We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Edgewater Beach Motel
Ranked #30 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 January 2013

Very beauitful place, great size room, the staff was very helpful with directions to places to eat and entertainment. we had the best time and very covenient location close to beach and board walk !!!

Room Tip: all great size rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randall0609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2013

When we were greeted by the most lovely and accommodating lady at the front desk, she made us feel completely right at home. She was so lovely in accepting our family -- husband, wife, dog & cat. We were so impressed by the suites she offered, it was hard to pick one. When we met her wonderful husband, we knew this was that rare couple in hospitality that really cares and catered to our every need. Our cat loved all the extra warm fuzzy blankets and my wife loved having coffee overlooking the ocean. Our dog simply loved the beach and walking all around the boardwalk and lovely local scenes. So much to tell about why this motel is impressive. First of all, we got a fabulous multi-night package. The suite was huge. We didn't want to leave. The bed was so comfy. I have literally never slept in such a fancy and huge and comfortable bed. Our pets simply loved the trundle beds. We were given tons of towels and pet sheets and pet treats as this couple knew how to make us happy. We were so happy staying there, I just have to tell everyone what a great team. We stayed thru the xmas holidays and all the decorations and the huge tree and all the blinking lights were awesome. The grounds were impressive. We often asked Hector what all the name of the pretty flowers were. The pet grounds were super clean and inviting. There were so many hummingbirds. The kitchen was huge. There were even cookie baking sheets. We made our xmas turkey in the oven. We had a lovely full size kitchen with all the works. The water pressure and shower was again huge and breath-taking. We had not one, but two televisions. Dee and Barry are Santa Cruz's finest. This is true hospitality at its best. They were so friendly and sweet to our furry babies. I can't wait for our next romantic event so we can fire up these huge bbq's we saw. I couldn't believe we could walk to the beach and then come back and enjoy that fabulous view and the relaxing sound of the ocean.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

After the stress of work, we found a great place to relax and enjoy nature. The fireplace came in handy against the cool ocean breeze. It was great hearing the crash of the ocean waves and the bark of the sea lions. The beds are super comfortable. We walked out on the wharf and had a wonderful breakfast. Saw the Monarch Butterflies in Natural Bridges State Park. Staff was efficient, professional and friendly. We will be back.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have fireplaces. Each room is totally different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lewis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

Visited Santa Cruz with my wife for a weekend romantic getaway! We love Edgewater for the variety of rooms and they are all different! We stayed in a wonderful room with a full kitchen and jacuzzi tub. Beds were very comfortable. Loved that I could make my own coffee in the morning! It was an easy walk to the Boardwalk and Wharf for great restaurants. Also good location to visit Carmel and Monterey. Private parking (free!) is a plus! Dee and Barry were friendly and accommodating...giving it a Bed and Breakfast atmosphere. They showed us a room that would accommodate our kids and grand-kids so our next visit will definitely be with the entire family...and the grand-kids will love the pool too!

Room Tip: Ask about the rooms because they are all different!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4Traveler35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Me my wife and 2 kids had an amazing time!!! Loved going to the board walk and loved enjoying the beach and then coming back to a nice clean room everyday!!!! Also loved how we had reserved parking!!! Really great place :)

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorreta O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Loved the room!!! also loved the bath OMG it was awesome!!! we were in 110 And boy me and my wife loved that room great location as well!!!! Loved how close the beach was and also loved the staff as well. like I said before cant wait till the next trip!!! :)

Room Tip: Loved 110 great Tub and awesome bed!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aunt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

I was set on staying at The Dream one of the newer hotels right on the beach. But babe wanted to explore more. So we drove around and stumbled upon Edgewater Beach Motel.

Such a lovely place!!! We had a room with a see through fireplace, a private deck with a lovely view of the beach and a sunken jacuzzi bath tub.

The gentleman at the counter was extremely helpful with our late night check in. Answering questions and giving us the number to the best local pizza joint.

Our room was spacious and clean. The room had all the extras you could need. Flat Screen TV, mini fridge, DVD player, microwave and AWESOME patio furniture.

In short I would stay at Edgewater Beach Motel again and again. I've always loved Santa Cruz and now I have a favorite haunt to stay while I play.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheBrideBayArea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.2 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,875 reviews
0.1 mi away
West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn
0.9 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Inn at Pasatiempo
Inn at Pasatiempo
#16 of 54 in Santa Cruz
447 reviews
0 mi away
Beach Street Inn and Suites
Beach Street Inn and Suites
#3 of 54 in Santa Cruz
626 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casablanca Inn on the Beach
Casablanca Inn on the Beach
#25 of 54 in Santa Cruz
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Beach Motel

Address: 525 2nd St, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5439
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
#10 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
#11 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range: £99 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Edgewater Beach Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Cruz Beach Boardalk 1 block east and across from main beach & wharf. 17 unique non-smoking units. Spacious family suites with fully equipped kitchens, separate bedroom, and 2 T.V.'s. Enjoy our delightful climate while relaxing by our pool. Picnic area with gas BBQ's and great view. Short walk to downtown and west cliff drive. Some rooms with fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs, and oceanviews. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Edgewater Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Beach Hotel Santa Cruz
Edgewater Beach Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing