We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean , basic but value for money .”
Review of The Islander Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Islander Motel
Ranked #20 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

The motel is clean and quite basic. The kids loved the pool . It's about a 20 minute walk to the boardwalk where there are some nice restaurants. The walk to the beach is interesting . We were up too late for breakfast !

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank craff39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2014

I was traveling solo and this room was $100. per night. The internet pictures make it look much nicer than it is. Pros: King size comfortable bed, free internet, and motel was quiet at night, also close to boardwalk, restaurants etc. Cons: Rooms are small, no coffee maker, sheets thin, floors not so clean, drain in bathtub wouldn't drain (gross) so shower turned into standing bath, t.v. small with poor reception.

Room Tip: my room was upstairs and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smitty600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

all clean and comfortable, the bed was a little soft but slept well. no microwave, fridge or coffee making facilities. Didn't try breakfast. Great on a budget. Old style 4:3 TV but with hbo and free good wi-fi. I'd stay here again for the same price ($50) if passing.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katep09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We spent four nights at the Islander, including Halloween. You just can't beat the price (we spent $56 including tax!), and upon arrival were upgraded to a queen room. It's true the rooms are small and the breakfast pretty useless unless you're very fond of cereal, but the place is clean, friendly and well-kept. Even on Halloween night when there were some guests who clearly came to party, it was quiet. Of course this may not be true in summer, with windows open. There's plenty of off-street parking. It's not convenient walking distance to the beach, but again, we weren't here for the beach and it's definitely walking distance to downtown. The Islander was a great bargain and perfect for our needs. A larger room would have been perhaps nicer, but for this price no complaints!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kunmingirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

This is a nice, clean and decent motel but it lacks a few ordinary amenities that are commonplace almost anywhere.
I stayed in a one queen bed room for a very good price. But there is no coffeemaker or microwave as they have in their other rooms. This meant that when I woke at 5:00 am I could not have coffee unless I got fully dressed and drove to an all night coffee shop. Years ago this situation would not have been unusual but today even the low cost motels have coffeemakers. I would advise the proprietor to make these additions in order to accommodate the majority of patrons. Otherwise all was good and I would consider staying here again.

Room Tip: I stayed upstairs and it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank msaardvark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

The rooms at the islander motel are very clean, and the location is very good.
It is close to some kind of main road so it is very noisy and very hard to sleep. The room is very small. They don't even have a flat screen tv, which is usually a basic thing in hotels today.
The stuff wasn't very friendly.
The breakfast was very poor.
Not recommended if you actually want to sleep at night, and if you are planing a long vacation to Santa Cruz.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank y_e2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed in the Islander for 1 night after driving up the Pacific Coast Highway. We got a special rate of $60 for a king room for the night and thought this was excellent value for money. There is adequate parking, some of which is under cover. Our room was a decent size, clean and had a large fridge. The motel is a short walk to restaurants and not too far away from the boardwalk (approx 15-20min walk). There was complimentary toast and cereal available in reception in the morning. The only real complaint was that it is on a busy road and there was quite a lot of traffic noise, however this didn't particularly disturb our sleep.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LM82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 54 in Santa Cruz
505 reviews
0.1 mi away
Continental Inn
Continental Inn
#22 of 54 in Santa Cruz
203 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Boardwalk
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Santa Cruz
Comfort Inn Santa Cruz
#19 of 54 in Santa Cruz
260 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pacific Inn Santa Cruz
Pacific Inn Santa Cruz
#49 of 54 in Santa Cruz
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Islander Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Islander Motel

Address: 522 Ocean St, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-6602
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range: £56 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Islander Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cleans and Comfortable,2 story with 22 guest rooms that include, 32" flat Screen LCD-HD TV Withe Remote, complimentary continental breakfast, Free Local Calls, All rooms have phone, Free WiFi. High speed Internet access in Room hairdryers. All rooms with Micro fridges. Free parking, Seasonally heated pool and electronic door locks for your security. Located approximately 1 mile from the world famous Santa Cruz Beach and Boardwalk. We are within walking distance to Downtown Santa Cruz, numerous nightclubs, theaters and shopping at Pacific Garden Mall. Roaring camp, Mystery Spot, The University of California Santa Cruz, the Museum of Art and History and Pasatiempo Golf Course are all nearby. We look forward to making your stay with us the Best Value in Santa Cruz. Sorry No Pets.One car per Room.Parking is limited. Deposited Required. Extra Person $15.00 Per Person No Extra Beds or Crib,Payment will taken upon arrivel,. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Islander Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing