We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beach and boardwalk access”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Edgewater Beach Motel
Ranked #29 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, VA
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great beach and boardwalk access”
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Enjoyed a wonderful Thanksgiving stay at this hotel. The staff was absolutely fabulous and treated us like a five star hotel. It has a great view of Santa Cruz beach from the top of the hill and simple, easy access down the hill about maybe 300 meters to the beach. The room was perfect for us with a microwave and fridge. The huge bath tub surprised me too. If you want an easy location with quick access to the Pacific Ocean this is the place for you. Perfect little deck area to sit quietly and watch the waves and world go by too.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    30
    10
    11
    17
See reviews for
64
60
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 September 2011

The room was nice and clean. The room had a fireplace that was in the wall between the room and the bathroom. Very nice while sitting in the jacuzzi tub. Located 50 yards from the Boardwalk.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GONMAD510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We were happy to have found such a great location and truly enjoyed our stay. Clean room albeit small (Room 103) and had the look & feel of a room from the early 70's. There was a small table sized ironing board but we had to ask the front desk for an iron, there wasn't a hair dryer and no tissues in the room. Not a big deal except what we paid for the room we expected a bit more.

The owners couldn't be kinder and more helpful. We will be back but next time we will get a bigger room with a view of the ocean.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darrel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben Lomond
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

My wife and wanted to get away for the weekend and stay at a place where we could have easy access to the beach boardwalk/wharf. Well we found a wonderful place that was just that...close to everything and much more. The staff at Edgewater was very nice and accommodating! The room had a great view and the bed was very comfortable. I would highly recommend this place and we will back again! Thanks for everything!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We originally booked a different place near the beach but our daughter wouldn't let us stay there because she didn't like the neighborhood. So she drove about the area before we arrived and picked the Edgewater Beach for us. She was right! We loved it! Our room had two levels, a fireplace, view of the pier, and a great ocean-view patio. The staff was great and the whole motel is a wonderful garden of rosebushes, hanging baskets, fuscias, and colorful flowers. This is our place anytime we stay in Santa Cruz.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The-Penguini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

I had made reservations at another motel but when we arrived it was not close to the boardwalk and was on a busy loud street. So we went looking for another motel, as we drove around the boardwalk area we found this gem. It is centrally located but you don't feel like you are in the middle of everything. They had a last minute cancelation due an illness and we were in luck. We stayed in room 108. it had a king bed in the bedroom and twin beds in the living room for the kids. It also had a kitchen that had dishes, utensils, pots and pans. since we were staying a week, this proved to be very helpful. The room was clean and the staff was so nice to us we extended our stay two nights, e even made reservations for next year too. It is within a block of the boardwalk and an easy walk to downtown. I have found my favorite spot!! Can't say how much we enjoyed it, and it was so relaxing as well!! See you next year!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brenda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merced, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Last minute trip to Santa Cruz and stumbled across the Edgewater by mistake. Best mistake we could have made! The staff was beyond friendly, courteous and helpful. Room was immaculate and the location couldn't have been better. I almost didn't want to write this because we want to keep it to ourselves. Already planning a return visit and we wouldn't stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: Book early to get the best room to fit your needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tntsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.2 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,646 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coastview Inn
Coastview Inn
#28 of 54 in Santa Cruz
305 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Seaway Inn
Seaway Inn
#11 of 54 in Santa Cruz
305 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Pacific Lodge
Ocean Pacific Lodge
#26 of 54 in Santa Cruz
372 reviews
0.1 mi away
West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Beach Motel

Property: Edgewater Beach Motel
Address: 525 2nd St, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5439
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
#10 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
#11 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Edgewater Beach Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Cruz Beach Boardalk 1 block east and across from main beach & wharf. 17 unique non-smoking units. Spacious family suites with fully equipped kitchens, separate bedroom, and 2 T.V.'s. Enjoy our delightful climate while relaxing by our pool. Picnic area with gas BBQ's and great view. Short walk to downtown and west cliff drive. Some rooms with fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs, and oceanviews. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Edgewater Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Beach Hotel Santa Cruz
Edgewater Beach Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing