We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Santa Cruz/Beach Boardwalk East
Ranked #20 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
san jose, ca
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Overpriced.”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This hotel is overpriced, I do not recommend staying here for the $388/night (with taxes), that I paid.
Location - 3 stars. Rooms - 2 stars. Swimming pool - 2 stars. Pricing - 1 star. Overall - 2 stars at most.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alex_sj_ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    186
    78
    31
    21
See reviews for
195
167
20
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Castro Valley, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

You know there must be a really bad selection of hotels in Santa Cruz, when the Super 8 comes up as one of the top 10 rated hotels. I am having a hard time understanding the excellent reviews. Hey, I know we weren't staying at the Hilton but for a going rate of $305 a weekend night, ones expectations naturally rise a bit. I don't think you can charge this rate unless the room is very clean. There was algae growing on the bathroom faucet. On top of the shower, there was someone's left-over bar of soap and a bit of mold on the shower ceiling and wall. "Good" thing the a/c is super loud (and rattily) so you can't hear the car noise of the street in front of the hotel and along it's side. I will say, however, the beds were soft and comfortable. We were only staying a night due to being in the area for a soccer tournament. Why anyone wants to stay in a hotel in Santa Cruz by their own choice is beyond me. My recommendation is for everyone to save their $ and for the same price stay an extra night in an ocean-view hotel room in Hawaii or something!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank isepa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We stayed here for a weekend during a business trip to San Jose. The couple at the reception are so warm and hospitable, it almost didn't feel like a hotel. The location was superb, a mere 5 minute walk. The breakfast was good. I'd recommend this place any day.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cg2025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
138 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Stayed here with 3 other adults, were impressed. Not fancy but clean and had very friendly and very helpful front desk, the woman helped us with directions and made us feel welcome. There is a great patio area on the top, several tables and chairs and a nice spot to relax. 5 minute walk to the boardwalk. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed in Santa Cruz for a few days for the first time and we picked Super 8. It was near the boardwalk so no need to drive. Staff was VERY friendly and rooms where clean. Plan on coming next summer and we well definitely be staying here again!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Mireya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yucaipa, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

First off, do not confuse this hotel with the west Boardwalk Super 8 that's right across the street. We stayed at the east Boardwalk Super 8 three nights ago. It is your average Super 8. But what sets it apart is the owners and staff and the great location. Everyone there was extremely nice and helpful. Although the hotel is older, as is everything else in the area, it was very clean. Our room appeared to have been updated fairly recently. There were plenty of outlets to charge all our electronic devices and more than enough lights. The light in the bathroom was connected to the fan which was very loud. So we had to plug in one of the room lamps in the bathroom to keep a light on during the night. The continental breakfast was very good. They offered, among other things, a waffle bar, cereal, toast, fruit, coffee, and tea. There was also an ice machine outside. There was a pool, but the weather was too cold to even attempt to use it. The hotel was about a block from the boardwalk so is within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This place is in a great location and within walking distance to the boardwalk and downtown. The bed was comfortable and overall the room was very clean. However it is a little out dated and bathrooms could use a makeover. I would stay here again, it was a good value and great location.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CariLVNV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
0.5 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,471 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 54 in Santa Cruz
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Coastview Inn
Coastview Inn
#24 of 54 in Santa Cruz
301 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ocean Pacific Lodge
Ocean Pacific Lodge
#22 of 54 in Santa Cruz
364 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Santa Cruz/Beach Boardwalk East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Santa Cruz/Beach Boardwalk East

Property: Super 8 Santa Cruz/Beach Boardwalk East
Address: 338 Riverside Ave, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5524
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Santa Cruz/Beach Boardwalk East 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Super 8 Santa Cruz/Beach Boardwalk East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Santa Cruz Boardwalk East Hotel Santa Cruz
Super Eight Santa Cruz
Santa Cruz Super 8
Santa Cruz Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing