We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value for your dollar”
Review of Continental Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Continental Inn
Ranked #25 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best value for your dollar”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

I am actually a Santa Cruz resident who travels often and when in town I practically live here. Upgrades and remodeling have make this 3 star hotel more like a 4 star. Flat screen TV's, security cameras, hardwood floors, very good wireless, very professional staff, clean rooms, great breakfast, new wooden blinds (very classy) and only a couple of blocks from downtown, Also, very close to the boardwalk. Now, I notice they are even putting recessed lighting in the rooms! Euro style rooms, new paint inside and out, lots of nice new pillows in the rooms---lots of effort and money going into this place. I prefer to stay in the section across the street from the office---bigger rooms and quieter. I get the feeling the new owners really care about this place and care about their guests. And , of course, Santa Cruz is paradise any time of the year.

Room Tip: Across from main hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank omkar2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    71
    34
    16
    22
See reviews for
54
56
15
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Healdsburg, California, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We have stayed here three times for weekend getaways in Santa Cruz. The rooms are clean, the service is great, and people are friendly. It's a great "bang for your buck" type of place - it's inexpensive, but the rooms are lovely, there's reliable wifi and they're great with dogs. We have had a great time each time we've been there. Also within walking distance to the Boardwalk/beach.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We decided to stay in Santa Cruz for a second night. We moved from a "three star hotel" to the Continental Inn. Minus the plush grounds at the "three star" hotel, everything at the Continental Inn met or exceeded the local "three star" hotel.

I read the TripAdvisor reviews and decided to take a chance on this hotel a midst the skepticism of my travelling companion; and I'm glad I did! Upon arrival I asked to view the rooms before purchasing. The staff was very accommodating. I selected a quiet room with two double beds towards the rear of the hotel. The beds and pillows were quite comfortable.

Everything in the room worked fine (plumbing heating, television, etc.). The room was clean and nicely decorated. The bathroom had granite counter tops and a granite shower with Moen faucets. To our surprise, the accommodations were top-notched! Even the snobby, skeptical travel companion was won over. LOL

The location was fine and very near to the Santa Cruz Wharf.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kai M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I stayed for a week at the Continental Inn, and it was so convenient to all the places I needed to go for my class, and for meals, and for scenery. The staff at the desk were so kind and good natured. My room had fridge, microwave, sitting room and very big bath space.
The only thing lacking was windows that open. I had air conditioning on, when the weather was lovely and cool at night, and I would rather have just opened the windows.
It was clean, and very quiet, considering it is on a large street.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kikibri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Beautiful inside and out! The rooms were clean and nicely decorated. The bathroom was one i would be very happy with in my own home and they have hardwood floors so no smells from previous dogs that stayed here! I would stay here again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

If you really desperately need to stay in Santa Cruz, Ca Please do more homework than what we did, actually we over-looked the reviews...SHAME ON US!!! The room is what it is; just a small room with an A/C barely working it gave out in the morning. Kind of scary the area is. We were told we had to go across the street to the main building for breakfast and to return our keys. As we were leaving in the morning we noticed a homeless man in one of the car ports...really!!! Thank God there were other people around, NEVER AGAIN!!!!

Room Tip: I hear from other's around the area The Paradox is newly renovated and better than Continental.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tena112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

i always comes back to this hotel, they do bump up the price tho in high season. so i try to go when its not haha. its walking distance to the boardwalk. Chinese restaurant across the street. the rooms are pretty small. i love the wood floor, nice decoration. bathroom is clean. bed is kinda hard for me. the breakfast is delicious ! free parking, free wi fi ! and their staff are nice. will be back for a day get away :)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Macqueli26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.7 mi away
Ocean Pacific Lodge
Ocean Pacific Lodge
#22 of 54 in Santa Cruz
362 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 54 in Santa Cruz
470 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pacific Inn Santa Cruz
Pacific Inn Santa Cruz
#50 of 54 in Santa Cruz
155 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Santa Cruz
Comfort Inn Santa Cruz
#17 of 54 in Santa Cruz
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Continental Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continental Inn

Property: Continental Inn
Address: 414 Ocean St, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-4636
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Continental Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Continental Inn is an affordably elegant hotel in the heart of Santa Cruz, just minutes from the Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk and Municipal Wharf and just a short walk to the downtown area. Business and leisure travelers alike appreciate the amenities of our hotel. For comfort, convenience and quality service, the Continental Inn is your choice when visiting Santa Cruz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Continental Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel Santa Cruz
Continental Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing