We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Center City Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
Ranked #5 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Center City Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

Great location for walking to the downtown shopping area. Stylish and modern hotel with high standard of service. Comfortable, well appointed rooms are unique and spaceous. Bar/pool/hot tub area is great for hanging out day and night.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the pool to get the sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebbieRJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    170
    69
    31
    6
See reviews for
144
191
20
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013 via mobile

I stayed here on business just recently. I want to say this hotel is great. Excellent service! Amazing staff. Very clean, and modern. I really like the dining area, my business associates and I enjoyed the food, and drinks along with the atmosphere. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Very clean and comfortable... Just love this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

I am a snob about hotels, having been brought up in the business world with a very generous expense account. Sadly, I am now an academic, with a very small budget for travel. So I have the taste for the finer things without the cash that usually it costs to attain the 5 star hotels I was weaned on.

Enter the Paradox - what a fitting name! Totally chic from the moment you step in with a stylish lobby, wonderful dining - ask for Alex, he is great!- fab staff- I am still raving about Esteffani and Cruz- and extremely comfy and luxurious rooms. I have been coming as a visitor for work to Santa Cruz for over 20 years, and have often bemoaned the fact that there were not any nice, conveniently located hotels. The Paradox is what I have been waiting for. I will return again, and am already counting down until my next trip.

Room Tip: Very reasonable upgrade costs
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy, California, United States
Level Contributor
84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Paradox from a Living Social, and were very pleased. The front lobby is really unique with a large log as the check in desk, and book cases floor to ceiling with books covered in white. Beautiful furniture arranged in welcoming arrangement.
We were greeted by two front desk employees, both very friendly and welcoming. We brought our own bikes, and they told us they would keep them locked up for us while not riding, that was helpful. The rooms were beautiful and true to the surrounding area, with a log table, barnwood headboards, and beautiful bathrooms, and side room with closet space & a safe. There is also a mini fridge in the room behind a dresser door. Our room overlooked the pool & patio area, with cabanas and logs for seating, And, space heaters, and a fire pit. We went down to sit under cabana, even though it was cloudy out, and the pool/bar attendants came to us right away and turned on the heater, and took orders for drinks & appetizers. Both girls, Alex & Jo, were extremely friendly and visited with us off & on for our stay out by the pool, making sure we had everything needed to be comfortable. They also lit the firepit while we were sitting there, which was so nice, it was even before dinner. It was a nice touch.
This hotel was very nicely decorated, very clean, and great staff, we will be back!

Room Tip: ask for room overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013

Santa Cruz needs hotels that can serve business travelers. Paradox fits that bill nicely. The decor is attractive. The log that serves as a front desk is intriguing. Rooms are decent size, although closet and bathroom space are New York City small. The restaurant is very good. The food is fresh and creatively prepared. I particularly enjoyed the garden veggie eggs Benedict. Meeting space is good, as is the pool area. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2013

We stayed here on a TravelZoo deal and ate dinner and breakfast. The remodel is entertaining; the lobby has shelves of random books covered in white paper, fuzzy portraits and other odd details. In the rooms and hallways their are spaces between the veneers, fixtures that are already in need of repair ....this isn't a place for the individual who expects perfection. This is an especially nice motel masquerading as a hotel. You here people walking by your room at all hours. This location is not for those on foot. The best view is of the pool area, which is attractive. The modern vibe does not carry over to the restaurant staff, who seemed genuine and were (those that we talked to) friendly locals. Room had a comfortable bed, robes, fridge, flat screen t.v., hair dryer, safe, but no iron. There is a pod coffee maker in the room, but only dried creamer. When my husband went down and asked for milk, they sent up a little pitcher of milk from the restaurant for my coffee. We would have liked more pods, but didn't request more (there were two coffees, one decaf, one black tea). Perhaps they would have been supplied as well. Breakfast and dinner were okay. This is not a foodie destination, but the food is good. The hotel is convenient (if you're traveling by car) for visiting UCSC. You can book a single night on the weekend in advance, which is not true of most of the beachfront hotels.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wishIwerent_here
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

I was so surprised! I walked in behind a couple who were obviously bike touring and they said, "Can you believe this place is in Santa Cruz?" They were right.
I make frequent trips to this area and have felt the hotel options in the Santa Cruz area were pretty limited-not much beyond your typical no frills, budget chain places.
But the Hotel Paradox was beyond my expectations. Most people would have to go to San Francisco or Monterey/Carmel for a comparable location, and the price was very reasonable.
The room was good sized, the bathroom very modern and comfortable. I was in a corner room near the elevator and it was very quiet.
The pool area is beautiful and on a sunny day that had a very cool breeze-the area was sheltered from the wind and quite warm! In fact there were folks sun-bathing by the pool.
They do not have a spa, but they hooked me up with a massage and facial at a spa down the street which was first rate.
Everyone was very helpful and welcoming. Definitely coming back!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peggysu424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
1.1 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#4 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,272 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sea & Sand Inn
Sea & Sand Inn
#1 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS All Suites Inn
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
2.4 mi away
Chaminade Resort & Spa
Chaminade Resort & Spa
#11 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection

Property: Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
Address: 611 Ocean Street, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-4005 (Formerly Hotel Paradox)
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Paradox is the newest boutique Hotel in Santa Cruz. The hotel has been fully rebuilt by designer David Oldroyd of Orlando Diaz-Azcuy Design Associates of San Francisco. The design elements replicate the feeling of being in a Redwood forest to bring the outdoors indoors. Enjoy the feeling of the forest in our specially designed guest rooms and suites. Visit the Hotel Paradox Pool Deck complete with private, rentable Cabanas, chaise loungers, tables for poolside dining and outdoor/indoor bar area. Hungry for more? Dine with us in Solaire, a fresh farm-to-table organic produced and sourced dining experience headed up by Chef Ross McKee. Solaire serves Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner with a wine and beer bar area. All guest rooms feature the outdoor elements to enhance the feeling of the outdoors, yet offer all the amenities you seek to ensure a completely fresh, sunny Santa Cruz experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing