We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampton Inn Santa Cruz
Ranked #14 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable Stay”
Reviewed 25 June 2009

We traveled to Santa Cruz to spend Thanksgiving with our son who is going to school in Santa Cruz. The Hampton stay was so comfortable and easy. First and very important they have amazingly soft sheets, comfy beds and pillows. Not the scratchy sheets we have all experienced over the years at various hotels. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The Hampton is next door to Denny's and also walking distance to a great Diner so it was easy to grab a bite to eat. The hotel is very clean and well taken care of. We will be sure to stay there again when we return.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dantre2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    231
    90
    52
    24
See reviews for
266
178
31
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Torrance,CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2009

Our stay at the Hampton Inn in Santa Cruz compared poorly to our many previous stays with the chain. I will grant you that the piece of property that this hotel sits on is somewhat smaller than the other Hampton's we've visited. The atrium lobby was nice and check-inn was fine. Our room was not a problem except for the urine smell in the bathroom; I would suggest that the floor could have been mopped better. The breakfast area was quite a bit smaller than would be desired and things got extremely crowded in the morning with inadequate seating. The food items looked pretty typical but tended to run out quickly. Fortunately staff were on hand to refill empty trays. I generally love the Hampton Inn experience and this fact explains my disappointment more than anything else. We plan to continue to stay at Hampton Inn's in the future...just not this onel.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doctorjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2009

My daughter and I were on a college roadtrip and stayed here overnight. The hotel was in a convenient location off the freeway and didn't have people loitering around the outside of the hotel. I felt very safe. The clerk was friendly and even called the room later to make sure everything was satisfactory. The carpets were clean, the room smelled fresh and the bedding was laundered. The bathroom was large and practically sparkled. There was coffee and tea downstairs at all hours, and a nice breakfast was served for several hours in the morning. I was pleasantly surprised at the caliber of this hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ginger23136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
99 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2009

Not the fanciest but for the price, the best value in Santa Cruz. Most hotels under 200/night are 2 star motels with exterior entrances. This property is one of the few with doors to your room that's inside a lobby setting, nice to have in a town frequented by the homeless. The rooms are new and clean with a fold out sofa and large bathroom with tub. Breakfast is included but "hot" does not mean embassy suites type of buffets, there's just 1 item like french toast and the usual cereal, oatmeal, coffee and muffin bar. The swimming pool is heated to more of a hot tub temperature and is about just as small as a hot tub. Until there's another hotel with intereior corridorrs of the same price, I'd stay here for the safety and cleanliness.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suraimcfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2009

I stayed at this property for two nights as part of a wedding group block. It was a new, clean, well maintained property. The parking and internet were free as was the breakfast which were all nice. The staff were friendly and attentive, the bed was not top quality nor were the amenities but neither was the price. Another nice quality was the tv selection; many, many channels and it doesn’t reset to that awful ad-laced menu channel that nearly all hotel tv’s do when you shut them off. I would recommend visiting the Santa Cruz Diner a couple of blocks away as well as the Cromwell state park, a truly beautiful part of this country.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dc2005b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2008

This is a good example of the new Hampton Inns. Everything was clean and new. The front desk was friendly, and the hotel was centrally located. This is a safe bet for a clean, predictable stay in Santa Cruz. We paid $103 with AAA, which was just right. Our only issue was that the breakfast items were not promptly restocked while we were sitting there, but this was minor. It had a nice interior courtyard layout as well.

  • Liked — Clean and new
  • Disliked — Breakfast items not promptly restocked
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jill_in_Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexanc
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2008

Considering the prices in Santa Cruz for dumpy hotels, this was probably the nicest and most affordable we could have stayed in.
It had a nice comfortable bed and pillows. Looked and smelled clean. The downside of the hotel was that our room was located across from a loud ice maker and maids storage room. Also we did not like that there were no laundry facilities on the property. The breakfast looked ok, however we didn't eat. The staff was very friendly. The hotel is pretty far from the Boardwalk, however, we didn't mind driving. We had no problem finding parking when we got back to the room around midnight. The signs in the paring lot do say "owner assumes all risk" but we didn't find the area to be dangerous or sketchy. I felf very comfortable with parking our rental in their parking lot.

  • Liked — Beds, location, shower, clean
  • Disliked — LOUD ICE MAKER! Price
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
3.5 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
2.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Cruz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Santa Cruz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Santa Cruz

Property: Hampton Inn Santa Cruz
Address: 1505 Ocean St, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-2826
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Santa Cruz 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn Santa Cruz, a captivating California coast hotel. Treat yourself to our lovely retreat located near everything you'd ever need to make your visit the best it can be. Delight in superb sandy beaches, fascinating local history, out-of-this-world attractions and exceptionally fine dining. Experience a veritable vacation paradise in Santa Cruz. Our hospitable hotel puts you in perfect proximity to the beach, boardwalk and dozens of amazing attractions less than 2 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Santa Cruz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Santa Cruz Hotel Santa Cruz
Santa Cruz Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing