We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”
Review of Continental Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Continental Inn
Ranked #22 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Macae, RJ
1 review
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We stayed for a month. Good breakfast, clean rooms, and the Internet was ok. Staff guys were very kind anytime. It's worthy. Special weekly price.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diego J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    74
    34
    16
    22
See reviews for
57
59
15
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
stockton
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Well...from an avid Santa Cruz visitor, I do believe that this review is honest, and fair...truthful and sad all at the same time.

We stayed here about 15 years ago, and remember a quaint, cute place that was clean and convenient.

We checked into the Continental Inn, because of the weekend being the clam chowder fesitval, and my new found days off...we were able to head up to one of our favorite destinations...all of our favorite hotels were booked.

The check in:
The lady at the desk was nice...we checked the kids in on the side where you first pull in...the room was big, hard wood floors, and mildly clean (GROSS bathroom door, please repaint/touchup the disgusting bathroom doors in this hotel...you will see and read more about this later....)

As well...the nasty person to person bedspreads should be outlawed, I always take them off when they are on hotel beds.

We went to check into our room, on the other side of the same building, by the side fence...walked past MJ smokers and dealers (no joke in room 122)...into our "KING boutique room"....wow....um NO! Its smelled of cigarettes, and old painted furniture...we left and went right to the front desk.

We were moved to a room on the top floor, same side, and when we walked in...we found towels all over the floor and coming out of the refrigerator, so we called downstairs and was apologized to and told that the refrig. was being defrosted.

They came and removed towels.

The bathroom door in this room was also so disgusting, I do not know the substances on the door, however as a nurse, even this disgusted me to imagine what it could be...UH SICKENING!

The room decor, had potential I am sure at one time...the popcorn ceilings, the horrible texture of the walls, and the smell in the room was just wierd and gross...the hardwood floors and the pseudo granite was just ok in the bathroom.

In the morning, I go to get out of bed and step in water, there was water all over the floor...from where else, the refrigerator...that was supposedly just "defrosting".

All night, we heard every single person's voice who was walking along the street, and the showers in the morning sounded like they were IN our room..the walls were as thin as the toilet paper they gave you to well...you know.....

What a gross place...seriously I am so tired of being ripped off, by dirty sub par rooms in Santa Cruz....there is so much potential to just make people feel welcomed and at home away from home....I just do not get it....

Hard earned money spent to worry about filthy bathrooms and shady drug dealers... I mean seriously.

Here are some pics from the room and needless to say, we will never return again, not recommend and for sure share with you all the information so you can make informed choices when you chose to stay somewhere.

Santa Cruz is one of those places that just make your heart happy to be there, I am just sad that most of our trip was tainted by the in-consideration of a disgusting place offering nice pictures on the web that are just plain lies.

Room Tip: Just do not come here at all....until they paint and clean up this place. If you want value and do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissGoldenPoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Santa Cruz hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Emsworth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

We picked the hotel based on a recommendation in The Rough Guide. It was good value for money. The room, although small and dated, was very clean, included a fridge and microwave as well as coffee making facilities. Free parking and breakfast included. A bit of a walk from the town but not a bad location. Staff very friendly. Would recommend for a short stay...although Santa Cruz did not live up to expectations.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HampshireTraveller09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We searched all over Santa Cruz for an affordable room near the boardwalk on a weekday and after going next door (which smelled HORRIBLE) we decided to stay at Continental. The room was beautiful. Hardwood floors, flat screen, etc. Cable channels sucked but whatever. We had my 4yr old son with us and were putting him to bed when a BUM tried to WALK into our ROOM! He opened the door, looked in, said "Sorry" and walked away! By the time my hubby got to the door, he was gone. Come to find out, the door doesn't lock unless SLAMMED shut and we just made sure to lock the top lock too. It was noisy & people were walking by the room all night but it was cheap and clean. The breakfast bar was great and it didn't smell at all where we were. It did suck that the pool was across the street and approx. 8ft long by 5ft wide. That is a glorified hot tub as far as I am concerned! All in all, I liked it and will probably be back!

Room Tip: Walk in, weekday rate is $78 but with taxes $99
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BettyNBob215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Big Bear Lake
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Booked three days with these people online. The room was fine, but in a bit of a shaky area. The second day we were there, three police cars showed up at the hotel with an ambulance and about 6 cops went into the hotel. All three days, there were some pretty seedy characters hanging out in general area. So, the problem: THEY CHARGED OUR MASTERCARD THE FULL THREE DAYS BEFORE WE EVEN CHECKED IN. Not knowing this, the day we checked out, we told them we wanted the room put on our American Express instead of the Mastercard. They gladly did so, without ever telling us they had already billed the other card for three days. I was told by a Haley, at the hotel, they never bill the card until you check out, (oh really?) she then said, per her manager, who wouldn't talk to me, the fees would not be reversed for 7 days. I left a message for the manager, she never called me back. I called three times, quite upset and was told she was UNAVAILABLE TO TAKE CALLS! The receptionist had one excuse after another, talking nonstop and not letting me say anything. I was absolutely furious. They definitely have the rountine down very well.

I called Mastercard and was told they (Continental) had made no attempt whatsoever to wind down the double charge, but could have instantly taken care of it, had they chosen to. Mastercard actually had to reemburse our account themselves. They are also having their legal department investigate this transaction with Continental. I noticed no other complaints along these lines, but an opportunity to double charge probably hadn't come up in a while. Be very careful should you decide to stay at what I consider a very rude, scam operation.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2011

This hotel was not satisfactory in my opinion. The room has 2 queen beds and I was quoted $210 plus tax. First of all, it was given a AAA rating along with three diamonds...WHY??? As soon as we walked in it smelled like urine. The pull out mirror was broken in the bathroom, there was a hole in the wall behind the toilet, cracks in the tile near the bathtub. The bathroom is small and so is the room. Didn't use the air conditioner because the vent had a pile of dust in it. The room was dusty. Hardwood floors were scratched..EVERYWHERE! At 2:30 in the morning the occupants next door were loud and drunk..college students!! After I complained to management about the room they gave me a 10% discount..whatever!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fresno_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

The pictures on this site are very deceiving the room I stayed in looked nothing like the picture. The room had gross sticky carpet and bedspreads that have been there since 1982. When I asked Haily, the charmer at the front desk to be moved because of the noise, she so pleasantly exclaimed "that is what you get when you book a room on Ocean St." Check out the next day. This was the worst night I have ever spent in a hotel.

DO NOT STAY HERE!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CColy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 54 in Santa Cruz
485 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ocean Pacific Lodge
Ocean Pacific Lodge
#24 of 54 in Santa Cruz
373 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pacific Inn Santa Cruz
Pacific Inn Santa Cruz
#47 of 54 in Santa Cruz
159 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Santa Cruz
Comfort Inn Santa Cruz
#18 of 54 in Santa Cruz
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Continental Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continental Inn

Property: Continental Inn
Address: 414 Ocean St, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-4636
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Continental Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Continental Inn is an affordably elegant hotel in the heart of Santa Cruz, just minutes from the Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk and Municipal Wharf and just a short walk to the downtown area. Business and leisure travelers alike appreciate the amenities of our hotel. For comfort, convenience and quality service, the Continental Inn is your choice when visiting Santa Cruz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Continental Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel Santa Cruz
Continental Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing