We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Inn at Pasatiempo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inn at Pasatiempo
Ranked #16 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Beautiful grounds with redwood trees/gardens/restaurant. convenient location off the highway.
Near a golf course.
Friendly helfpful staff.
I loved the grounds/serene/naturesque.
I would definitely return.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the pool are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JasmineC88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (447)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

322 - 328 of 447 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2012 via mobile

Booked this late due to bad traffic in San Francisco we were not sure what we would get. We were very happy with the inn, it was clean, looked recently painted. We ate that evening at the restaurant at the inn and fully enjoyed it. Bed was very comfortable, come to find out pasatiempo has a top 100 golf courses in America, pasatiempo country club, I didn't have time to play it but I went and checked it out. When I go back to San Fran in 18 months I will definitely go stay here and play golf, the course is a bit pricey at $250 green fees but that's what it runs in the Monterey area. The hotel is kind of a throw back of the old days, but was well taken care of and it is right off the highway on the way to Monterey .

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thinla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

This is a nice basic, clean hotel. The bed was comfortable. There was no air conditioning but the window and the ceiling fan made the room comfortable. It was within 15 minutes of anything we wanted to do in Santa Cruz and it was right off the main freeway which was quite convenient.

Room Tip: There was no spa that I was aware of ....not even a hot tub or jacuzzi. The pool is outdoors and loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissanv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012 via mobile

Decent hotel from appearance and cleanliness standpoint. Not in Santa Cruz but right outside. Staff is ok.. Not great, not terrible.

The trouble comes in if you're a professional. Lack of central AC is interesting. A throw back to the old wild west days i guess. Worse yet is internet connectivity which is all but non-existent. If you have web-base applications you work from, or the cloud, it's pretty terrible and you'll be looking to check out early and hit your local Starbucks to get some stuff done. I got roped in via a hidden name 3* ad for an amazing rate. Probably will have to re-think doing that.

If all you need is a bed, should suffice.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bpc5180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

This was the cleanest hotel I have ever stayed at. The bathrooms were spotless, even the tracks for the glass shower stales were absolutely spotless!! So after I saw that I checked for dust anywhere else in the room and there was done to be had.

The staff were very helpful and so nice to deal with.

This will be the place that I stay whenever I am back in that area. The continental breakfast served daily was very adquate, and on Sunday we paid and ate the Brunch that was served there and it was well worth the cost.

The location is wonderful. Everything we did all weekend down there was very close to where we were staying.

I would recommend this facility to everyone. It will be my choice whenever I am in the area.

Room Tip: They also have rooms with fireplaces. We just stayed in a normal room, but there are many choices, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JUDY H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012 via mobile

The Inn at Pasatiempo is old and run down.it is about 15 min's outside Santa Cruz on the highway to San Jose. First room we were shown was a double-double which we did not even occupy. Then we were shown a "garden suite" which has a double bed plus a living room with a pullout sofa for the kids. The furnishings and especially the bathroom were simply ancient, decrepit and run down.No airconditioning. Although we has booked for two nights we could not stand the thought of suffering for two nights at the Inn and therefore I informed the front desk at around 9 pm that we would be checking out the next morning. Next morning i checked on the "continental breakfast buffet" but i couldn't find anything edible. At checkout i was told by the day front desk lady that i would be charged for the second night "unless she managed to sell the room we were cancelling".
I explained that we were checking out early due to our disatisfaction with the hotel but that did not impress her.
In all my years of travel i have always given American hotels credit for freat service. Even if something go's wrong they steadfastly stand behind the credo that " the customer is always right".
I have never been charged for a room i did not stay in due to the hotel's inadequacy.
Never that is,until i made the sad mistake of booking the Inn at Pasatiempo. Do Not Make the Same mistake!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Omri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We were very happy with our room at Inn at Pasatiempo. We had a very quiet room. The room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. It is very convenient to Highway 17 and Interstate 1. The staff was friendly and helpful. The free breakfast consisted of food from various levels of the food pyramid: hard boiled eggs, yogurt, cereal, toast, fruit, fruit juice, tea, coffee, pastries and other foods. Our hotel stay was an excellent value for the money.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 302--very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gena_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
2.6 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
2.6 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 54 in Santa Cruz
514 reviews
1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Pasatiempo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Pasatiempo

Address: 555 Highway 17, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-1812
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range: £81 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn at Pasatiempo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Inn at Pasatiempo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Pasatiempo Hotel Santa Cruz
Staybridge Suites Santa Cruz
Hotel At Pasatiempo
The Inn At Pasatiempo
Inn Pasatiempo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing