We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice people but...”
Review of Mission Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mission Inn
Ranked #13 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Terre Haute, Indiana
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice people but...”
Reviewed 28 July 2011

The staff couldn't have been any nicer -- in fact, when she took us to our room, the receptionist (one of the owners?) decided that it would be too noisy since it was right on the busy street and instead put us in a larger room at the back of the parking lot at no extra charge. Unfortunately, that room was still VERY noisy: we not only heard every sound from the street, we also had an air conditioner that sounded like a jet engine. Not a great night's sleep.

Other features: decor was dated, but room was clean. HUGE room, would have been OK for four people. Jacuzzi tub a nice touch and very welcome, but getting both of us in was a tight squeeze. Mini-fridge (we didn't use it). Far from beach, but only a three-block walk to several wine-tasting rooms!

Room Tip: Take ear plugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mizabeenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    101
    43
    5
    3
See reviews for
79
74
17
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

We liked it here after hard stay in SF . Manager Tom___ goes out of his way to make you comfortable and happy . Good value and nice staff . thanks , Tom .

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gidtanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan Capistrano, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

My daughter and I came into town for UCSC Orientation. We decided to book Mission Inn because of the comments on Trip Advisor and were very disappointed. The bathroom was dirty with mold in the shower and hair on the towels. The place needs some deep cleaning. The staff was nice but when I made a complaint they looked at me as if I was over reacting until I showed them the pictures I took with my phone. We definitely paid too much for this room.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sjcfamily6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2011

Well priced, very clean hotel with a super friendly staff! A lot of the hotels/motels in Santa Cruz are sketchy, not clean and overpriced but not so with the Mission Inn. A great deal for the money!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Meesh422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2011

We've stayed in Santa Cruz many times and paid a pretty penny. The rooms and locations are always a little sketchy.
The Mission Inn is very clean, the staff are friendly and helpful. Even though it is right on the main drag, the patios, sauna and hot tub are located nicely within the development.
For what you pay to stay in Santa Cruz, this is a good, reasonable deal.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Familyof4California
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
1 review
Reviewed 14 April 2011

The best place in all of santa cruz .... The staff is awesome , the rooms very well kept . even though its on the street the rooms are quite. .. Love the garden .. I will be back

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fairygodmotherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaheim, California
1 review
Reviewed 11 April 2011

Enjoed a clean, comfortable room and a more than adequate breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harriet28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Cruz
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mission Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mission Inn

Property: Mission Inn
Address: 2250 Mission St, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5222
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mission Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
53 spacious and accommodating guest rooms include in-room coffee, complimentary continental breakfast, cable TV, HBO, air conditioning and high speed internet. Most rooms have refrigerators and microwaves. Closest hotel to UCSC. Only five minutes to the Santa Cruz Beach and Boardwalk, beaches, downtown and several restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Mission Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mission Hotel Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing