We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“delicious food convivial atmosphere”

La Posta Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
La Posta Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #50 of 374 Restaurants in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Murray
Sacramento CA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“delicious food convivial atmosphere”
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Fresh foods well prepared and served with grace have been the hallmark of our visits to La Posta. The gnocchi arrives in a light broth seasoned with wild mushrooms and winter greens. The little dumplings melt in your mouth. My daughter had braised lamb set upon some fresh pasta. It was aromatic, richly dark and gone before my eyes. On each visit, the service has attentive yet relaxed. And a glass of house wine was served with my meal, an unexpected treat. I would eat there again, and will, given the opportunity.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jakmalak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    33
    6
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“OMG! I canot believe this is in Santa Cruz!”
Reviewed 22 December 2011

I've been to many places in Santa Cruz and San Francisco, and Tuscany. We are so lucky to have this restaurant here, because the food it top notch. Many thanks to their skilled chef. They change the menu often, use available seasonal and fresh ingredients. It is northern Italian influenced with much care and attention The wines are all Italian - ask for recommendations if not familiar, they will be happy to help.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mr_Crackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LA, CA
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good time for my birthday--slow service”
Reviewed 13 October 2011

Wonderful food and wine. The service (not the servers or the management) was slow. I think they need more people in the kitchen.

Nonetheless, enjoyed ourselves.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank canyonlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Quality at a Value Price”
Reviewed 8 August 2011

A varied and interesting menu with something for everyone. Full bar service. We shared a salad and pasta entree and walked away completely satisfied. Wait staff is friendly and attentive without hovering.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sactokaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aptos
1 review
“Fantastic authentic food with a sophistaicated environment.”
Reviewed 10 August 2009

We went into La Posta for our anneversary and we were more then happy with the food, service and environment. The food is very high quality. It is pricey, but the food is well worth it, definitley a good place to go for a romantic evening.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SCruzlocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Posta Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to La Posta Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing