We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Hotel Option in Santa Cruz”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
Ranked #5 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Stayed here with my parents for one night - the night of the hotel opening party (but no one told us all guests were invited!). This is a new option in Santa Cruz. The hotel is located about a mile from the beach, so if you want to be on the water this is probably not the hotel for you. Finishing touches are still being made. That said, the room we stayed in was very clean and comfortable. I'd read other reviews that called this a more boutique option, but besides the wood accents and white color scheme I didn't really get too much of a boutique feel. The pool area was nice and there are plenty of lounge chairs and few "gazebo" type couch areas. Overall, a good addition to the Santa Cruz hotel scene. You can, however, stay for less closer to the water, it just won't be as nice.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lydia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (605)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

577 - 583 of 605 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2012

Hotel Paradox made me very happy. My guy and I stayed here for our two year anniversary, and the stay was very nice.

The overall stay was excellent. The staff was friendly and inviting. Our check in was quick and easy. They did have some construction going on but none of it interfered with our stay for our two year anniversary. Parking was close enough to make loading in and out very easy.

The room itself was so nice. The room was a huge plus because I used to work for a pest control place, so hotel rooms make me pretty paranoid. Everything was clean, and the idea of if being newly renovated/new in general was very appealing. The decorations were modern and gorgeous. The room was clean and actually smelled pretty good. The bed was very soft, the pillows were too and so were the towels. The bathrooms were clean and the shower was nice, water stay warm, but water pressure goes low in the morning, I think when a lot of people are using the shower too. The room was quiet, I wouldn't say totally sound proof but we didn't get any complaints and barely heard anything except when they were walking outside of the rooms, and only a little.

Overall, I was really impressed with this hotel, and thoroughly enjoyed the stay. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dzani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We've all stayed at hipster hotels - they can be a bit sterile and stark, despite their high-level design. Hats off to the designer of the new Paradox, who has managed to meld sleek style with the nature, using elements of trees to create a stunning environment.

The amazing front desk is a huge eucalyptus trunk turned on its side. In the restaurant, tree branches become modern art on the wall and graphics on the ceiling make you feel like you're eating outside, below shade trees.

In the rooms, weathered wood paneling covers the wall behind the beds, which have a velvety headboard that reminded me of moss. A lamp is made of driftwood and a large graphic of an ancient redwood was in my room (#114).

The swanky pool area flows from the restaurant/bar area and includes a large hot tub and fire pit. It's also graced by a huge old redwood tree.

In the main building, white ceramic squirrels frolic on one wall and ceiling in a hallway - a fun touch that keeps with the theme.

They were still working out a few kinks when I was there (the elevator was being repaired, staff getting in the groove), but every staffer I encountered was universally kind, friendly and helpful.

There is a main building, with five stories of rooms in a separate building. Rooms are accessed via a balcony that runs around the outside of each floor.

Santa Cruz is lined with cheesy motels - but if you want to stay someplace really different, I'd go for the Paradox.

Bonus: some of the comfiest robes ever!

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have an outdoor seating area - but choose pool-facing rooms or you'll be look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelWriterSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

The Paradox Hotel had its "grand opening" this weekend. It is quite a handsome remodeling ( more like complete rebuilding ) of a former dormitory in downtown. If you weren't aware of the history you would not realize it wasn't just built. It has been extremely well done. The rooms are fresh and comfortable and handsome. The public spaces are nicely decorated. The new pool and Jacuzzi are very nice with lots of chaises and even cabanas. There is an up-to-date workout center. We were particularly impressed with the quality of the food and service in the ultra modern dining room and bar overlooking the pool. The staff is young, enthusiastic and quite well trained. This is a very welcome addition to Santa Cruz at a very reasonable price.

Room Tip: The higher the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rossbacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

This was such an amazing find. We booked rooms for three families for a mini getaway. The hotel was far beyond our expectations from the moment we drove up. The staff were all nice and accommodating. We happened to be staying the same night as the grand opening party. We were all invited to attend for a night to remember. Incredible food, wine tasting, fire dancers, stilt walkers, photo booth, band, dj and on and on....All at no charge! The design is so unique and well done. The details put into this to make it such a special hotel are throughout the property. The restaurant was incredible and a perfect match with the hotel. Such a great vibe at this hotel we can't wait to book our next trip and tell all our friends!! Special thanks to Guy who went far beyond to make us feel special. Thank you so much Hotel Paradox and we wish you the best success! Great job!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alicia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We stayed at this sleek and modern hotel (reminded us of staying in Norway) at the end of a 3 week trip and it was excellent.
the restaurant was very good and the rooms spacious -also you can swim in the pool before breakfast or relax in the hot tub by firelight in the evening.
the staff were warm and welcoming ----and some have very interesting hobbies.
i would definately return if in Santa Cruz again

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony E, General Manager at Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2012

Dear UK Guest,

We are so pleased that you found us during your vacation in the United States and that you love Santa Cruz and the Hotel Paradox as much as we do. The unique and contemporary design of our property is delighting our visitors and local community alike, everyone wants to come and see us. Your comments regarding our amenities and staff are most appreciated and will be shared with all. Please contact me directly if you need anything in the future.
Warm regards,
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

After leaving Napa we were looking for a place to stay in the Santa Cruz/Monterey area and happened to stumble on this hotel. Had checked a few websites and after my wife noticed it was "newly renovated" we decided to give it a shot. We were greeted by a pleasant young man named Patrick and he answered many of our questions about the hotel and Santa Cruz as well as showing us to our room. The lobby has a huge Eucyliptus tree for a front desk and lots of tree sections being used as tables and other accessories throughout the hotel.The hotel is still in the process of being renovated and work was ongoing while we were there. There is a new modern restaurant and bar area. The pool area with cabanas, hot tub and firplace were all very warm and inviting. The pool was crystal clear and the pool area was spotless. The room was a bit small but the bed was comfortable and the bathroom was immaculate and new. There was a mini fridge and wifi in the room. Close to the downtown shopping district and there is a park next to the hotel which gives some privacy to the hotel. Some minor things need to be worked out (elevators were not working well, couldn't locate ice machine and seemd to be a bit shorthanded with staff). Overall a great place to stay and would stay there again in a minute.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
1.1 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,936 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Santa Cruz
Hyatt Place Santa Cruz
#4 of 54 in Santa Cruz
103 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sea & Sand Inn
Sea & Sand Inn
#1 of 54 in Santa Cruz
561 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection

Address: 611 Ocean Street, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-4005 (Formerly Hotel Paradox)
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range: £127 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO HOTEL PARADOX A Modern Alternative to the Traditional Santa Cruz Hotel Look beyond your first instict of Santa Cruz and you will find things hidden in plain sight: Rugged mountains, majestic redwoods, vibrant communities, and much more. This is where Hotel Paradox lives. It strikes the perfect balance between nature and urban design without excessive fuss. A Paradox is meant for discussion and questioning the obvious. This Autograph Collection Hotel will challenge you with bold contradictions. The engaging staff invite you to enjoy an experience where the ambiance is contemporary, inviting and a little bit mysterious. Hotel Paradox...Expect the Unexpected. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing