We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ugly hotel room” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Gate Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ocean Gate Inn
Ranked #45 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Baja California, Mexico
1 review
“ugly hotel room”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

This place was terrible the room smelled, everything was old and run down. And for two hundred a night. I feel like I was ripped off, but under the circumstances we had no choice. We needed a room for our kids to sleep. I will never stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Abygail G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    8
    9
    8
    26
See reviews for
13
11
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
KBH S
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

Was there the 7th of Feb. 2014 and I wish I could forget that date. The room was smelling of old smoke. Found black hair at the toilet, everything was worn out, the light with motion Sensors had a life on it's own that we had to wake up during the night to turn it of. My wife wanted to leave during the night because of the smell. Normally we're not picky, but this was below every standard that we've tried. Do not waste your time nor money on this worn out hotel. 3 words : don't go there

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Benjamin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Santa Cruz hotels

Yuba City
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

I rented room 21 from 11/22 through 11/28/13 and was very satisfied! It was clean, had two queen beds and a slider to a private balcony. Black out curtains that kept it very dark in the room for sleeping! Flat screen mounted on the wall, but no alarm clock in the room. Set up a wake up call instead! No continental breakfast but there is covered parking and a working elevator! The property is kept clean, is walking distance to the beach, the boardwalk and the downtown area. The neighbourhood is decent, safe for walking in the evenings, and the early mornings and has an onsite management staff. No frills, but at $50 a night I was completely satisfied and even mildly surprised that it was as good as it was! The beds were firm/hard, but the manager told me that there are new mattresses on order with pillow tops!

Room Tip: 1st floor is parking area, 2nd and 3rd floors are rooms. Room 21 has a view of the back of the board...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robynabc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Level Contributor
273 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

We thought proximity to the boardwalk would mean proximity to the beach and charming amenities--wrong, wrong, wrong. Even at $60 per night, this hotel is no bargain. It is not only dated, but very poorly maintained. The bathroom fan made an ungodly noise. The sink didn't drain. The paint job was poor dirty in spots. The carpet was dirty. The room smelled of smoke even though the room was supposed to be non-smoking. We won't be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LOMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012 via mobile

This place was definitely not up kept to standards. Either they don't clean the room at all or just don't care enough to clean the whole room. It has great potential and was a spacious room with a nice deck but as said, thumbs down for management.
Checked for bed bugs and don't think there were any. Sheets at least seemed clean. Everything else was a horror show. Here's some things that come to mind:
 - Dirty floor. Found multiple peices of food wrappers, scraps, and who knows what else under the sink, closet, and smaller places. All areas that could easily be vacuumed but haven't!
 - Metal tissue holder rusted and old looking
 - While looking under the sink on the floor for scraps as stated above my arm rubbed against the bottom part of the sink. It was as sticky as honey or glue were my arm touched. I needed to thoroughly wash whatever it was off.
 - TV remote half worked.
 - Deck door hard to open. Seems broken.
I'm sure there was more but don't remember or haven't seen.
Overall this place is run down. It needs upgrading and REAL cleaning. Not worth the price at all.
I've stayed at places with a shared bathroom that looked much cleaner than this!
Only go if desperate but be prepared.
Also not sure if this would be a concern to anyone but the manager was saying how they were getting new carpets. But all these new carpets were being kept outside were parking is. If you get fresh new carpets wouldnt you want to keep them clean inside?!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IllA1Il
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsburg, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

First of all the location was great just a 5 minute walk to the boardwalk not to bad, service desk great, the problem was they gave us our rooms but they weren't even cleaned yet when we went to use the restrooms there was no running water which they forgot to tell us when we checked in when we came back a couple hours later are rooms were clean but our toilets were still not flushed the owner had to come up with a plunger to fix them. No air conditioning or heater we had little kids & they were cold at night. When we came to rest we opened the sliding door to get air & all you could hear was traffic so noisy we coulndt even sleep. If you don't care about the noise I guess the rest wasn't to bad. :;(

Room Tip: Search else where
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Esther C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whittier, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

Room was clean. Satellite TV. however you can not turn the volume up LOUD! Staff is helpful and courteous. It was Graduation weekend so VERY EXPENSIVE.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the Boardwalk and you could hear all the Traffic. Very noisy during the day and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cruiseralmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Boardwalk
0.2 mi away
Pacific Inn Santa Cruz
Pacific Inn Santa Cruz
#48 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Coastview Inn
Coastview Inn
#21 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ocean Pacific Lodge
Ocean Pacific Lodge
#22 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Solares
Hotel Solares
#40 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Gate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Gate Inn

Property: Ocean Gate Inn
Address: 111 Ocean St, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5115
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Ocean Gate Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ocean Gate Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Gate Hotel Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing