We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great motel just near the Wharf”
Review of Seaway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Seaway Inn
Ranked #12 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Booked here for 1 night when traveling south but stayed for 2 ! Great location near beach and Wharf and 10 minute walk downtown Santa Cruz. Good base to travel to Monterey and Carmel. Very helpful staff, nice clean rooms and good shower. Continental style buffet breakfast. Extremely good value for money. Would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MBQGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachGazer176, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2012

It is my belief that word of mouth is the best advertisement that we can get! Thank you for your review of our property on Trip Advisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (318)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 319 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2012

Used trip adviser to find this place and wasn't disappointed. Great room great breakfast good rate and wonderful friendly helpful staff. We were planning to stay only one night and stayed two!! Complementary coffee and snax till 10pm felt more like a 4star hotel. The staff here would probably make good tour guides.

Room Tip: Hotel has undergone room refurbishment which is great some rooms haven't had new bathroom yet.
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Craig C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachGazer176, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2012

There's always something to see in our town and we always attempt to be knowledgeable on the goings on in the area. Thank you for your review of our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012 via mobile

we had an amazing stay at seaway inn..what you get for this price is great!also the breakfast was more then Continental, they also offer cheap bike rentals, great to explore santa cruz!we will be back on our nxt california trip!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mararm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachGazer176, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2012

We do have the beach cruisers available to our guests for a minimal fee per hour, they have been a great addition to our inn. We are very proud of our breakfast variety, we try to offer as much as we can. I hope that your visit to California was what you expected it to be, if not better and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

We walked into this hotel while searching for accommodation near the pier. Everything about it is fantastic - the rooms are very large for the price,and tidy to a fault; the management warm and helpful. To cite one instance, we were looking for geared bikes and Stephanie helped us out by calling up two rental companies to find out if they had them.
We hadn't planned on staying an extra day in Santa Cruz, but thanks in part to how much like home it felt here, we did just that.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronsaik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachGazer176, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2012

When a guest is interested in something, we attempt to get as much information for them as possible, and now we know, for future guests, at least one local business that rents out geared bikes, should our cruisers not be sufficient enough for what the guest needs require.
You were lucky in your rooms as you got the partially handicapped king room, which is much larger than our standard king rooms. The second night, you got a two room suite, which is great for larger families! I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

We stopped for one night on our way south from San Francisco. The management obviously take great pride in this facility and there are lots of little extras which we didn't find in other similar properties on our road trip. The bed was comfortable, the bed linen and other fabrics were of a good quality and we had a large walk in shower with a supply of good quality bath soaps. The staff were welcoming and friendly. There was free coffee available in reception and a nice continental breakfast available in the morning.

Although we got there to late to use them, the motel has a couple of beach cruiser bikes which guests have access to.

All in all, a nice place to stay with that added personal touch you don't seem to get from the bigger chains.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachGazer176, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2012

Thank you for your wonderful review on Trip Advisor. We rely on guests, like yourself, to provide any input, both good and bad, so we can better serve our guests. We look forward to seeing you again, if you happen to be in Santa Cruz in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

This was our 3rd visit to seaway inn. We stayed in an ocean view room for 2 nights. First of all Stephanie at the front desk is a doll and the house keeping staff remembered or son liked sand dollars from last year and left him one. The waffles at breakfast are yummy and the location and size of the "suite" were perfect. The furnishings show their wear just a bit, but for a third of the price of the dream inn across the street it's a great value. We'll be back next year!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaymommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachGazer176, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2012

Thank you for your review of our inn. We look forward to seeing you the next time that you are in our area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

If you are looking at this property, I'm guessing you love the location but aren't sure about the hotel itself. The hotel is in fair condition and the rooms are average overall. In short, there is nothing about the condition that should make you pass on the prime location near the boardwalk. You know you aren't booking a deluxe ocean resort at this price so be reasonable. You need to accept a few small flaws, enjoy the view, and appreciate being able to walk to many local attractions and restaurants. Take the extra second to make waffles for breakfast. They're very good. A note on parking...it can be challenging but the hotel has an overflow plan that shouldn't be too much of an inconvenience.

Room Tip: Book early and get an ocean view room on the second floor. It is a true ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachGazer176, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2012

Thank you for your review of our property on Trip Advisor. We enjoy being so well situated, on West Cliff Drive, and I do inform guests to remain parked, if they can avoid moving; you are correct however, we do have overflow parking directly behind our property. We hope to see you the next time that you happen to be in Santa Cruz.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.1 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,893 reviews
1 mi away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sea & Sand Inn
Sea & Sand Inn
#1 of 54 in Santa Cruz
545 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
0.2 mi away
Ocean Pacific Lodge
Ocean Pacific Lodge
#26 of 54 in Santa Cruz
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaway Inn

Address: 176 W Cliff Dr, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5440
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range: £65 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Seaway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seaway Inn is a charming Santa Cruz hotel perched on a hillside overlooking the gorgeous Monterey Bay. It has all the warmth and coziness of a classic beach hotel with a full array of modern amenities. It is just a short walk to family fun at the Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk, world-class surfing at Steamer Lane, fine dining at the Municipal Wharf, and unique shops and entertainment in bustling Downtown Santa Cruz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Seaway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaway Hotel Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing