We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Beach Street Inn and Suites
Ranked #3 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Me and three friends were on a road trip from NY to SF, and this was one of our last stops, and ultimately one of our favourite stops. Much thanks to this place. When we arrived they didn't really have any vacancies, but somehow they arranged for us to stay in the appartment above the reseption. It was usually way more expensive than out budget would allow, but we got a great discount. Great view of the boardwalk and pier from the balcony.
Also, you can rent bikes in the reseption, which was great for getting around.

Room Tip: Apartment above reseption is great. Otherwise perhaps try not to get a room by the pool - no view.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank contore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (618)
There are newer reviews for Beach Street Inn and Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

286 - 292 of 618 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

I used to live in SC and like to visit often. We used to stay at the Dream Inn. but when it was booked we tried staying here. We were truly impressed. Great location to all things SC. Once we park on Friday we usually don't have to drive the whole wknd. Can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the ocean.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank finallyavacation29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This property has apparently been undergoing a complete renovation, building by building, for the past couple of years, and I'm sure it's a hundred times better than its predecessor. My husband and I rented one of their Ocean View Sundeck suites with a good sized, sunny deck overlooking the rooms one level below us, and the beach beyond. The suite was small and pleasing, but modestly decorated and included a full, tiny kitchen within the sitting area.The website indicates that the suite can sleep 6, but I would definitely not recommend more than two adults as the two sofa sleepers are in a very small room which would be overwhelmed by even two more adults. It would be suitable for a family of 4, with two younger children however.

I think the property owners are going for "luxurious" accommodations, but I would not put them in that category. The king bed was comfortable but the pillows were not and when I asked, there were no alternates available. The in-room coffee was just standard pre-packaged, there was no tea available, and bathroom amenities were not name brand. There was no desk of any type for a work/computer area and in fact, the wi-fi was very temperamental, though the staff very kindly offered to work on it (to no avail however). We were not able to lock the french doors leading out to the deck, and were told that they were "tricky." On the more positive side, the view from our room out to the ocean was excellent, the staff friendly and accommodating, the grounds kept clean and tidy, parking very convenient right outside the rooms, nice comfortable deck furniture, and a great little sandwich/ice cream shop (The Picnic Basket) at the bottom of the stairway leading down to the street.

If you are familiar with the Dream Inn just across and up the street, this property is not exactly on that level but the room prices are pretty much identical (at least at the time we stayed there), so we were expecting a bit more in the way of upscale amenities. But this property is very charming with more of a beach-town atmosphere, and we really enjoyed being able to cook in and enjoy the outdoor deck and seating area. We would definitely consider returning, now knowing what to expect.

Room Tip: The suites on the third level have the best decks, with the parking and pool on the same level as we...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patcee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

My teenage daughter and I stayed here while on a coastal drive from San Francisco. We had never been to Santa Cruz before so decided to stop overnight for the boardwalk. The motel is conveniently located to the boardwalk, and right across from the pier. We had a patio with great views of all the activity. We had two queen beds with a nice kitchen, and remodeled bathroom. Management was friendly and helpful with suggestions for dinner.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank charleslouky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Our stay at the Beach Street Inn and Suites was wonderful! The room was spacious and open. the view was amazing!!!! The amenities were great too! The only few things that i can say were bad was that the cleanliness of the bathroom was a bit bad, and the dust was a bit much. But we were able to look past that and had a wonderful stay. We will definitely be back!!!!

Room Tip: the third terrace is amazing and i recommend Suite 305!!!!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ttpangelina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We really enjoyed or stay here. We were in one of the ocean view rooms. The room was adorable with its beach theme. The beds were super comfortable. The sink/microwave area was a very nice bonus. But the highlight had to be the shower. Loved the shower! The room also had hardwood floors rather than carpet which I liked. We enjoyed sitting on the chairs in front of our room and just looking out at the wharf/ocean. We could hear the waves crashing and the seals barking from inside our room which was cool. The man who checked us in and out at the front desk was super nice and friendly and told us all the great spots to go to in Santa Cruz. He even let us leave our car parked there for a couple hours after check out. We did not get a chance to use the pool but I was pleased to hear that it is heated. I was here with friends but I really hope to come back with my family in the near future. The location can't be beat. The only reason for losing a star is the price. I know all hotels in Santa Cruz are expensive but the rates here can be pretty high even for Santa Cruz.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kirstie101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We really loved this place! My husband and I stayed here recently with our 18-month-old son in one of the beach bungalow rooms in the very front (with the shared balcony). The location was unbeatable -- right across from the beach/wharf and a short walk from the boardwalk. We had a full kitchen but didn't end up using it much because there are so many restaurants within walking distance. Tip: The Picnic Basket downstairs is excellent, especially the breakfast burrito, turnovers (we tried the cheese/greens and fresh fruit) and the morning cake.

The only cons, and the only things preventing me from giving five stars: the cleaning service was a little sloppy, never opening our shower door at all (leaving wash cloths on the ground each day) and the showers/narrow glass doors made it tough to bathe our son. The worst thing, which isn't the fault of the hotel necessarily, is the marijuana smoking from other guests. Unfortunately there's a large gap underneath the entry doors and we found our room filled with the awful smell one night. We notified the front desk and they said they would check it out. Obviously, this was a problem traveling with a little one...especially when there is no smoking (of anything) allowed at the property.

Despite those cons, we really liked this spot and would stay again in a heartbeat. Next time, we'll know to plug the space under the door :)

Room Tip: The bungalow rooms in the very front were great. We weren't sure about the shared balcony at fir...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyTraveler915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.2 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,718 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea & Sand Inn
Sea & Sand Inn
#1 of 54 in Santa Cruz
471 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 54 in Santa Cruz
493 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Street Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Street Inn and Suites

Address: 125 Beach Street, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5412 (Formerly Terrace Court Motel)
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range: £140 - £356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Beach Street Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TravelUp, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Beach Street Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Street Inn And Suites Hotel Santa Cruz
Terrace Court Hotel
Terrace Court Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing