We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay for a great price.”
Review of Fireside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fireside Inn
Ranked #40 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Torrance, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay for a great price.”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

I wasnt expecting much since previous inns I've stayed at werent nice in the slightest bit but this is a very nice one. The room was clean, no trace of the previous person, the staff was friendly and super helpful, endless hot water, great location, right on the boardwalk and walking distance to The Catalyst where we were seeing a show. Will be back here everytime we head to Santa Cruz!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melissamenendez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    13
    21
    6
    12
See reviews for
19
24
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I don't care if you stay at a 4 to five star hotel, issues will arise at times and the minor issues that I have had with this hotel were promptly taken care of. None had to do with cleaniless, rude staff or the like, or I wouldn't never come back. I just had to say this before writing my review. I work at a 4 star hotel and trust me, I have seen more issues there for rooms that cost upwards of $300 a night in Silicon Valley. This hotel is upscale/bohemian/hippie, all bundled up in the spirit of Santa Cruz.
I stay at the Fireside Inn at least 1 to two days a week because of the comfort and cleanliness of the rooms, the directtv, the fridge and the microwave inside of the room, and all of the amenities only a block away. Hills and dips abound near this hotel which is perfect for bike riding which I haven't done yet. As soon as I get a chance, I will be hitting up the natural bridges location soon enough. This hotel is family ran which coincides with the Bohemian spirit of Santa Cruz which aims to keep things non-corporate. As a travel writer and blogger, I love Santa Cruz and I would do nothing to ruin my vacation. Even when I have had opportunities to pay less elsewhere, I still chose this place and you should too. Also, unlike other hotels, you can check in early if a room is available, just call.

Room Tip: I love rooms 102, 103, and 204, especially 204 which has a reddish/gold couch/chair in it I believe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ejioforlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandon, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We too received space heater. Bed spread had blood on it. Hair dryer did not work. Bath tub had heavy dripping of water. Tv stopped working. Mold on window sills. Went to office for coffee before checking out and no one was there. Office was closed although several guests were still there.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shagmont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Santa Cruz hotels

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I arrived late and had to wake up the manager to check in. I knew things were off to a fantastic start when I was handed a space heater along with my room key. (As an east coaster, it was not that cold regardless). Upon entry to my room, I discovered a disaster - the bed was clearly only made up and not changed from the last use - all sorts of hair and dirt in the sheets. Additionally, everything was dusty. Investigated further - all sorts of food and associated mess found along, under, and behind the bed.

Departed immediately and paid much more for decent accommodations. Management indifferent to my problems. DO NOT recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlphaMaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FIRESIDE INN S, Manager at Fireside Inn, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
We apologize for the inconvenience with heater, but we are in process of installing air conditioners with heating system.

Our office hours are 8 am - 10 pm and we attend guests at night window after 10 pm.

If we would have received any such complaints your room would have been changed immediately, we are trying to give the best service to every guest and we make sure that our guests have a good stay at Fireside Inn.

Every bad review affects our business drastically and we haven't had one bad review after we took possession of this motel recently.

We also did try to find out the room number and date you stayed here, but we were unable to get any details of your stay.

- Fireside Inn Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood, CA, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

The location was right across from the Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk. The management was attentive to our needs. An outstanding feature is that this inn is animal friendly. The rooms were large. The managerment were in the process of many upgrades. My wife and I are looking forward to our next stay at the Fireside Inn...... With our pet.!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean T J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Best service and location I found for a low price (around 60 USD, somewhat negotiable) in Santa Cruz. Quiet rooms close to the beach (without views, but for views in Santa Cruz you have to pay a sack of gold). Good breakfast. At the reception I received great advice on tourist activities and shopping.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2014

The inn is near to everywhere, including beach broad walk, the wharf, the downtown, and restaurants of all kinds, all in minutes walking distance. The owners/managers are very warm, friendly, and helpful. The rooms are newly furnished, can possibly meet all your needs. As regards to the price, we would like to say: very attractive. By the way, we have already lived here for a week, and will here for another 2 weeks - you can feel at home.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meng L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.1 mi away
Coastview Inn
Coastview Inn
#24 of 54 in Santa Cruz
301 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
0.3 mi away
Seaway Inn
Seaway Inn
#10 of 54 in Santa Cruz
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ocean Pacific Lodge
Ocean Pacific Lodge
#22 of 54 in Santa Cruz
364 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beachview inn
Beachview inn
#27 of 54 in Santa Cruz
124 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aqua Breeze Inn
Aqua Breeze Inn
#38 of 54 in Santa Cruz
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fireside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Inn

Property: Fireside Inn
Address: 311 2nd St, Next to Boardwalk Bowl, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5494 (Formerly Paradise Inn By The Beach)
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Fireside Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fireside Inn is located less than a 5-minute walk from the Santa Cruz Boardwalk and Coconut Grove. Under new management January of 2014, the Fireside Inn has been completely renovated to give the guest the best experience in the area. Other attractions within 5 miles are Lighthouse Field State Beach, University of California Santa Cruz, and the DeLaveaga Golf Course. Downtown Santa Cruz is a 10 minute walk, with dining, museums and shopping surrounding the Fireside Inn.The Fireside Inn Santa Cruz features free Wi-Fi. Free parking is included. All guest rooms are comfortably furnished with standard amenities including free high speed internet access, microwave, mini fridge, hair dryer, free local calls, alarm clock radio, and cable TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Fireside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Inn By The Beach Hotel Santa Cruz
Paradise Hotel Santa Cruz
Paradise Motel Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing