We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best vacation ever” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Santa Cruz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hampton Inn Santa Cruz
Ranked #13 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Cocoa Beach
1 review
“The best vacation ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2008

That place was amazing. Great hotel, very clean, delicious breakfast. We slept in the most comfortable bed ever !!! Close to all the great attractions.
It was a great experience. Excellent choice !!!!

  • Liked — the beds
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Daniela_Christenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    227
    90
    48
    24
See reviews for
260
175
31
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2008

Really fail to understand the negative reviews of this small Hampton Inn (40 + rooms). We stayed for two nights and were very impressed both by the quality of service and the room rate. We booked directly through the Hampton Inn web site. Yes, there are rooms whose windows are obstructed by the roof of the entrance canopy which does look like a bit of an architectural after thought. However, our request for a different room was immediately accommodated and we moved to the rear of the property overlooking the car park. This side of the hotel in very quiet with no traffic noise whatsoever. We had twin queen size beds in a large room with a very well appointed bathroom. Every thing was exceptionally clean and the towels etc were of superior quality. The breakfast was more than adequate and there were plentiful supplies of coffee, tea and fruit juices available all day in the lobby. The pool is small but during our stay we saw no one using it. We could have had it to ourselves. The internet is free and there is a computer and printer in the lobby for the use of guests. All the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful.

The hotel is 5 minutes by car to the beach and convenient for access to the University.

We have used Hampton Inns on many occasions in the past and would rate this as one of the best we have stayed in.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank SandDNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
visalia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2008

It was ok

pros: there was alot of free stuff ex: hot chocolate and coffe, chips, breakfast, internet, heated pool ,ice

cons:our rooms window was blocked by the entrance roof, need to bring own computer for free internet, no exersize room, we had to pay $200 per night, small pool, homeless people sometimes are outside 1st story windows and desturbe guests, phones are crazy(when i used them i heard the person i was talking to, busey tone, and dial tone)

We will never go there again

  • Liked — free stuff
  • Disliked — pay alot, get little
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mcj108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastopol, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2008

I checked out the reviews on this site before booking this trip and thought it would be okay. The room was very expensive for what it was. I was initially impressed with the cleanliness of the room, was going to leave a tip for the housekeeping staff, had just placed the money and a note on the bedside table when my 8-year-old son said, "look what I found on the floor." It turned out to be some kind of sex toy. I left it and a note on the table instead of the tip, but the housekeeping staff either couldn't read English or ignored it. I'm afraid I gave them the benefit of the doubt as far as not being able to decipher my note, and I was in bad shape by the time we checked out, so I just threw out the sex toy. The beds are so hard that my husband and I didn't sleep much, if at all, and were really sore the next day. I tried sleeping with the pillows under me the second night but no luck. The breakfast is limited to the point of not being worth it, and the eggs are questionable. The coffee is not worth drinking. The indoor pool is only the size of a large Jacuzzi and almost as warm as one. Swim? I don't think so. I definitely wouldn't do this again. Chaminade was a big disappointment and ripoff with their resort fees, and the Santa Cruz Coast is being redone. We love the town. Why is there no decent hotel in Santa Cruz???

  • Liked — It was in Santa Cruz
  • Disliked — My young son finding a sex toy on the floor
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank 24karat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lees Summit
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2008

This was a clean, comfortable room. Bed and pillows were comfortable. The breakfast was ok and was filling. I found nothing to complain about. My wife and I stayed here on a Sunday night for $130.90. This was our second stop on a trip down Pacific Coast Highway CA1 from Oakland to San Diego. We went to Mystery Spot. What a hoot! Next stop is Best Western in Monterey.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank LeesSummitCruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2008

We make frequent trips throughout the year to go to the SC beach and boardwalk. We always stay at the Hampton when we go. It's a Hilton chain hotel so you pretty much know what to expect: a dependable, reliable, and clean room (with free breakfast). In Santa Cruz, you essentially have a bunch of inns and motels that are privately run and you have no real clue as to what to expect. This member of the Hilton chain takes away the guesswork. Front desk staff were friendly and accommodating (although I also think it doesn't hurt to be a Hilton gold member). There does look to be some riff-raff lurking around the hotel and the next door Denny's, although we've stayed there about 4 times in the last year and have had no problems in terms of folks breaking into our car (despite the prominently displayed signs outside the hotel that say the hotel is not responsible for damages to the cars in the parking lot). The only downside would be that you have to drive to the boardwalk and park down there. The flip side to this is the closer you get to the boardwalk, the more prevalent the questionable characters become.

  • Liked — Dependable and reliable
  • Disliked — No problems.
  • Stayed February 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BigDCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
270 reviews
216 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 759 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2008

Our son goes to UCSC so this is the 4rd or 5th stay in SC in a year. I've posted a few reviews and I guess this is as good as it gets.

But why??The Hampton Inn is always rated #1 or 2 but that's not saying much for the area. Santa Cruz has a lot to offer a visitor..... couldn't it support some nice accommodations?

Not located anywhere special, it's on a busy intersection of Ocean Ave. and highway 1 but it's convenient to the University.

We had to interrupt the front desk personnel from her personal phone call when we arrived. She was not enthused about the room choices. We had request the quietest location on our reservation and she shrugged saying "well, they're all noisy." It's a relatively small hotel but she could not recall if the one we had been assigned had finished it's renovation. Here's chocolate to say "sorry" she said. The parking lot was full of empty liquor bottles and trash in addition to the dumpsters from the renovation.

The room was relatively clean but the carpet was sticky in spots. It was surprisingly quiet from outside noise but we did hear diners in the lobby around breakfast.in the morning.

The pool was laughably small but we had no plans to use it anyway.

Breakfast was muffins, fresh fruit, fruit salad and something cheesy in the warming dish. About the caliber of th Denny's next door.

There was really nothing wrong with our visit but nothing spectacular either. It served our purpose and we might return sometime.

My question is......... why aren't there better options in the area?? I'll keep trying or maybe this will prompt me to open my own!!!

  • Liked — better than the other options
  • Disliked — better than the other options
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Msk6261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
3.6 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS All Suites Inn
0.6 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
2.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Cruz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Santa Cruz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Santa Cruz

Property: Hampton Inn Santa Cruz
Address: 1505 Ocean Street, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Santa Cruz 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn Santa Cruz, a captivating California coast hotel. Treat yourself to our lovely retreat located near everything you'd ever need to make your visit the best it can be. Delight in superb sandy beaches, fascinating local history, out-of-this-world attractions and exceptionally fine dining. Experience a veritable vacation paradise in Santa Cruz. Our hospitable hotel puts you in perfect proximity to the beach, boardwalk and dozens of amazing attractions less than 2 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hilton Hotels Direct and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hampton Inn Santa Cruz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Santa Cruz Hotel Santa Cruz
Santa Cruz Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing