We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DISAPPOINTING accomodations with a great location” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Edgewater Beach Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Edgewater Beach Motel
Ranked #26 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Stockton, CA
1 review
“DISAPPOINTING accomodations with a great location”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2008

This was our first real vacation with our children and we truly feel like we disappointed them with our choice to stay here. We met a woman who claims she has stayed here every year for the past 20+ years. OMG - WHY!!!!! Our son has heart problems and needs a heated pool, so we called twice to verify that their pool was heated and each time we were told YES, it is heated, of course. Guess what - NOPE. It was so cold, I could not even put my toes in. For a child, to have a pool so close, yet so far out of reach was very disappointing. This was just the beginning of a disappointing week. Do not let the "great location with ocean views" fool you. Our room was musty, it had no mirror or sink in the bathroom (oh, they were in the room, they were just located in the living area), the floor was extremely and I do mean extremely unlevel, the toilet was broken, only 3 lights in the room and they were equipped with energy efficient bulbs which made us feel like we were in a DUNGEON, and their was only one working window. C-mon, it is Santa Cruz, part of the whole experience is to open windows and smell and hear the beauty of the ocean - maybe next time. In addition, this complex uses their overflow parking on the weekends to supplement their revenue, but the constant in and out of "day parkers" was very annoying. Lastly, the so called cozy, family friend atmosphere was far from that unless you call grandma and grandpa's all day happy hour in front of their units, family friendly. I will say that the location is great and the availability of a BBQ and picnic area was nice, but please if you have kids and want to have a pleasant trip, stay next door at the Terrace or save up your pennies and splurge on the Dream Inn. We are very disappointed and sad that our first real vacation was here.

  • Liked — the proximity to the beach
  • Disliked — everything - read my review
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twins4usinstk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    30
    9
    10
    17
See reviews for
62
58
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2008

This authentic Santa Cruz motel has it all! We parked our car in it's own designated spot and walked everywhere.! Beach, Boardwalk, Municipal Wharf, West Cliff Dr. and Downtown Pacific Avenue. That was when we were not in our "Captain's Cabin" in front of the fire, in the large jacuzzi tub or just enjoying the full view of the Bay. Staff was great.Trying not to be biased from their welcome to us w/ champagne and fresh flowers from the lush gardens! What was quite nice was having the children come vist for a family breakfast made in the state of the art kitchen, including granite counters and eaten on the private deck and lawn, again enjoying the picture perfect bay view! This is the Real Deal! Quintesential Santa Cruz. The only way to go with the awful gas prices. This motel does allow pets but they are so organized about it that it caused no problem for us.

  • Liked — trditional comfort w/ modern conveniences
  • Disliked — That we could not stay longer
  • Stayed June 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sugarplum9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fresno,ca
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2008

We stayed here because it was close to the beach and we could have our dog with us. I was happily surprised to find it very clean and as with other pet places this one did not smell of pet odors. we found their pet policy quite reasonable. .the staff was very pleasant and helpful with directions and suggestions on what to do and see in the area with our pet. would definately stay here again.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — sparse cable stations
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bearsmom45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2008

This place bills itself as a "boutique" motel, and I must say it fills the bill in many ways. Located on a hill directly across from the Santa Cruz wharf, this place offers walking distance access to the beach, boardwalk, restaurants, and downtown. Park the car; you won't need it. It's a pretty place too, with lots of flowers, landscaping, patios, lawns, a pool, and a bbq deck. Our room was one of the newly remodeled ones, with a corner jacuzzi in the tiled bath, and a small deck off the bedroom w/ french doors. most rooms have a kitchen, which is kinda weird. The staff keeps the place immaculate, sometimes anally so, and the service is great. At first, I found the price to be a bit steep, but the local competition I checked out was slovenly and not much cheaper. So, I promptly went back and plunked down the green. It's a great place to kick back and say "AAHH".

  • Liked — The views, the room, the location, the parking
  • Disliked — maybe the price
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CAfarmboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mammoth Lakes, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2008

If cost is no object, and you like poorly-built one-star motels straight out of the 60’s, then this place is for you! Specializing in tacky, with a pepto bismol color scheme, you get it all from cigarette burns in the carpet to plastic sheets. This place made Motel 6 look like the Ritz. Bring your checkbook if you plan on having pets because each time they pee outside will earn you a $20 fine. Also if a neighbor once complaines of the least bit of dog noise during your trip you are required to pay for that person’s stay. There were at least 10 other dog rules I had to sign prior to viewing the room, all with added fines attached. Upon seeing the room I wondered what exactly a pet could do to make anything in it worse.

The staff was very impolite and only wanted my money. I had unfortunately booked a reservation before seeing the amenities (or lack thereof) and was refused a refund. We stayed at the Hilton which was 100 times nicer for $50 less per night and found out the same room we had reserved was booked after we left proving to me that the Edgewater Motel cares only about getting your money and nothing else. The prices were outrageous, the staff were unprofessional and rude, and the rooms were hideous. I had no qualms about having my bank dispute the charge with the hotel (who should know they had no clout in trying to charge $600 for two nights in a room I never stayed at). I got my money back, because the Edgewater grossly misrepresented itself online and over the phone. Don’t let their website fool you and make the same mistake we did.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ehren12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mammoth Lakes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2008

This motel was heinous. Despite being called a pet friendly hotel, upon arriving we were served with a pet "contract". The rules were rediculous (1. anytime your dog pees on the numerous flowers you will be charged 20 dollars, EACH TIME!! 2. If your dog barks and someone complains, you are liable to pay for their entire stay! The list goes on to about 10) The carpet was old and musty, cigarette burns everywhere. The beds had plastic covers on them. For 300 plus a night you shouldn't have to hear crinkle, crinkle ever time you roll over. The staff was unprofessional, the wrong room was given to us and we recieved a rude phone call to leave the room immediately. This was within the first 20 minutes of our arrival. Our group left for the Hilton down the street, despite the non refundable policy. In the end our peace of mind was worth it.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank LilCougRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2008

Do not expect anything more than a beach motel. I have been debating between liking this place and being totally grossed out by it. I have a california family travel book and edgewater was listed as a good place for families. Yeah, there is a grill, picnic benches, kitchens and separate rooms. You don't have to drive to the beach, boardwalk or wharf, which is huge. BUT! The walls are paper thin and you may as well be sharing your room and bathroom with neighbors. People next door were up until 1:30 am both nights. They allow pets so you hear dogs barking. The doors slam shut and cause your children to wake from naps and get scared in the middle of the night that there is a stranger coming into your room. The kitchen didn't have paper towels or a clean sponge in the sink. We turned on the heater (which was scary in itself) at night. The living room space got heated but our room did not. There is a charge for every single little thing they can think of...kitchen deposits, dish charge for not placing them on the rack (and had to be clean), towels being misplaced (ours was in the kitchen and they wanted to charge us for missing towels). I saw the same price rooms at much nicer looking hotels, still within short walking distance to the beach.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank dobee13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.2 mi away
Seaway Inn
Seaway Inn
#12 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Pacific Lodge
Ocean Pacific Lodge
#22 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
0.1 mi away
West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Coastview Inn
Coastview Inn
#21 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casablanca Inn on the Beach
Casablanca Inn on the Beach
#23 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beach Street Inn and Suites
Beach Street Inn and Suites
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Beach Motel

Property: Edgewater Beach Motel
Address: 525 2nd St, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5439
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
#10 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
#11 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Edgewater Beach Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Cruz Beach Boardalk 1 block east and across from main beach & wharf. 17 unique non-smoking units. Spacious family suites with fully equipped kitchens, separate bedroom, and 2 T.V.'s. Enjoy our delightful climate while relaxing by our pool. Picnic area with gas BBQ's and great view. Short walk to downtown and west cliff drive. Some rooms with fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs, and oceanviews. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Edgewater Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Beach Hotel Santa Cruz
Edgewater Beach Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing