We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicely remodeled”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
Ranked #4 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I stayed here for two nights. It was about 1 to 1 1/2 miles away from the Santa Cruz boardwalk depending on which way you walked.If you want to be closer to the beach I would keep looking. The remodel was nice. The rooms were very comfortable. I loved the shower. It had a pebble lined floor. the hotel grounds were quite on the nights I stayed. the hotel had a nice pool and spa. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank AliciaBar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (584)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

403 - 409 of 584 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

Good place to stay, the whole place feels comfortable and relaxing. From the lobby library of plain covered books (don't judge a book by the cover?) to the stylish boutique rooms. Bright, clean, friendly. Good pool are with hot-tub and fire-pit for when the evenings are not quite California enough.
Local friends say it has been completely gutted and remodelled - and it shows. Try it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ed321tricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

My 7 year old daughter and I stayed at this hotel. From the minute we walked into the hotel, we were greeted and treated great. We were given a free upgrade of our room. Our room over looked the pool and spa area. We found the room to be very inviting and comfortable. Parking was great and easy. Food was good. Only 10 minute drive to the broad walk. The pool was warm and the large spa was hot! We will stay here again!!

Room Tip: Ask for a upper pool view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scm539
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Paradox felt very relaxing as soon as we walked thru the door. The room was comfortable, clean and quiet. Nice and quiet even though we were directly adjacent to pool area. Would definitely stay again great location, easy access to all of Santa Cruz and main roads to visit other areas.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank James Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We were so delighted to stay at a hotel named the Paradox that we called ourselves, as guests, the oxymorons. Our high spirits were augmented by the amazingly welcoming and helpful staff, the clean design and cleanliness of the room, and the perfect location, a ten minute walk to the shops on Pacific or to the beach. We also enjoyed the beautiful pool and hot tub.

Room Tip: The rooms on the ground floor facing the pool have little patios, but on the other side they face th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

She was so friendly and helpful. Got my son hot chocolate at midnight to help celebrate his birthday. The hotel is beautiful and green. I'm so grateful The Dream Inn where I normally stay was booked so I could enjoy this amazing hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhiannon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Stayed here to visit my son at UCSC based on a review by another parent. It IS very nice, the rooms are modern and the pool/hot tub area are outstanding during the day and night. Gorgeous fire pit adds to the ambience. Restaurant was very good for breakfast, reasonable price for a BIG continental bkfast.

Room Tip: Recommend staying on the 1st floor, we stayed in 103 which is a quiet corner of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
1.1 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,857 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
1.1 mi away
Sea & Sand Inn
Sea & Sand Inn
#1 of 54 in Santa Cruz
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Santa Cruz
Hyatt Place Santa Cruz
#10 of 54 in Santa Cruz
68 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 54 in Santa Cruz
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection

Address: 611 Ocean Street, Santa Cruz, CA 95060 (Formerly Hotel Paradox)
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range: £125 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Paradox is a boutique hotel in Santa Cruz, California that has been fully rebuilt by designer David Oldroyd of Orlando Diaz-Azcuy Design Associates of San Francisco. The design elements replicate the feeling of being in a Redwood forest to bring the outdoors indoors. Enjoy the feeling of the forest in our specially designed guest rooms and suites. Visit the Hotel Paradox Pool Deck complete with private, rentable Cabanas, chaise loungers, tables for poolside dining and outdoor/indoor bar area. Hungry for more? Dine with us in Solaire, a fresh farm-to-table organic produced and sourced dining experience headed up by Chef Ross McKee. Solaire serves Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner with a wine and beer bar area. All guest rooms feature the outdoor elements to enhance the feeling of the outdoors, yet offer all the amenities you seek to ensure a completely fresh, sunny Santa Cruz experience near the Santa Cruz Boardwalk and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Marriott, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing