We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Conscientious Courteous Staff with Guests Comfort a Priority.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mission Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mission Inn
Ranked #13 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
1 review
“Conscientious Courteous Staff with Guests Comfort a Priority.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

My wife & I escaped the kaos of SoCal for a couple days & had a wonderful time including a nice room at a great value that was conveniently located. It was nice being close to a wonderful Safeway market that seemed like it had anything you could need if you are so inclined. We will definitely return at some point hopefully in the near future.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TiltedTrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    99
    43
    5
    3
See reviews for
79
72
17
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013

I stayed at this hotel at the recommendation of a colleague and enjoyed it. It is a very basic motel (doors open to the outside) but the property was very clean and comfortable, and touches like breakfast and free wifi were great. It was far cheaper than the other hotels in Santa Cruz and I would stay here again. The property received a certificate of excellence from Tripadvisor in 2012.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JFergUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

We stayed 3 nights in February 2013. Our room (113) was very pleasant, the queen bed was comfortable, and everything was quite clean. WiFi worked well and the TV coverage was fine. Breakfast is basic but complete. There must be 25 restaurants within a short walk, we ate at two of them and they were good. Front office staff was helpful and friendly. The location is close to most everything in "metro" Santa Cruz. Close to the University, Boardwalk, Beach, and all necessary shopping.
Anyone who rates this place "average" must be incredibly picky.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TobyStuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Cucamonga, California, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2012

This was a very nice place to stay and the management was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and nice. It was a very convenient location, close to a lot of things. We really enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
217 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012 via mobile

We stayed for one night on our drive from Los Angeles to San Francisco. Staff were helpful at check in and the room was big and spotlessly clean. Excellent value for a comfortable bed for the night. The fridge and microwave in the room were a bonus.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank candirisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granite Bay, CA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2012

We stayed here for two nights while taking our daughter to UCSC. Closest hotel to UCSC. I had asked for a quiet room in the back of the hotel and we got a room that was quiet, but not quite at the back of the hotel. It was okay, the room was clean and appropriately appointed for the star rating. . The free breakfast was free, and that is about what it was worth. The breakfast room was crowded and really too small for the amount of people it is meant to accommodate. I'd stay here again because it was much less expensive than the Holiday Inn where we'd stayed before in Santa Cruz and I'm willing to go out for a decent breakfast elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back to avoid the noise of Mission Street and go out for a decent breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mommyclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thousand Oaks, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

We went to orientation for UCSC.. First the great news is that the hotel is the closest to the school. Staff is very friendly.
The mattresses in the room were extremely uncomfortable and you could feel the springs. Hard to sleep, and for that reason alone we would not return,
The hotel offered breakfast, although we did not stay, so cannot review.
The Mission Inn is very clean, and there is a nice larger bathroom..
Overall, reminded me of a Motel 6,but very clean.

Room Tip: If you need a good sleep with a great mattress, choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan and Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS All Suites Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#4 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,275 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Cruz
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mission Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mission Inn

Property: Mission Inn
Address: 2250 Mission Street, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mission Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
53 spacious and accommodating guest rooms include in-room coffee, complimentary continental breakfast, cable TV, HBO, air conditioning and high speed internet. Most rooms have refrigerators and microwaves. Closest hotel to UCSC. Only five minutes to the Santa Cruz Beach and Boardwalk, beaches, downtown and several restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Agoda so you can book your Mission Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mission Hotel Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing