We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate and overpriced”
Review of Mission Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mission Inn
Ranked #11 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2011

This place was okay for one night. Breakfast was very limited and mediocre. There is a great donut shop across the street though!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dil345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (285)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

241 - 247 of 286 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2011

We only stayed one night, I had problem with my back, the Manager could not have been more helpful, brought Ice packs offered to heat spa to help, rooms were excellent and location altho on main road was quiet and comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stevHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon. It was a great place overall. The rooms, price, service and location. They had a breakfast room that wasn't huge but just right. I have no complaints and will recommend this hotel to any one.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tajh13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We took our two granddaughters to Santa Cruz for a complete day on the beach and boardwalk. After checking Trip Advisor and reviews we stayed at Mission Inn overnight before returning home. The rooms were clean though very small for the four of us. Lighting was poor for reading with only one nightstand in between two queen beds.
The breakfast offering was very basic and plain. Our girls wanted hot chocolate but only one package remained. the maids walked in to our room twice thinking we had checked out. Overall this hotel was satisfactory but nothing special. Less than two miles to the boardwalk but confusing to drive there and back.

Room Tip: We had our two teen granddaughters with us. Perhaps the hotel offers larger rooms than the one we s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

If this is #6 I would hate to see what is worse. I have stayed all over the world and this has to be on par with a $29 a night motel. Yes, it was clean but rooms are so dated, towels are crispy and noise level is ok if you get lucky, meaning no one next to you dares to even snoore. I will definitely pay more for an updated place that is part of the Hilton or Marriot chain.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BG-CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

The Mission Inn is in a great neighborhood with lots of great local restaurants and only a mile And a half to the boardwalk (which gets you out of the seediness in that area). Clean, basic breakfast in a nice room, great hottub and nice guests.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lyds987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

took a chance on the Mission Inn, as I usually don't stay in non-chain hotels. I am so glad I did! everything was great, the cost was completely reasonable, and we really enjoyed our stay. clean, quiet, good location. would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EAMans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
1.2 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,875 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 54 in Santa Cruz
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
5.3 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mission Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mission Inn

Address: 2250 Mission St, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5222
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Santa Cruz
#9 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range: £91 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mission Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
53 spacious and accommodating guest rooms include in-room coffee, complimentary continental breakfast, cable TV, HBO, air conditioning and high speed internet. All rooms have refrigerators and microwaves. Closest hotel to UCSC. Only five minutes to the Santa Cruz Beach and Boardwalk, beaches, downtown and several restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Mission Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mission Hotel Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing