We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent ales”

Santa Cruz Mountain Brewery
Ranked #90 of 369 Restaurants in Santa Cruz
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Truckee, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent ales”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

This brewery/brew pub is kind of tucked away in a little industrial park, but it's worth the effort to find it. We had a couple of pints of their IPA, but there were a bunch of interesting other ales and some really intriguing sounding seasonals. Limited indoor seating, but a pretty large, covered outdoor seating area. Great little spot with a friendly bartender and a comfortable neighborhood vibe.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank pbansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    13
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chico, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The beer is decent, the food is meh”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

I only tried a couple of the beers, the IPA and the Amber, and they were decent. Not mind blowing but obviously are aiming to please a wide variety of people. $10 for an avocado and cheese sandwich is ridiculous and the avo was hard. The Chicken Durango sandwich is delicious and actually worth the $12. We were there on a Saturday afternoon and it was quite busy. Kind of a challenge to actually get to the bar and order a beer and food, and there are few places to sit. The staff is very nice and the place is inviting. Neat little patio and is very dog friendly. Happy to see them making organic beer that includes organic hops. This, contrary to popular belief, is not required for a beer to be certified organic so kudos for that!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Owen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danvers, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not Happy With Their Brews”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2012

My husband and I have visited several breweries in Northern California, during our vacation here and Santa Cruz Mountain Brewery was our least favorite. Out of a sampler of several different brews the only one we thought was decent was the Devout Stout. A couple of the beers were cloudy and we didn't even finish most of them. I hate to diss a brewery, but I have just tasted so much better.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bluizgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Drink, but don't eat!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2012

Santa Cruz Mountain brewery is a bit hard to find if you're not local -- it's hidden near New Leaf Community Market -- but it's a treat for beer lovers, and you're likely to find a good crowd of them any time you go. They pour a good range of organic handmades including excellent brown ale, IPA, and a variety of seasonal offerings. The patio seating makes and tiny taproom make for a friendly atmosphere. I can't recommend the food, however; the short menu of pub favorites (burgers, fish & chips, fish tacos, & Polish sausage) is only available until 7pm, and their fish & chips deserved to be thrown back in the bay. But if all you want is a drink with your friends, after surfing, or while walking the dog, by all means stop in for a pint.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tffredly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
171 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“+ tasty brews, + cozy atmosphere, + patio, - packed on weekends”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2012

The Santa Cruz Mountain Brewing is a hidden gem in Santa Cruz close to West Cliff Drive but far off busy Boardwalk! It is located within the re-vitalized industrial quarter along Ingalls Street that is popular with wineries.

Besides the small pub upstairs you can enjoy their organic brews downstairs on the patio assumed you find a spot. The brewery is very popular and usually packed during the weekend or happy hour.

However, if you like industrial architecture and are a fan of great microbrews you will love Santa Cruz Mountain Brewing. For the hungry they also sell some pub food until 7pm.

A pint is about $5, during Happy Hour $3.50 (Mon+Tue all day, Wed-Sun 5-6pm). On Wed they also have Weenie Days with one liter of beer and a pretzel for $8.

SC Mountain Brewing is a great location after a ride along West Cliff Drive and Wilder Ranch, after a day of wine tasting at the wineries close by or just to hang out off the beaten path in Santa Cruz.

+ tasty brews,
+ cozy atmosphere,
+ patio,
- packed on weekends

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelinmatecom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Santa Cruz Mountain Brewery also viewed

 

Been to Santa Cruz Mountain Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing