We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was okay”
Review of Mission Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mission Inn
Ranked #10 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 October 2012

We stayed here for two nights while taking our daughter to UCSC. Closest hotel to UCSC. I had asked for a quiet room in the back of the hotel and we got a room that was quiet, but not quite at the back of the hotel. It was okay, the room was clean and appropriately appointed for the star rating. . The free breakfast was free, and that is about what it was worth. The breakfast room was crowded and really too small for the amount of people it is meant to accommodate. I'd stay here again because it was much less expensive than the Holiday Inn where we'd stayed before in Santa Cruz and I'm willing to go out for a decent breakfast elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back to avoid the noise of Mission Street and go out for a decent breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mommyclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 272 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2012

We went to orientation for UCSC.. First the great news is that the hotel is the closest to the school. Staff is very friendly.
The mattresses in the room were extremely uncomfortable and you could feel the springs. Hard to sleep, and for that reason alone we would not return,
The hotel offered breakfast, although we did not stay, so cannot review.
The Mission Inn is very clean, and there is a nice larger bathroom..
Overall, reminded me of a Motel 6,but very clean.

Room Tip: If you need a good sleep with a great mattress, choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan and Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We go to Santa Cruz every few months and it is the first time we stay at this Inn.
Our room was quiet and reasonably adequate in space and we did sleep well.
We would have given it more stars, were it not for a remarkably ill-mannered front desk person, who refused to to give any attention to an elderly person who had a sort of emergency to solve, although it would have taken her one minute to do so.
I must add, for honesty, that the other desk personnel the next day were perfectly amiable and kind.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChefLuigiBo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

We booked a three day stay at the Mission Inn, two days before our trip. We arrived after 3:00 A.M. and the front staff was able to accomadate our late check in without issues. I previously lived in Santa Cruz for several years and had heard good things about this hotel. In the past, family that visited me in S.C used other local hotels and had issues with staff and low quality of services. We looked into other hotels near the boardwalk and were scared when we saw the close to $400 daily rate for a cheap and nasty room. Our room was always super clean and we were able to park right in front of our room. The housekeeping staff was very polite and greeted us every time we passed by. They were very respectful about not making too much noise in the early hours. Overall, noise was not a concern. We used the jacuzzi at night and it was very relaxing. Our room had a fridge and microwave which came in handy. The Safeway grocery store was a block away. There is a donut shop across the street and several places to eat close by. The breakfast was great, especially the coffee was very tasty. We used a rollaway bed for our son. It was a little lumpy, but my son said he slept well. If you are planning to visit the boardwalk area, parking is an issue because the residential area requires permits and meter parking is hard to find. Lots close to the boardwalk cost around $20.00 bucks. We parked in a Public Parking lot a couple of blocks away from the boardwalk, next to a soccer field. Make sure to take plenty of quarters or dollar coins to access the Public Parking lots, since they have machines that often do not take credit cards or dollar bills. Public parking in the downtown area is not bad. We recommend the clam chowder in a bread bowel at The Dolphin spot located in the warf. It was yummy and inexpensive. Overall, we loved it and are going back to the Mission Inn. We will make sure to book ahead of time, to ensure a double bed room.

Room Tip: Book ahead of time to ensure the number of beds you will need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wondergirl74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Really Oh My Gosh... What a diamond in the rough this place is. I booked two rooms over memorial weekend for my daughter's wedding didn't think this place was going to be as nice as it was. Very Clean place helpful staff bed was so comfy! My wife and I are already planning our next Santa Cruz weekend trip. Seriously if you are looking for a nice clean place for a good deal look no further than Mission Inn!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank deadgrassdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Room was perfectly clean, well stocked with basic amenities, but the bed was just too soft. Didn't sleep very well as my husband and I kept rolling into the middle of the bed all night and then having to roll back over. Breakfast was basic; pastries, fruit, yogurt, coffee. Overall not a bad place to stay - hope they get new beds soon!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ToughMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

My husband and I were on our way to the 2012 Historic Race & Car Show in Monterey. Coming from Sacramento we decided to spend the night before attending the car show we would spend the night in Santa Cruz and wake up bright and early and drive into Monterey for the show. We loved this place - it was so nice and clean!!!! It was located very near a most beautiful view of the ocean where people were jogging, walking their dogs or just sitting on the many benches located along the walking path enjoying the ocean breeze and view. An excellent spot to take some photos. One block away was a big Safeway shopping center and many little restaurants. This hotel is not far from main street Santa Cruz and the Beach Boardwalk. We will surely stay there again and recommend it highly - AAA approved also !!! J & C

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tahoe03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 54 in Santa Cruz
505 reviews
1.2 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,788 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
5.3 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mission Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mission Inn

Address: 2250 Mission St, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5222
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range: £93 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mission Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
53 spacious and accommodating guest rooms include in-room coffee, complimentary continental breakfast, cable TV, HBO, air conditioning and high speed internet. All rooms have refrigerators and microwaves. Closest hotel to UCSC. Only five minutes to the Santa Cruz Beach and Boardwalk, beaches, downtown and several restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Mission Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mission Hotel Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing