We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Locals adore the Nick” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nickelodeon Theatre

Nickelodeon Theatre
Ranked #16 of 80 things to do in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Locals adore the Nick”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Good energy from the staff and great movies. They serve the best best popcorn and use real butter from the concessions area.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank TravelwiseSantaCruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    12
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Independent Movie House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Fantastic resource - a local theatre that brings in the best of both of alternate Indy film and commercial movies worth watching. Popcorn, pastries, good coffee - a super fun evening at Santa Cruz downtown at The Nick!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Beth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Tahoe
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“The place to go for non-mainstream movies”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

Whenever we are in Santa Cruz we try to hit the Nic for those movies that we can't find at home. It never disappoints.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank SLTahoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California, United States
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Old School and Unique”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Love the Nickelodeon and go often, this is a small Movie Theater, cozy comfortable and they show great Movies, not only the most popular but off beat as well, Charming old School Decor, friendly Staff, Cozy seats and good coffee and pastries , Great affordable candy and Popcorn and truly Santa Cruz ,if your ever in Santa Cruz and want to see a flick this theater is two blocks off the main drag (Pacific Ave) plenty of parking close by. I highly recommend the Nickelodeaon, as a Santa Cruz Resident two thumbs up..

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ronne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Classic cinema - University town venue!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Warm, comfortable, intimate... 4 or 5 small screens, foreign films, experimental... we've been seeing Woody Allen films at Nickelodean Theatre since 1985. I hate the expression, but it's earned here: it's where the local go to see a film "far from the maddning crowd"

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nickelodeon Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Nickelodeon Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing