We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING ICE-CREAM”

The Penny Ice Creamery
Ranked #4 of 21 Dessert in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Description: Ice Cream
Carmel Valley, California
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“AMAZING ICE-CREAM”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Well, I am like many other people love ice-cream, but I only eat healthy and homemade meals. So, The Penny Ice Creamery is what I found the best for me! They always offer some unique flavors...Last time I had MUSHROOM ice cream - it was wonderful! You can try sample spoon before you order.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaGirl5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    34
    11
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
california
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“very original flavors, well made”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

The Penny Ice Creamery is a well-known local favorite with a reputation for hand-making their original and delectable ice creams. We got the triple scoop for $6.75 (mushroom, vanilla bean and cinnamon bark) and enjoyed it a lot. They also had a rhubarb Ice cream which was well made, but a little weird for me. Next time, I need to try the Earl Grey. Street parking only.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank notperfectalas2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Best Ice Cream in Santa Cruz and Central California Coast”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We arrived in Santa Cruz and walked through town to find the Penny Ice Creamery. The ice cream is simply delicious! The mint ice cream was made of fresh mint, a first for us. The coffee ice cream tasted like a delicious Columbian roast. Best of all we happened into the afternoon delight special, two scoops for the price of one! If you are visiting or just passing through, make sure to stop in.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Not my favorite in Santa Cruz, but worth a visit.”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Like i said, not my favorite ice cream, but still worth your time if you're downtown. They always have new flavors to try.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank PLJ10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The new "best ice cream in town"”
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

With an ever changing line up of fresh, organic, local ice cream flavors this is the best ice cream in Santa Cruz! The line out the door most evenings would agree! They make their ice cream completely from scratch, starting with the base (a rarity in the ice cream business), and continuing with their locally sourced ingredients, so their flavors are often often very subtle and intriguing. They have unique flavor combinations along with some more standard flavors... but either way it's always delicious!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank treehgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Penny Ice Creamery also viewed

 

Been to The Penny Ice Creamery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing