We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to beat this place”
Review of Pacific Blue Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pacific Blue Inn
Ranked #4 of 15 Santa Cruz B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 May 2014

If you want a nice modern room that's located in the heart of Santa Cruz... it's hard to beat this place.

The location is walking distance from the "shopping district"/college area. There's a lot to do as far as bars and food from the Inn and it's very convenient and a perk due to the fact that the wife and I are night owls.

The room consists of a desk/mounted LCD TV/ big bathroom (wheelchair/handicap friendly - there's no ledge to separate the bathroom floor to the shower). It's very well decorated and has a fireplace that makes the room much more cozy and romantic. The rooms are extremely clean and spacious.

They have complimentary breakfast every morning and tea/water left out throughout the day.

The ice machine is in the lobby as to keep away from bothering any guests/rooms that the vending machine might usually be located at.

There's a fireplace that is located outside that is available 24hours. Nice little perk if it's cold and you just feel like relaxing outside near a fire.

There's ample parking in the back lot that gives you access if you use your room key.

No pool or fitness center.

Room Tip: Great place to stay if you're looking for a comfortable place for value as opposed to a regular...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrew a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

It's a cousy place, very calm, close to down town (with many restaurants, shops etc) and the boardwalk of Santa Cruz and the wharf, also a supermarket is almost at the next door, the rooms are big and very comfortable, the bath is wonderful, everything is made with passion, the staff is very friendly and very helpful, parking space is close behind the hotel. Definitely a recommendation, also for several days.
It's not a big deal but important to know, the reception is only open from 3-5 pm, so if you arrive later, then you'll get your key cards from a box. Also there is a "homeless" spot close to the parking space (over the street) but it's really not disturbing. We weren't never felt unsafe. So don't care about this, it's just to know when you arrive the first time. The breakfast unfortunately wasn't included. It was really nice with a lot of passion, but unfortunately not our taste.
All in all, one of our best stays during our trip and defintely a recommendation.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Stefan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This is a charming small and quiet Inn. It is also Eco friendly. Breakfast is extra, but get it. Wonderful way to start the day. This Inn is in walking distance to downtown for some fun shopping. It is very close to the Boardwalk. Once I park my car, I never use it again until I am ready to go back to airport.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clacdancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Had the chance to stay here recently when in town to attend a concert. The Pacific Blue is on Pacific Avenue, in the heart of Santa Cruz. Pacific is the cities "hip" shopping district, with lots of cool shops and restaurants. Street musicians, students...great, fun, laid-back Santa Cruz attitude. The hotel is at the quiet end of the street, a short walk from the action and walking distance to the beach and boardwalk. It's a pretty new place, clean, nicely designed, with a beautiful little courtyard. The rooms are new, well decorated, wheelchair friendly, with comfy beds, up-to-date entertainment options (TV, DVD, ipod docks), and nice artwork by local artists. This small hotel is sort of a hybrid of hotel and B&B, with nine rooms on three floors...you can get breakfast if you pay for it when you make your reservation of check in. We didn't (as we had breakfast plans) but I was outside the dining room reading in the sunshine during service, and it sounded like everyone was enjoying themselves. The service was excellent -- very friendly, casual and efficient. Parking is available and free. We enjoyed our stay so much, before we left we made reservations for a future visit to town for another concert.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoofballDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Pacific Blue Inn provided one of the best B&B experiences anywhere. Homemade breakfast each day is perfection! Lovely, cozy room. Wonderful value. Garden is sweet. Innkeepers and staff are caring. Many, many thanks!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Codatrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Very disappointing experience. The disappointment began when we arrived at around 7:30 p.m. and found the place unattended. (A note said check in time was from 3 to 5.) We called the number listed by the front door and tried for several minutes to get the lock box open without success. The manager finally agreed to come over and assist and made a snide comment about how "some people" can't seem to manage the lock box combination. ( I guess my wife, 19 year old son and I all fit into the "some people" category.)

We also happened to arrive when there was a basketball game across the street, making parking difficult. The parking lot for the hotel doubles as arena parking. Should you stay here when there is an event in the arena, be prepared for loud noise until the event ends.

The bed was quite good, but the shower had ridiculously low water pressure. We travel extensively and have never seen such low water pressure in a hotel shower -- not even in other eco-conscious hotels in California. (The low pressure goes far beyond any reasonable water conservation measure.)

The experienced was topped off by breakfast ... or rather the lack thereof. We booked this place as a bed "and breakfast," but we were told in the morning that we had not ordered breakfast the night before and there may not be enough food. (We were not told by the manager when we checked in that we had to order breakfast the night before.). Then, the same person came out and told us that we could be served breakfast but it would run an extra $16 per person "if that suited us." After paying $140 for a night's stay in a bed "and breakfast," we declined to pay an extra $35 with tax for the "breakfast". We had considered staying a second night but will move on.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We spent too long in San Francisco and arrived at the Inn at 10:30 at night. The property is not staffed in the evening. We were a bit creeped out by the dimly lit, deserted streets, populated only by odd individuals here and there. When arriving late, it is necessary to get your room keys from a lock box located in a very dark entrance way. When we opened our package, the instructions required that we park in back. We drove to the back of the building and were a but concerned about the near vacant parking lot. There was a spot at the end. We were concerned about our out-of-state plates sticking out like a beacon. As we sat there, some homeless guy comes up behind our car and just stands there. Freaked us out. We saw the "secured" back entrance gate on the other side of the parking lot. (see photos). We were NOT going to unload luggage and haul it through that dark passage way, especially with the strange guy who just kept standing there. So, we went around front again hoping to park on the street. Street parking is all short term parking. So we parked at the end of the block to call the owner to tell him we were not comfortable staying there. He did offer to come down and escort us in, but that would still leave our car unwatched and vulnerable. He said the street people were normal for Santa Cruz and not to worry about them. As we talked to the owner on the phone while parked out front, a small group of people walked up on the sidewalk by us and were making rude comments to us, commenting on us being from Nebraska, and were pretty loud and rowdy, probably as a result of the bottles that they had in hand. The owner said that there wasn't anything he could do, and that we had to call booking.com. We drove off and instead found a nice place to stay in Monterrey. Later we called booking.com and they said there wasn't anything that they could do. We had reserved 2 nights. We were charged for the night that we didn't stay, but not the second night. Plus we had to pay for a night at a different location. The inside may be great, and once you are safe inside you are probably oblivious to what is happening outside at dark. This was no place for us after dark.

Room Tip: Arrive before dark
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
7  Thank RichFromOmaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.4 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,780 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 54 in Santa Cruz
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
0.5 mi away
Sea & Sand Inn
Sea & Sand Inn
#1 of 54 in Santa Cruz
491 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beach Street Inn and Suites
Beach Street Inn and Suites
#3 of 54 in Santa Cruz
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Blue Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Blue Inn

Address: 636 Pacific Ave, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-4410
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Cruz
Price Range: £112 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pacific Blue Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pacific Blue Inn is Santa Cruz! We’re a brand new bed and breakfast Inn with an eco-conscious heart and a local flair. Promoting green living and a healthy outlook on life, the Inn is located on Pacific Avenue within walking distance to the best Santa Cruz has to offer. Inspired by the NY Times article “36 Hours Santa Cruz” the founders of the Inn set out to create an environment that would allow visitors to take advantage of the best of Santa Cruz all within walking distance of their accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pacific Blue Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Blue Hotel Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing