We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An accidental find”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Edgewater Beach Motel
Ranked #28 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
St. Helena, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An accidental find”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

My daughter and I love to go to Santa Cruz every few months to experience the boardwalk and the beach. Unfortunately, the hotel on the beach that we normally stay at was completely booked as this was a last minute trip for us. After driving around, I noticed the sign for the Edgewater and that there was a vacancy. Not knowing what to expect, we stopped in at the front desk. The owners were absolutely solicitous and showed us the rooms that were available. There was ample space, a wonderful kitchen and best of all we could walk down the hill to the pier and the boardwalk. My daughter and I call this our accidental find, and we will definitely make this our first choice for our future Santa Cruz stays.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    30
    9
    10
    17
See reviews for
62
59
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Roseville, California, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We paid a premium for a larger suite with a separate kitchen and family room. However the rooms were dark and outdated and definitely musty. One big problem was there was no space to hang wet towels, beach clothes, etc. It was functional and the bed was comfortable as well as a nice jacuzzi tub. The front office staff was very pleasant and again great location....just a walk down the hill to the pier and boardwalk. So, it does have some nice amenities, it was just very pricey for not having it all....why the 3 stars.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We stayd in room 115 it was very clean and the staff was awesome. They were really welcoming and very lgbt friendly. The room was so cute and welcoming it had a huge jacuzzi tube and was very clean the pool needs some updating but the water was clear and they have a really nice bbq picnic area. Our room was quite as well with a heater. Which we didnt need the one and only problem was there is no air conditioning. But they did provide nice fans. There is also a nice flat screen in all rooms im sure. as well as very comfortable beds. There memory foam. I would definitely stay here again in the off season becuase D. The front desk lady said that its alot less expensive. I am going to be here in oct!. Oh and this is literally200ft from the boradwalk which was awesome it is on the end of the boardwalk by the volley ball courts. I would recommened to anyone who is looking for something different. I would describe this inn as the madonna inn but smaller! ♥

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rainbow_love726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villach, Austria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

The motel is only a few steps away from the beach with its popular pier and the famous historic Beachwalk. The suits are comfortable and best equipped -and the reception desk people bend all over backwards to meet their guests requests. Have a try and find out for yourselves!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eleonore W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antioch, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Very quaint and clean, with much of the charm one expects in Santa Cruz, and within easy walking distance of the Boardwalk and the Wharf. The rooms appear to have been updated and are comfortable with all the amenities one could want. Can't live without my Wifi!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raven207b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton, California
1 review
Reviewed 25 January 2013

Very beauitful place, great size room, the staff was very helpful with directions to places to eat and entertainment. we had the best time and very covenient location close to beach and board walk !!!

Room Tip: all great size rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randall0609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

When we were greeted by the most lovely and accommodating lady at the front desk, she made us feel completely right at home. She was so lovely in accepting our family -- husband, wife, dog & cat. We were so impressed by the suites she offered, it was hard to pick one. When we met her wonderful husband, we knew this was that rare couple in hospitality that really cares and catered to our every need. Our cat loved all the extra warm fuzzy blankets and my wife loved having coffee overlooking the ocean. Our dog simply loved the beach and walking all around the boardwalk and lovely local scenes. So much to tell about why this motel is impressive. First of all, we got a fabulous multi-night package. The suite was huge. We didn't want to leave. The bed was so comfy. I have literally never slept in such a fancy and huge and comfortable bed. Our pets simply loved the trundle beds. We were given tons of towels and pet sheets and pet treats as this couple knew how to make us happy. We were so happy staying there, I just have to tell everyone what a great team. We stayed thru the xmas holidays and all the decorations and the huge tree and all the blinking lights were awesome. The grounds were impressive. We often asked Hector what all the name of the pretty flowers were. The pet grounds were super clean and inviting. There were so many hummingbirds. The kitchen was huge. There were even cookie baking sheets. We made our xmas turkey in the oven. We had a lovely full size kitchen with all the works. The water pressure and shower was again huge and breath-taking. We had not one, but two televisions. Dee and Barry are Santa Cruz's finest. This is true hospitality at its best. They were so friendly and sweet to our furry babies. I can't wait for our next romantic event so we can fire up these huge bbq's we saw. I couldn't believe we could walk to the beach and then come back and enjoy that fabulous view and the relaxing sound of the ocean.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.2 mi away
Coastview Inn
Coastview Inn
#24 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seaway Inn
Seaway Inn
#12 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Pacific Lodge
Ocean Pacific Lodge
#21 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn
0.2 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casablanca Inn on the Beach
Casablanca Inn on the Beach
#23 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Beach Motel

Property: Edgewater Beach Motel
Address: 525 2nd St, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5439
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
#10 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
#11 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Edgewater Beach Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Cruz Beach Boardalk 1 block east and across from main beach & wharf. 17 unique non-smoking units. Spacious family suites with fully equipped kitchens, separate bedroom, and 2 T.V.'s. Enjoy our delightful climate while relaxing by our pool. Picnic area with gas BBQ's and great view. Short walk to downtown and west cliff drive. Some rooms with fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs, and oceanviews. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Edgewater Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Beach Hotel Santa Cruz
Edgewater Beach Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing