We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful surprise”
Review of The Darling House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Darling House
Ranked #9 of 15 Santa Cruz B&B and Inns
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“wonderful surprise”
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We arrived in santa Cruz late in the afternoon with no idea where to stay. We saw the Darling House and took a chance. It's as beautiful on the inside as it is on the outside but what makes this B&B are the owners Darrell and Karen. Take the time to get to know them. They are charming and very interesting. And thanks for the card games. It was so much fun. We will be back to redeem ourselves. Our best to both of you and hope to see you again soon. Al and Nancy

Room Tip: We stayed in the Chinese Fertility room. The antique bed is quite unusual but confortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nancywright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    16
    4
    12
    10
See reviews for
16
40
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Modesto, California
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We were happy to visit the Darling House for a mini-vacation getaway. I had been in a automoblie accident the week before and not feeling much like traveling to Santa Cruz, but we had paid and did not want to lose our deposit. We were late in leaving Modesto and called at the time of checkin ( 4:00pm ) to let the owners know we were running late. Mrs. Darling was happy to wait and asked when we might arrive. Upon arrival Mrs. Darling was very nice and glad we were there; as were we.

The house is beautiful and my wife and I enjoy staying at historic places filled with period furnishings. We had the Ocean room, best view in the house. We were surpised to find only the big tub , but were delighted to use the pitcher to rinse with. Yes the fixtures are old but kind of cool to use. The view was great and the sea lions barked us to sleep. It had great parking, no problem as with B&B we had stayed at. The short walk to the pier or lighthouse was nice. We had a delightful breakfast with fruit, scones, and other homemade treats. We had been to B&Bs in the past ( Carson City for one ) and there is no one on site! Here is you key code and you prepared your own beakfast of cold ceral and packed bars. It was a wonderful change to have the great breakfast and visit with owners and other guests.

My wife and I talked with Darrell about his flower gardens as he was busy planting more Daffodels, don`t think he got them all in. My wife tends a large flower garden and it does take a lot of work to keep up on all the tasks. The home and grounds were truly wonderful.

To visit this B&B you do sort step back in time. The owners were delightful and interested in each guest, I felt we were greeted with warmth and happiness. Hope to be able to return for another visit soon. Did miss out on the poetry though, Next time.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012 via mobile

Beautiful home, delicious breakfast, comfortable bed, spotless bathroom, intriguing history and charming, generous owners. The beautiful thing about B&Bs for us is the chance to peek back in time through the history of a house and also the chance to connect with others who are curious, intelligent and open to new and unique experiences. the Darling House lived up to all we imagined. The location was perfect for us as we parked behind house and walked the waterfront and @a mile into the center of town.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank A L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paso Robles, CA
Level Contributor
83 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

The Darling House was in a perfect location, on the ocean and very close to the wharf. It was built in 1911 and had tasteful antique furnishings. The innkeepers had lived there for 30 years so it was a family home and very well cared for with beautiful flower beds and fresh flowers throughout the house. The breakfast was all homemade and delicious. The only thing that could be improved upon would be the lighting for reading and more comfortable chairs however we enjoyed our stay very much, met some very nice people and would certainly recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front of the house, both upstairs and down, hav a great ocean view if this important...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MerlinSis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Darling House, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
We enjoy sharing our home with others who want to be at "home" on the edge of the Pacific.
Thank you for spending time with us & we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
1 review
Reviewed 13 July 2012

We stayed in the Pacific (or is it the Ocean?) room, the one that has a big bay window overlooking the bay. It was the best B&B we've ever stayed in. It was like stepping into the past, and I mean that in all the good ways. The breeze from the sea and the rumble of the surf lulled us to sleep every night. We slept like rocks, knowing that in the morning we would be feasting on fresh fruit and scones and yogurt and the occasional hard-boiled egg, all artfully arranged--we even took pictures of the fruit arrangements! Karen and Darrell and Denise were terrific hosts, and I especially enjoyed the long conversations with Darrell. on a wide range of topics. We watched fireworks over the bay, first from the porch, then from our room window. An amazing fourth. We stayed four nights, and we will be back.

Room Tip: The other rooms looked just as cool when we glanced in, but they don't face the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Darling House, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
One of the favorite benefits to being an innkeeper are the wonderful people that we meet & the time we get to share with new found friends. Exchanging life stories & engaging in stimulating conversation is an attractive difference for a number of our guests.
We're blessed by many people who walk into our home as travelers and leave as lifetime friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Karen and Darrell have done an excellent job in preserving the house to its original splendor. It is within walking distance of the Boardwalk and other Santa Cruz attractions.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tpcraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We arrived at the Darling House at 3:40pm thinking that check in was at 3pm. However, I realized I had my times confused with other places we were staying along the coast during our trip. So after ringing the doorbell and then realizing we were early, we decided to just sit on the porch and enjoy the view until 4pm. A few minutes later, Mrs. Darling opened the door and she told us to just come on in. She asked us to fill out a registration card, and then asked us if we needed a Santa Cruz map. She was very nice and told us all the places we should visit during our stay.

We stayed in the Pacific Room, which has the best view in the house. The bed was very comfortable and sheets seemed fine, contrary to what another reviewer mentioned. Our room had its own bathroom, but I did not expect to see a bathtub without an attached showerhead. Then I saw the pitcher, so I knew we had to use that to bathe. However, when I tried to turn on the water, there was no space between the side of the tub and the water flow so it was difficult to even collect water in the pitcher. It was somewhat late in the evening so we just took a quick shower in the hallway bathroom.

The breakfast was very good and filling. The homemade croissants were kind of chewy, but I like it that way anyway so no complaints. There was also fruit, yogurt, granola, and various teas and juices. Mrs. Darling and her daughter were so hospitable, and we had a good conversation before leaving.

This was our first B&B experience, and overall we enjoyed our stay. I found it to be a very good value ($143 through a Groupon deal) in comparison to some of the other prices I found in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acho038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.2 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,471 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea & Sand Inn
Sea & Sand Inn
#1 of 54 in Santa Cruz
432 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coastview Inn
Coastview Inn
#24 of 54 in Santa Cruz
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
0.2 mi away
West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn
0.2 mi away
Seaway Inn
Seaway Inn
#10 of 54 in Santa Cruz
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Darling House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Darling House

Property: The Darling House
Address: 314 W Cliff Dr, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-6145
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Darling House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Darling House Bed & Breakfast, a historic inn overlooking Northern California's beautiful Monterey Bay. Centrally situated in a quiet residential neighborhood on picturesque West Cliff Drive, we provide relaxing accommodations to travelers and friends seeking a memorable weekend getaway, a mid-week escape, a family vacation or a romantic getaway. As the only bed and breakfast inn directly on Santa Cruz's beautiful oceanfront, visitors appreciate the soft ocean sounds at night and the sights of gently rolling waves. Our facility is open year round with seven bedrooms for overnight accommodations, plus beautiful indoor space and a 1/2 acre of outdoor space which provide the perfect setting for gatherings of up to 150 people. Darling House is just a short stroll from Santa Cruz's leading attractions: Lighthouse Point, Steamer Lane, Santa Cruz Surfing Museum, Cowell Beach, the Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk, the Santa Cruz Wharf and Natural Bridges State Beach. West Cliff Drive is also a short drive away from the University of California Santa Cruz campus and downtown Santa Cruz's Pacific Garden Mall retail, dining and entertainment district. Lighted by the rising sun through beveled glass, Tiffany lamps and open hearths, and the grace of genuinely open hearts, the Darling House Bed & Breakfast welcomes you into an experience of peaceful elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your The Darling House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Darling House Hotel Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing