We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“interpersonal communication skills”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Edgewater Beach Motel
Ranked #30 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 October 2006

The motel does not live up to its' website. That is no surprise when compared to other places in the area. The room needed some work. It smelled. Mold, mildew, and bug spray come to mind. No airconditioning...didn't trust the wall heater. The main problem was how we were treated. We were chased down and reminded of the pet potty rules. We were reminded of the parking restrictions. We were required to sign a pet "contract". Checkout was traumatic. When I turned in the keys and remote controls one of the staff rushed to the room to check for "pet damage". We were there for one night, in the off season, and the only persons there...the place was empty. We obeyed all the rules. Yet, accused of breaking every one. This was not a chamber of commerce type welcome. We will not be back. \

  • Stayed: October 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank flyinrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 184 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Sacramento, Ca.
12
Reviewed 1 July 2006

We booked a room at the America's Best Value Inn. We stayed for 15 minutes and then left, even though it was non-refundable. We landed at the Edgewater while looking for somwhere close to the beach. We loved it! The staff was wonderful, we got a great rate, and we loved our room! We will be going back.

Stayed: June 2006
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2006

We stayed at the Edgewater for about 3 nights. The room was comfortable enough, and it had a good bathroom, but it was tucked in amongst a number of other rooms so was quite dark and other guests walked right past our windows to get to and from their rooms, so it didn't feel very private. I think the experience wold vary significantly depending on which room you get, so it's probably worth taking a look before you agree to take the room (if you have the opportunity). We were happy enough to stay there, and it was in a good location very close to the beach and boardwalk, as well as a short walk from the shops, bars and restaurants of the main street. The staff were also very friendly, but it wasn't cheap and If we'd shopped around I suspect we may have found a better deal.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AEF_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
542
Reviewed 18 February 2006

This 60 year old motel, YES motel it is way over priced. $49.00 is about all it is worth at best. Room was nice but very old, and need to be updated.Carpet really needed to be cleaned, and the drapes were very dirty. Bathroom was nice but needed to be cleaned (hair in shower), and floor needed to be washed, or maybe bleached. 2 block's from beach so be prepared for some noise.Did not seem like a very good area to be in, all around this place are a bunch of old run down motels that i would not ever stay at either.Office personel were very nice to us. Maybe some update's inside and out would help this place, I would not recommend staying here until some changes were made, it has a great view of the pacific ocean from the back of the motel.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Morro Bay, Ca.
18
Reviewed 2 December 2005

Motel is yor typical travlers worse nightmare.Motel not as advertised.A trap.Website etc. all misleading ,Motel just wants your credit card and watch the extra expenses start coming. Avoid from this "motel" and have a good time

Stayed: August 2005
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Twain Harte, California
13
Reviewed 15 August 2005

We really enjoyed our stay. Sharon at the front desk is awsome. Very close to beach, just a walk down the driveway, the boardwalk is 5 minutes from motel. All around had a great experience, will be back in September to stay at Edgewater.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Oakland, CA
19
Reviewed 4 August 2005

My family includes a 2-year old and a 5-year-old and this year will be our third staying at the Edgewater.

Now, when I travel for business I stay in the best hotels in the world (Ex. Biltmore, AZ, Westin, Los Cabos) so I know what a nice hotel is like. This is a beach motel, don't come here expecting more than that.

If you want a place that has kitchens, a pool, picnic tables, and where you can walk to the boardwalk, the pier or just the beach, a little liquor/grocery store and within 1.5 miles of downtown Santa Cruz this is your place.

We will return annually until our children have outgrown our beach vacations - hopefully never.

Stayed: April 2005
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.2 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,861 reviews
2.4 mi away
Inn at Pasatiempo
Inn at Pasatiempo
#17 of 54 in Santa Cruz
446 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
5.0 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Beach Motel

Address: 525 2nd St, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5439
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
#10 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
#11 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range: £125 - £252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Edgewater Beach Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Cruz Beach Boardalk 1 block east and across from main beach & wharf. 17 unique non-smoking units. Spacious family suites with fully equipped kitchens, separate bedroom, and 2 T.V.'s. Enjoy our delightful climate while relaxing by our pool. Picnic area with gas BBQ's and great view. Short walk to downtown and west cliff drive. Some rooms with fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs, and oceanviews. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Edgewater Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Beach Hotel Santa Cruz
Edgewater Beach Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing