setting, good location. But I HATE not being able to take a nap in my room; not being able to drop stuff off and pick stuff up as I go from one activity to another. Forget stuff in your room? That's too bad for you dude - you can get it at 5pm.

Having asked several of the staff, no one can tell me why they do this. I have concluded it is simply so they can work shorter days and have everyone out to clean it. If you stay here, you are basically buying a bed - sleep here, and do practically everything somewhere else. Oh yeah, and there is an 11pm curfew if that's a problem for you too.

If it wasn't for the fact it was half the price of the hotels, I wouldn't have stayed here - and I don't think I would stay here again, even so. If you're traveling with a partner, stay in a hotel - it will be the same price (~50$ for 2), and you can actually use your room when and how you want.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Natneechess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    25
    20
    3
    5
See reviews for
8
14
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2010

The private room we had was a good size, simply decorated, and clean. The kitchen was well kitted-out, and there was plenty of space to cook and eat without stepping on other guests' toes. There was a slightly annoying 11pm curfew, and during the day you weren't allowed in your room between 11-5pm, which, again, was slightly annoying. But it was a stone's throw from the beach, in a nice, quiet residential street.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viewfromabridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 September 2010

The hostel is in a quiet residential street.It is near the beach and close to the shops. It has a no alcohol policy and has a cerfew. If you want a party hostel this is not the one for you. The cottages and gardens are beautiful and allows for a relaxed atmosphere. Each cottage has a communal area for socialising outside of the dorms. The kitchen is well equiped.

The hostel is closed during the day so you need to plan ahead and be out and they do not run any tours/socials which can make it more difficult to meet people.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunny1027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2010

You would expect that a hostel was packed, noisy and dirty but Carmelita Cottages is exactly the opposite. We stayed there in two days with our two kids and really enjoyed the place. We got a private room with a bath and used to huge kitchen for breakfast and lunch. The room was simple but clean and worked fine,

There is a small garden where you can sit and relax and the hostel is 30 seconds from the beach. The people at the Hostel were great hosts and much more friendly and service minded that what we later experienced in 4 and 5 star hotels.

Santa Cruz as such was a bit of a disappointment and it seems like it is overpopulated with homeless people, drug addicts, criminals and drunks. Not a place for a family vacatiion. Carmelita Cottages felt like a safe haven in the midst of all the misery of Santa Cruz. Can highly recommend if you must go to Santa Cruz.

Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mikkelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2010

Nice clean cottages, safe place very close to the beach and boardwalk. The cottages have really nice interior, with surf and beach themes dominating. The beds (bunkbeds) are a bit unsteady and I woke up every time the lady in the bed underneath me turned around. The curfew rules didnt bother me, but a lot of people got home much later than 11 in the evening (which is the rule.) The staff is nice and helpful, the commonareas are crowded with all kinds of people and the kitchen not very clean, but a nice surprise it was to find a lot of free fruits and berries for everyone to eat!. All the doors have a 4-number accesscode which is changed every day, that means you have to visit the office everyday to find out what the new code is. The doors to the rooms do not have locks (and my cottage had 2 rooms with 6 beds in each room. The cottages have lockers outside in addition to lockers in your room, but those outside are just made of thin wood, so I wouldnt have any valuables in there. During my stay, a lot of homosexual women stayed at Carmelita cottages, so I guess the hostel is a nice place to stay if you are homosexual.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hdoggydogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2010

First thing i have to say about this hostel; very presentable. The rooms are really nice and clean, great beds, nice showers and the carmelita cottages are very quaint and in good nick. The actual hostel and its surrounding buildings are brilliant. Some of the hostels policies leave a lot to be desired.

First, you have to vacate the buildings between 11 and 5. Now, i know that harks back to how hostels have been in the past, but it can be a real pain when you want to come back to get something from your room, or just relax and read. If you have been travelling for a while not everyday can be some massive adventure. Irregardless, you have to be off site for those hours, EVEN, if you are suffering somewhat from sunstroke and want to lie down on the bed you have paid for, as happened to my friend. If it was a case that the staff are not there at that time, or have some activities/tasks to complete that would preclude guest from being onsite, then it would be understandable. But, on the day of the USA vs England world cup game, this patently wasnt the case, as the staff had set up a projection screen to watch the game in the main common area. Also, people booking family rooms dont have to contend with this unnecessary policy. They can come and go as they please. Why? When we booked the rooms it didnt say that was a 2 thirds day rate. Crazy.

Second, there is a strict 11 oclock curfew. You might not necessarily be a hardcore partier if you want to arrive back home after 11, but this hostel takes the view that we are all wanton, naughty children who have to be under watch, otherwise the neighbourhood will be on fire in no time. They cant blame it on the neighbours, neighbours that had partied longer and harder than their youth hostelling friends, holed up in their slumber party like rooms way before 11! No booze in the hostel is completely understandable, but if you set an 11 oclock curfew, you will increase the chance that those who do want to drink, will bring booze back, knowing they cant get back into bed should they go out.

Also, with the exception of my man Peter, none of the staff had a clue where anything was.

I know this all sounds petty, but if the staff had released their vice like grip on their patrons.....patronage.... then this would have been the best hostel on the entirety of the west coast for me.

P.S. They may have done this on purpose to create an adolescent atmosphere, but the decoration, bedding etc in your room feel and look exactly like you are on a sleepover at your friends house back in the day.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrjclarky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2010

I wanted to like this place but I didn't.
It had many good points such as cleanliness, most of the staff were friendly and helpful, it looked cute with all of the separate little cottages, it had xmas decorations and lights up and the kitchen had a multitude of free food in it.
The bad points outweighed all that for me. The fact that the place closed for the best part of the afternoon, with no access to rooms, bathrooms or belongings, there were no heaters in the room and the temperatures were pretty baltic at night, the "lock" on our room door was just a hook on the door that looped onto the doorframe, the coded doors used the same codes the whole time we were there making us feel quite unsafe, a member of staff asked us to move buildings on our third night as the one we were in was apparently not supposed to be open, and we had to leave our food and kitchen supplies behind as we were catching an early bus and couldn't get access to the main building or kitchen. There was also a power cut one evening in which we had to cook and eat dinner but I honestly didn't mind that and they're common enough during rainy season.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nichnaimhsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.3 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,471 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coastview Inn
Coastview Inn
#24 of 54 in Santa Cruz
301 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Pacific Lodge
Ocean Pacific Lodge
#22 of 54 in Santa Cruz
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 54 in Santa Cruz
471 reviews
0.3 mi away
Seaway Inn
Seaway Inn
#10 of 54 in Santa Cruz
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Cruz Youth Hostel Carmelita Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Cruz Youth Hostel Carmelita Cottages

Property: Santa Cruz Youth Hostel Carmelita Cottages
Address: 321 Main Street, Beach Hill, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5017
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Santa Cruz
Number of rooms: 28
Also Known As:
Santa Cruz Youth Hostel Carmelita Cottages Hotel Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing