We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny rooms, loud!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
Ranked #4 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 February 2014

The only reason I gave it 2 stars is because the bed was very comfortable! Otherwise, the room is extremely small (web pics are misleading!)...and very loud! I felt like I was in a college dorm room all night...didn't get a very good nights sleep. The room service was terrible...except the soup and the guy who delivered. I appreciate that they tried to cover up an old motel with a modern look, but it just didn't work for us. Service was ok....half the crew was accommodating then other half snotty. We will not return.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NapaMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (588)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

423 - 429 of 588 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2014

There are no ocean views here but the location is perfect for zipping downtown, to the Boardwalk, east or west cliff or down to the Capitola, Aptos area. The ambiance they've created with a very hip and 'woodsy' feel in the hotel lobby, restaurant and pool makes you forget about not being within ear shot of the waves. The rooms continue the 'woodsy' theme and are fairly spacious with all the needed amenities. The ground floor rooms have an outside sitting area that's a nice touch. They have a great restaurant and bar with an interesting and varied menu of food and drinks. The room rates were really reasonable and we found that booking directly through the website was the best way to go. I would definitely stay here again and highly recommend this hotel and location.

Room Tip: If you choose a ground floor room on a weekend you might want to stay away from the pool and restaur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smox62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

Natural material aesthetic with modern style. The room was modern, quite clean, and visually pleasing. The bed was on the soft side as were the pillows, but comfortable nonetheless. The room was small but expected. We stayed here (on the first floor) during some of the first rains of the winter which caused constant dripping through the night. Also, a machine turned on (or that was what it sounded like) a couple times through the night as well. Depending on the price, I would stay here again, but would get a room on a higher floor.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank H_ashley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Great stay. Loved the modern style of the room. Comfortable, clean.. Would actually like my actual room to look like this. (: were only here for a night so didnt experience much, however service received was professional and friendly. Was running a bit late and hoped for an extra 30 minutes, called the front desk and the nice gentleman ended up giving an extra hr. (: overall, would definitely come back if ever in town again. Highly recommend for couples.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank sylviav730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea M, General Manager at Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Slyviav730,

Thank you so very much for the great review and your recent stay! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and our team always does their best to accomodate requests from all guests whenever possible. I am so glad you felt the service was professional and friendly. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Paradox, we hope you will have more time to relax a little longer.

Many thanks!
Andrea Murray, General Manager
831.600.4501
andrea.murray@thehotelparadox.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We arrived at Hotel Paradox early afternoon, extremely jet-lagged after a long flight from the UK. Couldn't have asked for a more swifter check-in as we were dying to shower and relax.

The bedroom and shower room were modern and clean. The bed itself was soooooo comfortable. We didn't eat at the onsite restaurant but the menu looked good. Our room overlooked the pool and the hot tub area near the restaurant which looked quite busy thorough-out the day and evening (I think you have to pay to access). The room must have been sufficiently noise-proofed as we weren't disturbed by the noise from the restaurant area at all.

We only stayed one night, but the staff were extremely accommodating with out late check-out as we needed some extra rest time. The staff were really helpful and friendly in general.

The hotel itself is about a 15 - 20 minute walk to the main shopping area and to the beach. If you bring a car, the parking is free and we had no problems with finding a space.

I would definitely stay at Hotel Paradox again if we were to return to Santa Cruz.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank L K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea M, General Manager at Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear L K,

Thank you kindly for the very nice review of the Hotel Paradox. We are so happy that you chose our hotel as home away from home. The beds are brand new and a great bed for a night of rest. For Hotel guests, there is not a charge to use the pool, the pool is available for Hotel guests. We do rent out Cabana's and charge outside guests for use of the Hotel pool at times. So glad the team accomodated you with a late check out to give you some extra time. We normally charge for parking in the lot just as an FYI. We may have missed you, but we always have available specials that include parking-check our hotel booking site for details on packages.

We are so glad you came and stayed with Hotel Paradox, we look forward to seeing you again in the future. Thank you again for the kind review.

Thank you!!
Andrea Murray, General Manager
831.600.4501
andrea.murray@thehotelparadox.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

The Hotel is very cute and surprising inside. Loved all the unique touches. The staff were all friendly and helpful and the manager always followed up on even the slightest issues. Thank you for an amazing weekend away.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snagskitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea M, General Manager at Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Snagskitty,

Thanks for the post and review! We appreciate your feedback in relation to your stay and we are so happy to hear it was a great stay. I will be sure to praise the team for their responsiveness to your requests, we aim to please! We want to offer the best service in the area, we wish to exceed your expectations and wish to ensure a fantastic experience for each guest. Please come back and see us again soon!

Best,
Andrea Murray, General Manager
831.600.4501
andrea.murray@thehotelparadox.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

After a month of heavy travel, this was my last stop before going home, and left me with a wonderful memory after a very bad nite up in San Francisco. Let's start with Free Parking !! and move on to wonderful friendly staff and welcome on arrival and departure thank you both. Great renovated property, love the woodwork and the sea theme. The room was fab with a great and comfy bed and theme. Best bath area i have seen in a long long time with a walk in closet and very comfortable robes. The stone work shower was great. There is nothing i can say bad about this place other than i wish i could of stayed longer. Thank you for leaving me with a wonderful memory and can't wait to return.

Room Tip: always the top floor at any hotel ... this one is no exception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank northernk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea M, General Manager at Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Northern K,

WOW!!! I am so happy to hear about your Hotel Paradox experience, and I love all the pics you posted for us too! We really appreciate your kindness and taking the time to review us. You can always stay longer :)!! We love it when travelers change their itinerary to stay with us a bit longer-it happens from time to time. We look forward to welcoming you back, please contact me so I can ensure your next stay is just as fab and so we can get you that high floor you like.

Many thanks,
Andrea Murray, General Manager
831.600.4501
andrea.murray@thehotelparadox.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
1.1 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,875 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Santa Cruz
Hyatt Place Santa Cruz
#9 of 54 in Santa Cruz
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sea & Sand Inn
Sea & Sand Inn
#1 of 54 in Santa Cruz
519 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
2.4 mi away
Chaminade Resort & Spa
Chaminade Resort & Spa
#15 of 54 in Santa Cruz
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection

Address: 611 Ocean Street, Santa Cruz, CA 95060 (Formerly Hotel Paradox)
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range: £120 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO HOTEL PARADOX A Modern Alternative to the Traditional Santa Cruz Hotel Look beyond your first instict of Santa Cruz and you will find things hidden in plain sight: Rugged mountains, majestic redwoods, vibrant communities, and much more. This is where Hotel Paradox lives. It strikes the perfect balance between nature and urban design without excessive fuss. A Paradox is meant for discussion and questioning the obvious. This Autograph Collection Hotel will challenge you with bold contradictions. The engaging staff invite you to enjoy an experience where the ambiance is contemporary, inviting and a little bit mysterious. Hotel Paradox...Expect the Unexpected. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing