We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing welcoming in the front desk area.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
Ranked #4 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2013

No warm colors or decor to make me feel cozy, just a fallen tree to serve as a barrier between customer and clerk. I gather that the clerk had a flat surface somewhere on her side but mine did not. Nothing functional about this huge tree trunk lying in the room except to conceal her work area I suppose. The pool and jacuzzi were nice except I saw that some folks in the area were non-residents. Either that or they always jump in their cars with wet swimsuits on. Room had a gorgeous glass shower along with a very loud toilet flush. That may be a Paradox, I'm not sure. The two Queen Bed room was not really big enough for three as I had hoped it would be. It certainly appeared to be in a nice area and the building next door has something to do with the police dept.

Room Tip: only one chair in the room and if three of you get the Queen beds, you'll be falling all over ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tippitendren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (585)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

460 - 466 of 585 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

At more than 400 a night, my king suite was not good. The living area was freezing and the bedroom sweltering. And i was shocked by the view of the homeless sleeping in the park behind the hotel. It did not make me comfortable. Restaurant and the food were both great ... Best part of the place .... Just a very dressed up old motel at an extra expensive place.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BasaltDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea M, General Manager at Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Dear BasaltDuo,

Thank you for your review of Hotel Paradox in Santa Cruz. My apologies that you felt the room was not worth what you paid for it. Rates do fluctuate during the week and weekend based on demand in the area. You should have a consistent temperature in the room itself and this needs to be addressed as the HVAC should work properly. I'd love to catch up with you personally to see what you think we could do to add value into the Suites that would make it worth what you paid. Also, I'd love to invite you back for a complimentary stay if you would let me have some time with you about what we can do to improve it from your point of view? I am certainly concerned about creating a great guest experience and we want to be able to earn your future business as we try and build up loyalty with our guests in the Hotel. Please let me know if you would take me up on the offer? Please feel free to reach me at my contact information below.

Thank you!
Andrea Murray, General Manager
andrea.murray@thehotelparadox.com
831.600.4501

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

First let me start off by saying I got the government rate of $135 a night for the King Suite.

Overall the Hotel was a good stay. There were a few things I would have expected though that I have gotten in other hotels that this one seems to be missing on.

For the goods...the decor was nice as well as the beds and sheets. The Hotel was very clean and the pool area was amazing. All the staff members I ran into were extremely helpful, but some were more professional then others. The front desk staff and bell hop were more then willing to help out and take care of any requests. I never used the room service or restaurant so I can not comment on those aspects.

For the not so goods...The building is not a hotel as advertised, but an upgraded motel. There was no iron or ironing board in the room, nor was there a microwave (however with all my travel this seems to be hit or miss). The area that the Hotel was situated in was in a decent (at best) part of town during the daylight hours, but a place I would not want to get caught out at night time. One member of the staff, while being very nice, also gave the perception of being very unprofessional. While at the pool the lifeguard seemed to have quite a few of what seemed to be college buddies at the pool and that's where he spent most of his attention. Also, ice buckets were provided in rooms however there were no Ice machines on the first floor. It also lacked vending machines to by a soft drink, but I think this is so you had to go to their bar and pay $2.30 for a 10oz (est.) soft drink.

Overall, this was an average hotel with nothing special. There was nothing outstanding but it provided a good nights rest after long days for me and my family. At the rate of $135 it provided what I expected. As long as the rate didn't go up to much we would return to this place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mtborer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea M, General Manager at Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Dear Mtborer,

First off, thank you for your honest feedback and review of Hotel Paradox. We are so happy that there were aspects of the stay that were a win for you, the cleanliness, the pool area, the beds and the Front Desk staff. I am sorry to hear the experience went down for you in terms of the professionalism of the wait staff on the deck area. We would never want you to have a negative viewpoint of our staff or give the impression that it would be acceptable to have their buddies just hanging out as I can tell you, that is definitely not the way we would want that to happen. As far as the ice machines go, we do have them on the 2nd and the 5th floor, but if you want us to run and get ice for you, the team is more than happy to fetch it for you. Just call us, we will bring it right up. We did at one point consider vending machines, but we don't think that is something we will add at this time. We do thank you for your thoughts and we can review it again. I would be more than happy to assist you with a future stay or booking to ensure all is perfect for you and to assure you that we have taken note of the areas you showed concern over. We are still in our first year, and we want to make a great experience for every guest. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

Thank you!
Andrea Murray, General Manager
andrea.murray@thehotelparadox.com
831.600.4501

Many thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Very nice hotel in a good location if you don't mind driving very short distances to downtown or the beach. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. Bathroom was very nicely done. The best part however, was the pool area. The pool was large enough for the kids to have fun and not disturb others in the pool. Nice lounge chairs and outside area. The hot tub was large and the firepit was so nice to sit by at night. Bar service at the pool was great as well. We have definitely found our new hotel to stay at when spending the night in Santa Cruz! The staff was wonderful from check-in to poolside to drinks at night. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: We stayed on the pool side near the back which the front desk clerk recommended. It was quiet and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank work4vacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

For a business trip this hotel was nice. The beds are confortable and the internet works well. The natural feel of the rooms is nice, they are small but well equiped. I do feel the price is excessive, but if you want a nice clean room in a decent area, this hotel will do.
Do be careful of the park behind the hotel, it has had some recent crime.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AnilemA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea M, General Manager at Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2013

Dear AnilemA,

Thank you for your recent stay with the Hotel Paradox! We appreciate the feedback and are glad to hear you liked the room. For our best values, always book on our direct website at www.thehotelparadox.com. We also rate match if you find a rate lower somewhere else, call us and we will verify it and will happily match it for you! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Many Thanks!
Andrea Murray, General Manager
831.600.4501

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Nice and clean, did exactly what we wanted.
Slightly overpriced but rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. Quite modern looking inside. Plenty of parking spaces.

The kids enjoyed the pool and hot tub

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank P G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Nice contemporary design. Friendly welcome by staff upon arrival. Easy parking close to the rooms which are clean with great furniture and decoration. Bed and sheets are superb. One of the best sheets I've ever slept in. Both pool and hottub are excellent with enough poolchairs to relax. Breakfast is excellent but is not included in the room price. For what you pay per night a basic continental breakfast should be included.

However, besides all the fancy and style there are some things that can be improved. Our room was next to the elevator which made noise everytime it was used. Room very small with almost no place to put suitcases. Happy hour was only on very small selection of drinks, not on the cocktails. Food way overprized. Offered quality not good enough for the high price they charge.

If you make a stopover in Santa Cruz this hotel is a welcome break from hours of driving and a good place to relax.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bart H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
1.1 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,861 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
1.1 mi away
Sea & Sand Inn
Sea & Sand Inn
#1 of 54 in Santa Cruz
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Santa Cruz
Hyatt Place Santa Cruz
#10 of 54 in Santa Cruz
68 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 54 in Santa Cruz
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection

Address: 611 Ocean Street, Santa Cruz, CA 95060 (Formerly Hotel Paradox)
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range: £125 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Paradox is a boutique hotel in Santa Cruz, California that has been fully rebuilt by designer David Oldroyd of Orlando Diaz-Azcuy Design Associates of San Francisco. The design elements replicate the feeling of being in a Redwood forest to bring the outdoors indoors. Enjoy the feeling of the forest in our specially designed guest rooms and suites. Visit the Hotel Paradox Pool Deck complete with private, rentable Cabanas, chaise loungers, tables for poolside dining and outdoor/indoor bar area. Hungry for more? Dine with us in Solaire, a fresh farm-to-table organic produced and sourced dining experience headed up by Chef Ross McKee. Solaire serves Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner with a wine and beer bar area. All guest rooms feature the outdoor elements to enhance the feeling of the outdoors, yet offer all the amenities you seek to ensure a completely fresh, sunny Santa Cruz experience near the Santa Cruz Boardwalk and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing