We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The new "best ice cream in town"”

The Penny Ice Creamery
Ranked #3 of 21 Dessert in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: After-hours, Seating, Takeout
Description: Ice Cream
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The new "best ice cream in town"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

With an ever changing line up of fresh, organic, local ice cream flavors this is the best ice cream in Santa Cruz! The line out the door most evenings would agree! They make their ice cream completely from scratch, starting with the base (a rarity in the ice cream business), and continuing with their locally sourced ingredients, so their flavors are often often very subtle and intriguing. They have unique flavor combinations along with some more standard flavors... but either way it's always delicious!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank treehgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    32
    11
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very nice, not spectacular”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

We had fine ice cream here. We loved the flavors, although they were a little limited. Their green tea flavor was not as good as the grocery store brand, even though the base ice cream was clearly fine. Others like the coffee and chocolate varieties. Limited seating, altho the outside seating was pleasant.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank patsmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California, United States
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“THE BEST ICE CREAM IN SANTA CRUZ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

By far the best Ice Cream you have ever eaten, Every thing use in this delicious ice cream is Organic, wonderful texture and price's ( for Organic) There is always a line out the door, that always tells me something, I love this place one block off of Pacific Ave is the main shop there is a outlet on Pacific right outside the Bookshop Santa Cruz, staff is friendly and helpful, you can have a taste before you buy..my favorite is the Bon Bons...a must for local and tourist , don't miss out on this place if you love Ice Cream..nothing fake about this place...totally recommended the Penny Ice Creamery..I understand the owners will be opening a Restaurant on Pacific Ave , I cant wait to try it....

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ronne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inverness
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely ice cream - even dairy free!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

Gorgeous ice cream, even dairy free chocolate ice cream! Friendly staff, great experience!!! I wish I could take the place home!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Meconopsis65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
1 review
“BEST ICE CREAM EVER!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

I love the atmosphere of the shop! They have very friendly severs and a line is usually out the door, but it moves quickly & worth the wait!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank komvik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Penny Ice Creamery also viewed

 

Been to The Penny Ice Creamery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing