We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only Here For The Beer”

Santa Cruz Mountain Brewery
Ranked #92 of 373 Restaurants in Santa Cruz
Restaurant details
Santa Cruz, California, USA
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Only Here For The Beer”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I am in no position to comment on the food as I have only ever been in for a beer or two. The beers, brewed on the premises are superb. Although Boulder Creek Brewery is the best in the area, as far as my taste goes, the SCM brews are a close second. They don't have the varieties and choice of the BC brewery, but what they do they do well. Nice pub atmosphere, the little terrace is cozy and there's always a friendly westside vibe to the place. Not a bad spot at all.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdelacruz68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    13
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lewes, DE
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“LOVED THE "BARREL AGED THY TWISTED SISTER"”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

My husband and I are craft beer aficionados and we always seek out local brew pubs during our travels. We recently visited Santa Cruz Mountain Brewery and grabbed seats in the popular Beer Garden with our dog in tow. My husband went inside to the bar area and selected the India Pale Ale and Devout Stout, both at Tuesday All Day Happy Hour prices ($3.50/pint). Both beers were really good. For the 2nd round we tried ThyTwisted Sister and the seasonal selection "Barrel Aged Thy Twisted Sister" (not HH price). If you like bourbon barrel aged ales, this one certainly will not disappoint, it is off the richter delicious with organic cocoa nibs and chipotle powder for some kick. A perfect pint for a Chilly night on the West Side. Fortunately, there is a conveniently placed box of throw blankets in the Beer Garden that you can grab and use as a wrap. So we wrapped up with our beers and decided to order a few slices of the vegetarian pizza for dinner. Our dog enjoyed his pizza crust treats and meeting other dogs and people. The layout of this place invites conversation with others so kick back, chill out and have a great time.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank surfandturf65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belmont, California, United States
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Pleasent Surprise on a Hot Afternoon”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

After getting Fri. afternoon off, from my job, my wife and family decided to take a quick trip to Santa Cruz. We went to the Beach Boardwalk and at my sons request, the Santa Cruz Mountain Brewery. If you've never been to a "real" brewery, you are in for a pleasant surprise. Everything from the IPA and Amber Ale, to the Stout is made on site. There are so many beers to choose from, that we opted for a couple of "flights". That is...7 different beer choices, all in small sampling glasses. This gives you a chance to try almost everything and pick what you like. All of us agreed that their Brown Ale was the best. Their Stout and Porter's are brewed with coffee and were good, but a little too heavy on the coffee taste for my liking. We live closer to San Francisco and have become fans of small local breweries (Devils Canyon, Steelhead, etc.). This one is right up there as one of the best.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Allan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tasty seasonal IPA”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

you can stay outside and spend your time watching films in the big screen, drinking a very good beer.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank flames78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great beer and awesome food parings”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stopped in the brewery on a family/brewery trip through the area. We shared the sampler and bought a growler to take home. You can order food and the french restaurant in the shopping center will deliver. The location is awesome as you can do several winery tastings, the brewery and lunch all without having to travel. Loved the Beer!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ltr7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Santa Cruz Mountain Brewery also viewed

 

Been to Santa Cruz Mountain Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing