We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is more like a prison than hotel”
Review of Big 6 Motel

Big 6 Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Big 6 Motel
Ranked #51 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“This place is more like a prison than hotel”
Reviewed 31 March 2013

The only redeeming quality is the managers daughter. My advice to her is to go back to school. before you wake up one day and you see your mothers face in the mirror. You are too nice to sacrifice your life for mean people.The woman who runs this place is horrible! She yells and treats her guests as if they are criminals! I spent 2 hours sanitizing and cleaning before we could even relax after arriving. we viewed 4 other rooms all were even worse than this one.They are the ones who stole 20$ from us! she was looking for an excuse to keep our 2o$ deposit and when she had no real reason she went into the room and came out saying it smelled and made a huge scene! It did stink even more so when we arrived. If we hadn't paid online we would have turned around right away and left as soon as we saw and smelled the condition of the rooms. Very poor conditions disgusting management and a screaming old woman to scold you as if you have done something to her. The location is not so great. There are so many beautiful places in Santa Cruz . We only stayed here because we were in between homes and didn't want to spend $ on a place would only be at when we were not working. Nothing nice about this place. if you plan on staying here consider driving to watsonville to days inn same price huge rooms and friendly staff. big six should be condemned.who gives paying guests 1/2 a roll of 1ply for 3 nights? two threadbare towels blood stains on the walls????? food under the bed and tables sand everywhere and at least 5 different colors of random hair in the drain. Gross. If that weren't enough the crazy old bag that runs the office is a thief and will keep your deposit even if you have done nothing wrong. and display the accusation in front of the entire hotel guests and all.,.... horrible!!!!!

Room Tip: stay somewhere else... really!!!!!read other reviews they are all pretty much the same. I wish we ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank jewlias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    4
    5
    8
    26
See reviews for
4
18
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
fort mohave Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

My family and I stayed four nights here. Our room was very clean, , and the beds where quite comfortable. I suggest though that you bring your own pillows. We checked in very late and woke up the manager/owner, she has a strong accent and a little hard to understand, however; she was efficient and polite. What makes this motel so nice is you are walking distance to the beach and wharf. Definitely not an upscale resort, but not such as dive that your afraid to sit on the furniture. Plus free Wi-Fi was a plus with decent prices.

Room Tip: The one story building I prefer personally, no-one above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MaryJane71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

got a room here through http://booking.com and was prepared for the worst, but things went pretty smoothly. i was prepared for cantankerous owners and was greeted by their daughter, a little cutie who was friendly as heck.

big six has definitely seen better days, but the owners keep the place clean, the price is decent and you're a block from the boardwalk, but also right next to downtown, which is why i wanted to stay here. Big 6 is very centrally located and if you don't have a car, you can easily walk to the beach or downtown in a matter of minutes.

i like the location and the place is cute, but the room had a heavily sanitized smell that slowly faded to vaguely-vomit, doubt i will be back. oh, and someone overdosed on pills while i was there. serious!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MckinleyAlvarez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Santa Cruz hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

This day started off great until check in. The attendant was very rude. Rooms are very small. Heaters dont work properly. Dont dare complain they will only respond with yelling. Beware of this place only stay if nothing matters to you but sleeping. Never again

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chocolatetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Given the price of about $100 per night for a single, I expected more from this hotel. I brought a suit to attend a wedding and was amazed that there was no closet. There was no coffeemaker either. Parking was crowded and tricky, with minimal space for each car, and it was not easy to back out and turn around to get out to the street. At one point, all the spaces were taken. I am not sure if people park here illegally to go on the nearby boardwalk. I did see a sign for a nice-looking motel for $49 per night a couple of blocks away, and was disappointed that I already had committed to this one with priceline (which, it turned out, offered no discount in comparison with the walk-in rate). I did notice a "no visitor" policy posted, and I think that security might be an issue in the area. On the positive side, the room was clean and the bed was quite comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelerwithbudget49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

This motel was in a great location in Santa Cruz and was walking distance to the boardwalk and downtown.

The room was very cheap and although run down, it was tidy and hygienic. It offered all the necessary things we needed like a clean bed, tv, bathroom and towels.

The staff were also very nice too.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RiccO12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sacramento
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

This place is from Hell...The Indian lady is CRAZY!!..she acts nice when you check in but will harrass you your entire stay. We checked in and when we got to our room, the door had a huge gap when we went to the boardwalk and tried to lock our room door. The Indian lady will watch who comes in and out your door and will argue with you. During the morning of checkout she refused to give my deposit back stating I had a visitor in my room, Yes I did it was the pizza delivery guy delivering our pizza!!

Stay away....listen to me...stay away..Go to Pacific Inn down the street on Ocean St, its the Ditzey compared to this place...nice customer service, great breakfast in morning, clean rooms, heated indoor pool, and the price is cheaper!!...

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank razzyroz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.2 mi away
Coastview Inn
Coastview Inn
#24 of 54 in Santa Cruz
301 reviews
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
0.5 mi away
Seaway Inn
Seaway Inn
#10 of 54 in Santa Cruz
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aqua Breeze Inn
Aqua Breeze Inn
#38 of 54 in Santa Cruz
87 reviews
0.0 mi away
Super 8 Santa Cruz/Beach Boardwalk East
0.1 mi away
Torch Lite Inn
Torch Lite Inn
#42 of 54 in Santa Cruz
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big 6 Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big 6 Motel

Property: Big 6 Motel
Address: 335 Riverside Ave, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5597
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Hotel Class:2 star — Big 6 Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Big Six is located in Santa Cruz, along the beautiful coast of California. When coming to enjoy some sun in the fun, there’s nothing better than checking into a motel that offers the best location, with a stress-free environment. Big Six Santa Cruz is the best choice for inexpensive rates, great rooms and the friendly service that you as our customer deserve. Being located in the heart of Santa Cruz where guest will experience some of California’s best beaches, which are perfect for surfing, playing volleyball or just having a good time with family. In addition, the beach boardwalk is only two blocks from the motel. Please note that the property has been renovated as of May 2011. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing