We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting hotel”
Review of Fireside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fireside Inn
Ranked #40 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I took a trip to the Boardwalk with some friends. The location of this hotel is great, just a few minutes walk from the beach, but it was the most disgusting place i've ever stayed. The window in the bathroom was open when we got there and there were little flies everywhere. The window opened up to a wall that had graffiti all over it. The shower was dirty, disgusting, and stained. The waste basket was still full of trash that the previous people left, and the TV didn't even work at all. I would NEVER stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Jennalynn423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
There are newer reviews for Fireside Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014

This is place wright on the Beach across from the Boardwalk.

It's Great, we love the Pariot's next door but it's a little loud sometimes.

We were in and out of our room all day and night for reto night's at the Boardwalk, and dinner on the wharf.

Me and a friend road my motorcycle over from Berkeley and Sacramento. I booked 1 day, stayed 2 more and will now know where to stay when I am in Santa Cruz. Don't let the older motel vibe foul you, that's the charm of Santa Cruz. The Location, your their in the center of it all and can see it from your room.

Not, like the other place's.

The place was nice, Value for the area (GREAT), the size of the room was larger then most, and very comfortable and clean.

I Wanted to point out mostly the bed's; the mattresses, I was so comfortable. I sleep like a baby.

The Staff, was so friendly and helpful with our stay. We talk ever morning over coffee, and a nice Continental breakfast.

Free Parking; is the best. It is a little step on the hill, and tight but everybody works together to make it work. The property is watch by cameras 24/7 and the staff is good about watch over things.

There a fridge, microwave, Wifi, Flatscreen TV, fans, no A/C - not needed open a window or a door it the beach. Come on. You get what you pay for location, location, location. But, these wonderful people that work there made our stay and our trip wonderful. Thank you, to all the staff at Fireside Inn.

Room Tip: There is no A/C, none needed it the beach there is a heater and you may need it. Great sleeping weat...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donald R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Room #208, Two bed Suite (1 King & 1 Full in a very small separate room)

OVERALL: (Solid 2.5 of 5 motel)
We gave it the bump to 3 for its location only. Decent little 60's "Hole-in-the-wall" Motel that's only one block from the beach. Overall clean appearance. Not dirty feeling at all. Main complaint being the very slight musty and smokey smell. Rooms are non-smoking however there are ashtrays outside every room. No A/C means windows and doors are open and people are smoking outside your door. We could hear people talking on the balcony late into the night. Windows stayed closed to avoid smoke and noise.

POSITIVES:
1. Location-location-location! Note that some of the nicer places are only 1/2 mile from the beach
2. Room was clean and well maintained
3. Free WiFi internet was very fast... however it dropped out periodically
4. Friendly staff
5. Room included two fans to supplement the lack of A/C
6. Good ice maker available

NEGATIVES:
1. Price: Paid $119 with $10 military discount. Higher rated hotels, only 1/2 mile from beach, were $89-$109.
2. Smell: Very slight musty and smokey smell
3. Temp: Warm and mildly humid in room (with fans engaged) due to lack of A/C
4. Bedding: Thin linens slightly dated. Not to par with most $120 per night hotels
5: Towels : Need replacing as they were stained, thin, rough and were insufficient to completely dry your body with he single towel provided per person (2 total)
6. Bathroom/Shower:
- Sink did not drain properly
- Toilet barely flushed
- Shower head low and has no hand held extension. 5 minute "hour-glass" timer in shower to help you avoid running out of warm water
- Window covered in paint over-spray and is very loose fitting thus hard to close
- Transom from carpet to bathroom tile missing (carpet tack strip exposed)
7. Accessibility to Room: Pulling heavy luggage to room wash challenging as there is no elevator and you have to go both up and down stairs to get to most of the rooms on the second floor. We had to squeeze between cars with our luggage being careful not to scratch cars as there is no access to the main stair case.

Location is king and that is why it was sufficient for our needs.

Room Tip: - Avoid 2nd floor if you have heavy bags. - Check the temp of the room as it may be a bit warm in s...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jayson_and_Jessica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Stay in this hotel often and the location is perfect.
Nice small walk to just about what you need, and the rooms are always clean.
They jack up the prices on weekends though...............................

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Madigan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

When I booked over the phone, the person was really friendly. After booking a $ 265 room, I thought was a good one, since was the same as I was paying for the Disney resort, in Anaheim.
Such a mistake. Not ever air conditioned?
The bathroom window is open to the neighborhood to watch you?
Very very run down, loud, one chair in a suite, no patio, no porch, no view, parking for one small car ( I was driving my pick up) and no coffee or drinking water.

Seems the kind of motel we see in the movies, where bad guys hide.

The location is good, however, if the intentions is to be close to the Amusement Park.
The guy at the front desk tried to be helpful ( I guess trying to compensate the really poor deal)
He also told me that the breakfast is included with the room. I : Cool, where is that? Here, at this desk, we can arrange a couple of things. Decided to leave the place 5 AM.

Room Tip: Find a good room in a different hotel/motel.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank loliv2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

It was a nice spacious room. Loved the fact that it had a mini fridge and microwave and direct TV for the night. Beautiful views from our room. Super comfy and perfect or what we needed. Not badly priced and no deposit if your paying with a credit card.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank lauryn f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Bought 2 room suite - got 2 room garbage. Very run down, loud, cramped, one chair in a suite, no patio, no porch, no view, parking for one small car, no soap, no coffee, toilet paper 4 miles for 30 cents, rude help, it was very well located if you want to take a bunch of kids to the Boardwalk & have a hole to sleep in, this is it!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank antistatist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.1 mi away
Coastview Inn
Coastview Inn
#29 of 54 in Santa Cruz
308 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
0.3 mi away
Ocean Pacific Lodge
Ocean Pacific Lodge
#26 of 54 in Santa Cruz
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aqua Breeze Inn
Aqua Breeze Inn
#42 of 54 in Santa Cruz
94 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beachview inn
Beachview inn
#30 of 54 in Santa Cruz
127 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bay Front Inn
Bay Front Inn
#38 of 54 in Santa Cruz
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fireside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Inn

Address: 311 2nd St, Next to Boardwalk Bowl, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5494 (Formerly Paradise Inn By The Beach)
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range: £52 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Fireside Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fireside Inn is located less than a 5-minute walk from the Santa Cruz Boardwalk and Coconut Grove. Under new management January of 2014, the Fireside Inn has been completely renovated to give the guest the best experience in the area. Other attractions within 5 miles are Lighthouse Field State Beach, University of California Santa Cruz, and the DeLaveaga Golf Course. Downtown Santa Cruz is a 10 minute walk, with dining, museums and shopping surrounding the Fireside Inn.The Fireside Inn Santa Cruz features free Wi-Fi. Free parking is included. All guest rooms are comfortably furnished with standard amenities including free high speed internet access, microwave, mini fridge, hair dryer, free local calls, alarm clock radio, and cable TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Fireside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Inn By The Beach Hotel Santa Cruz
Paradise Hotel Santa Cruz
Paradise Motel Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing