We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“enjoyed our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampton Inn Santa Cruz
Ranked #15 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
New Hope, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“enjoyed our stay”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

we stayed in Santa Cruz because it was a little less expensive than Monterey but actually really loved the Santa Cruz area plus all the things to do and see - plus it was only a realatively short drive to Monterey

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JasonSantaCruz, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Santa Cruz, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thanks for the great review! I'm happy to read that you enjoyed your time at our property and our excellent city of Santa Cruz! It's true that Monterey is a relatively short drive away, and you can easily make a day-trip and do many of the great things down there while saving a little money. I hope that we get to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    231
    90
    54
    24
See reviews for
267
178
31
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
jensplayin22
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Service was great. Breakfast was great. Rooms were tiny and musty. It felt more like a Motel 6. Not somewhere I plan on going again. Santa Cruz or not it's way overpriced for the bad area and quality of room.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jensplayin22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JasonSantaCruz, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Santa Cruz, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
I'm very happy that you enjoyed our breakfast and our staff, but I'm sorry to hear that you found your room disappointing. I will speak to maintenance and make sure that any fragrance issues are being addressed immediately. Thank you for taking the time to review our property, and I hope we have the opportunity to have you with us again so we can provide you with a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Shasta, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This hotel is on Ocean Blvd which is near the homeless center on Coral Street. I got hit up a couple times for money, as I had to park on the street, as the parking lot was full. I was worried about my new car getting broken into and me getting mugged. The room smelled misty and damp like old socks. It would have been nice if someone would have turned on the air conditioner in our room before we arrived. I am an Hilton HHonors member, there was no acknowledgement made in that regard either at check in or out. In fact, the lady at the front counter did not asked how my stay was. I used 50000 points which is equivalent of $625.00. I wouldn't have paid $100.00 for this room. I will never go back. In fact, I am cancelling my HHonors account and closing my Hilton credit card.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
3 Thank MountShastaJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JasonSantaCruz, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Santa Cruz, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
I'm sorry that your recent stay at our property was a disappointing one. It is true that Santa Cruz as a city, along with most beach towns in California, have a noticeable homeless presence, especially in times of economic hardship. It is true that about a mile away and across a river there is a homeless shelter in Santa Cruz, but you will see that the homeless population is not kept confined to a small area. I'm sorry that you were asked for money -- typically we do not experience issues with the homeless, but I am sorry that you were made uncomfortable.

As we share our rear parking lot with the Denny's next door, sometimes there are few spots left in our rear parking lot immediately adjacent to our hotel. Please feel free in the future to park anywhere in this rear lot or ask a front desk agent for assistance. I am sorry that you were not greeted as a Hilton Hhonors member, and that the agent checking you out did not inquire after the quality of your stay. I assure you that you received your Hhonors points for staying at our property, but I'm sorry if this was not made clear.

I hope that you please reconsider cancelling your Hilton Hhonors membership, as it would be regrettable if this disappointing stay damaged your future relationship with the Hilton family of hotels. I hope that we have the opportunity to have you with us again so that we can provide you with a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This place was amazing! Courteous reception, and very helpful. Splendid room, and because we were there for a graduation, there was a gift bag with food, drink & toys, and a bottle of Apple Cider. The breakfasts were delicious and varied, and every staff member that we interacted with was warm, welcoming, and appreciative of our business. Although right at the end of the freeway, it was quiet. I can't think of anything that could have enhanced our say there.
Aline Koppel

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the rear of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonaAline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JasonSantaCruz, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Santa Cruz, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
What a fantastic review! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments and for choosing to stay with us during UCSC's graduation! I'm happy you enjoyed your gift bag, our hot breakfast, and our wonderful staff -- I'll make sure to share your review with them to brighten everyone's day. We hope we get the opportunity to have you with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I was unable to ignore the lingering smell and noise coming from the elevator. Bad customer service from front desk staff. Since the hotel was fully booked, I had to request for another hotel accommodation late at night. This was a very disappointing experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Marella G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JasonSantaCruz, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Santa Cruz, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
I'm sorry that your visit to our property was a disappointing one. It's true that as we were fully booked we did not have another room to move you to, but I hope that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel we arranged for you. I hope that we have the opportunity to have you with us again in the future so that we can provide you with a more positive experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint George
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I have stayed at this property a couple of times and absolutely love it. It is located right off ocean street and is well located to all that amazing Santa Cruz has to offer. The rooms were very clean and spacious. They give you passes for a nearby fitness center that was an absolute hightlight of the trip. Lots of musle heads to check out! The front desk clerks were attentive and helpful and spread Hamptonality. Thanks for taking good care of us on our little vacation.

Room Tip: Stay on higher floor to avoid any noise above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeslieannGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JasonSantaCruz, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Santa Cruz, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thanks for the great review! I'm glad that you enjoyed your stays at our property, and that you've taken advantage of our gym passes to Santa Cruz Power Fitness. I'm also glad you enjoyed our great staff and their "Hamptonality," as well as your room! I hope we get to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stowe, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Decent place to stay in Santa Cruz. As usual,the room was clean and comfortable. Not the most picturesque area of S.C. but a lot of hotels seem to be clustered in this particular part of town. We were only here for one night. Next time I would probably see what else is available just to have other options.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JasonSantaCruz, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Santa Cruz, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and found your room clean and comfortable. It's true that most hotels in Santa Cruz are located on Ocean Street -- luckily, the Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk, beaches, Municipal Wharf, and UCSC are all located less than two miles away! We hope we have the opportunity to have you with us again the next time you're in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
3.5 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
2.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Cruz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Santa Cruz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Santa Cruz

Property: Hampton Inn Santa Cruz
Address: 1505 Ocean St, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-2826
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Santa Cruz 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn Santa Cruz, a captivating California coast hotel. Treat yourself to our lovely retreat located near everything you'd ever need to make your visit the best it can be. Delight in superb sandy beaches, fascinating local history, out-of-this-world attractions and exceptionally fine dining. Experience a veritable vacation paradise in Santa Cruz. Our hospitable hotel puts you in perfect proximity to the beach, boardwalk and dozens of amazing attractions less than 2 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Santa Cruz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Santa Cruz Hotel Santa Cruz
Santa Cruz Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing