We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, Romantic, Historic”
Review of The Darling House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Darling House
Ranked #9 of 15 Santa Cruz B&B and Inns
Los Gatos, California
1 review
“Beautiful, Romantic, Historic”
Reviewed 5 March 2013

The Darling House is one of my favorite escapes from the city. I first stayed there more than 20 years ago, and have enjoyed coming back every few years. It's close to all the Santa Cruz attractions like Natural Bridges State Park, Downtown, the University and Beach Boardwalk, yet away from the bustle. It literally overlooks the ocean and world famous surfing spots, and you can walk out the door for a stroll down West Cliff Drive. The owners are long term operators who have owned it for decades, not hobbyists, so they run it well. Also, notable is the architecture. It was designed by the famous architect, William Weeks, who also designed the Coconut Grove and Santa Cruz High School, as well as many notable landmarks around Northern California.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darigato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    16
    4
    12
    10
See reviews for
16
40
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2012

The Bad:
You have to share a run down bathroom. The woman will pester you like crazy if you arrive passed the 4pm "check in." The rooms are tiny and the bed is rock hard. The woman is very old and can barely hear. And the price is ridiculous, you are much better going to an econo lodge where you get your own bathroom!

The Good:
The location is good and the breakfast was okay.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the CHina room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingFishMule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Santa Cruz hotels

Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

A beautiful cliff-top property, with cozy rooms.
It's about a 10-15 minute walk from the beach front and the B&B offer's on-site parking.
The owners were friendly enough, although we did feel a little uncomfortable (a little like when you were younger and staying with your grandparents!). Breakfast was ok but limited - boiled eggs, croissants, fruit salad and museli.
The room was spacious with a good shower, but there was no TV, mini-fridge, etc
Some of the charm of the property is it's age and history, but the ancient fittings (i.e the sinks and taps) could perhaps be updated.
Overall, a decent stay, good night's sleep and convenient location.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AsiaSpecialist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

To my regret, I realized the morning after our one-night stay at this place that what was most charming about it is its owners. At breakfast, Mr. Darling, upon learning one of the couples at the breakfast table was expecting, read a poem tableside to bless their child. If he is a boy, Darling read: "may every star shine upon him; may every sunrise light his path." That kind of graciousness is special and deserves an extra star by itself.

If you have the right expectations and mindset, you will enjoy your stay at the Darling House. It is an old historical house, with fantastic views of the ocean, the lighthouse and the pier. It is well kept, but austere in its modern amenities. Our room had no bathroom. There was a shared bathroom down the hall with a bathtub with an enveloping curtain. Further details about our room: there was a small flat-screen television but it was unplugged and stored away in the closet, which we never bothered to try to set up. I was disappointed that there were no towels or shampoo laid out anywhere.

Perhaps, it was the old antique furniture, dark wood and oil paintings, but the overall feeling of the place is pretty heavy. I will say if you stay here, you might be rolling the dice. The walls are paper thin. It was absolutely quiet when we stayed, but if any of the quests had been the least bit rowdy or noisy, I think it would have been unendurably loud.

I might consider staying here again, in a different room.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CraigOwen72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Clemente, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We arrived in santa Cruz late in the afternoon with no idea where to stay. We saw the Darling House and took a chance. It's as beautiful on the inside as it is on the outside but what makes this B&B are the owners Darrell and Karen. Take the time to get to know them. They are charming and very interesting. And thanks for the card games. It was so much fun. We will be back to redeem ourselves. Our best to both of you and hope to see you again soon. Al and Nancy

Room Tip: We stayed in the Chinese Fertility room. The antique bed is quite unusual but confortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nancywright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modesto, California
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We were happy to visit the Darling House for a mini-vacation getaway. I had been in a automoblie accident the week before and not feeling much like traveling to Santa Cruz, but we had paid and did not want to lose our deposit. We were late in leaving Modesto and called at the time of checkin ( 4:00pm ) to let the owners know we were running late. Mrs. Darling was happy to wait and asked when we might arrive. Upon arrival Mrs. Darling was very nice and glad we were there; as were we.

The house is beautiful and my wife and I enjoy staying at historic places filled with period furnishings. We had the Ocean room, best view in the house. We were surpised to find only the big tub , but were delighted to use the pitcher to rinse with. Yes the fixtures are old but kind of cool to use. The view was great and the sea lions barked us to sleep. It had great parking, no problem as with B&B we had stayed at. The short walk to the pier or lighthouse was nice. We had a delightful breakfast with fruit, scones, and other homemade treats. We had been to B&Bs in the past ( Carson City for one ) and there is no one on site! Here is you key code and you prepared your own beakfast of cold ceral and packed bars. It was a wonderful change to have the great breakfast and visit with owners and other guests.

My wife and I talked with Darrell about his flower gardens as he was busy planting more Daffodels, don`t think he got them all in. My wife tends a large flower garden and it does take a lot of work to keep up on all the tasks. The home and grounds were truly wonderful.

To visit this B&B you do sort step back in time. The owners were delightful and interested in each guest, I felt we were greeted with warmth and happiness. Hope to be able to return for another visit soon. Did miss out on the poetry though, Next time.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012 via mobile

Beautiful home, delicious breakfast, comfortable bed, spotless bathroom, intriguing history and charming, generous owners. The beautiful thing about B&Bs for us is the chance to peek back in time through the history of a house and also the chance to connect with others who are curious, intelligent and open to new and unique experiences. the Darling House lived up to all we imagined. The location was perfect for us as we parked behind house and walked the waterfront and @a mile into the center of town.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank A L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.2 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,657 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
0.4 mi away
Coastview Inn
Coastview Inn
#28 of 54 in Santa Cruz
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn
1.2 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
0.2 mi away
Seaway Inn
Seaway Inn
#11 of 54 in Santa Cruz
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Darling House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Darling House

Property: The Darling House
Address: 314 W Cliff Dr, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-6145
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Darling House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Darling House Bed & Breakfast, a historic inn overlooking Northern California's beautiful Monterey Bay. Centrally situated in a quiet residential neighborhood on picturesque West Cliff Drive, we provide relaxing accommodations to travelers and friends seeking a memorable weekend getaway, a mid-week escape, a family vacation or a romantic getaway. As the only bed and breakfast inn directly on Santa Cruz's beautiful oceanfront, visitors appreciate the soft ocean sounds at night and the sights of gently rolling waves. Our facility is open year round with seven bedrooms for overnight accommodations, plus beautiful indoor space and a 1/2 acre of outdoor space which provide the perfect setting for gatherings of up to 150 people. Darling House is just a short stroll from Santa Cruz's leading attractions: Lighthouse Point, Steamer Lane, Santa Cruz Surfing Museum, Cowell Beach, the Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk, the Santa Cruz Wharf and Natural Bridges State Beach. West Cliff Drive is also a short drive away from the University of California Santa Cruz campus and downtown Santa Cruz's Pacific Garden Mall retail, dining and entertainment district. Lighted by the rising sun through beveled glass, Tiffany lamps and open hearths, and the grace of genuinely open hearts, the Darling House Bed & Breakfast welcomes you into an experience of peaceful elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Darling House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Darling House Hotel Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing